Author Topic: looking for help on whole house install  (Read 3026 times)

ggmce

• Veteran
    • View Profile
looking for help on whole house install
« on: August 05, 2010, 10:48:19 pm »
I am a Mechanical Engineer with basic computer skills. I've tried installing Linux (Kubuntu, Ubuntu) on an Asus 1501 I picked up to use as a Media director with varying levels of success just to get used to Linux (still can't get sound using hdmi connection) so I'm a bit worried about moving forward with MCE, but since I found MCE about a year ago and watched the Fiire video, I've been thinking about doing this, and now it's time to execute...

I'm not a Linux pro by any means, so if possible I would like some help/advice on how to set up my system. I attached a simple schematic of what I have in each room and what I'd like to accomplish. I'd like to get some professional input on the following:

1- what computer do I buy/build for my hybrid/core? I've tried loading 7.x and 8.x on an older computer, but it just does not work. I also need to keep the cost within reason...

2- what hardware to get for the multi-room audio?

3- how to integrate the IR to control my AC units?

4- how to get Insteon to work (I did get 7.x to work on the old computer I mentioned above for a while just to practice, I found a post on how to get Insteon to work with MCE, but never got it going)

5- what type of cameras should I get for the surveillance portion? I was thinking of IP cameras but they're more expensive than CCTV and I tried getting an Airlink 101 IP camera to work but was never successful.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated....

Is this question in the wrong place???
« Last Edit: August 11, 2010, 12:12:23 am by ggmce »

purps

• NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: looking for help on whole house install
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2010, 03:10:52 pm »
Hello there, and welcome to the forums.