Author Topic: Zotac Ion board  (Read 6552 times)

Vincent

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #30 on: August 31, 2009, 11:00:27 am »
Hi Richard

The problem seems to be the Sata hd. I will get a 16G usb stick and try to install linuxmce that way. Failing that, i guess there must be some options we can supply that would make linuxmce recognized and use the sata hd.

regards

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #31 on: September 01, 2009, 11:48:27 am »
I tried to install LinuxMCE but it won't install. It says cannot detect the Hdisk. I have a 320Gb hdisk connected.

I was able to install XBMC and Ubuntu 9 without a glitch.

Also tried KnoppMyth and that failed to install. I tried to boot from a knoppix live Cd also and that also failed.

Really keen to try out LinuxMCE. Any ideas?

regards

As rperre says above these Zotac's are probably best suited to the role of MD's. However that is not to say that they could not perform as a Core too. Sounds to me like you have some BIOS configuration issues that are tripping up some of the LiveCD's. Look at the AHCI options and how the hard drive is confgured.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

levster

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #32 on: September 08, 2009, 07:36:43 am »
Please forgive a novice Linux user if this question has already been addressed.   ::)

I noticed that a lot of users are forgoing the 710 for an 810 install. I tried the "official LinuxMCE 710" on my Zotac 330 (A-U) with no luck. The video does not work and when I tried to update the Nvidia drivers the NIC is not there. ifconfig gives me an internal IP. Is this a well known issue? Should I try the 810 alpha release, or should I be doing something more to get this stable release to work? I noticed that the 810 is a much smaller file compared to the 710. Is there something missing out of the 810?  ???

I am not savvy as to Linux at all, and am a rather adapt Windows user. Maybe, I should keep that to myself here...  ::)

Please help.

Thanks.

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #33 on: September 08, 2009, 08:37:48 am »
If you'd like to install LMCE 0710 on the newest motherboards you should upgrade kernel to use integrated NIC - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Upgrading_the_Kernel#LinuxMCE_0710

To install nVidia drivers just use USB stick. If you don't want to spent your time to tune 0710 you can use 0810. As I see it's quite usable. Just be careful when you upgrade it :)
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

levster

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #34 on: September 08, 2009, 05:30:15 pm »
nite_man,

When I ifconfig, I get an internal IP of 127.x.x.x - doesn't that mean that the NIC is not recognized? If it is not then I cannot upgrade the kernel over the net. I do not know of the shortcuts in Linux. How can I download the latest kernel and drivers to a USB stick, change the directory into in in the Linux and upgrade the drivers that way? Sorry for too much of novice questioning, but I really do not know where to start.

Lev

levster

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #35 on: September 12, 2009, 01:47:51 am »
I installed 810 and using my VGA output I see the AV menu and the NIC card is recognized. However, I want to connect the computer to an HDMI out. How do I set up the PC directly connected via HDMI if I cannot see the A/V menu? Shortcuts associated with 710 (1,2,3,4,5,...) do not seem to work. Is there a way to connect "blindly"?

Thanks.

mhorst

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #36 on: September 12, 2009, 10:55:52 pm »
Hello,

I followed the steps on the wiki to install a Zotac ION330 board as a media director.
After I completed those steps I had to run nvidia-xconfig to actually enable the nvidia drivers, but other than that it is working.

I still get some tearing however, so I was wondering if the people that have smooth video playback could tell me if they used any special settings.
(I'm just using the defaults set by nvidia-xconfig.)

Thanks.

levster

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #37 on: September 12, 2009, 11:23:37 pm »
Sorry for the nOOb question, but could you please explain how to enable "nvidia-xconfig"?

Thanks.

mhorst

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #38 on: September 13, 2009, 12:17:03 am »
I started it in a root terminal by typing "nvidia-xconfig" and hitting enter :).

After the "sudo apt-get dist-upgrade" step on the wiki, I added an extra step:
"sudo nvidia-xconfig"

If this works for you too, I guess I should add it to the wiki.


levster

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #39 on: September 13, 2009, 04:51:57 am »
I was able to solve my problem by upgrading to the latest Nvidia driver. Thanks. Baby steps... Now to try to figure out the rest...

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac Ion board
« Reply #40 on: September 15, 2009, 01:55:54 am »
Anybody have any luck getting hdmi sound to work? could you please elaborate on how to set it up, preferably in the Zotac Ion wiki.

Thank you,

Richard