Author Topic: DUAL HD/DVI Video Card  (Read 1075 times)

cdinglibennetti

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
DUAL HD/DVI Video Card
« on: July 04, 2009, 04:58:58 pm »
I am currently installing a new MD which has an MSI N9500GT Video Card, featuring 1 VGA port, 1 DVI port and 1 HDMI Port.  It seems that the AV Wizard only "sees" the DVI port but not the dedicated HDMI Port.  The HDMI Port works fine in BIOS and start-up but not in MCE.
Any hints on how i can solve this issue will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Clifton

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: DUAL HD/DVI Video Card
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2009, 05:10:37 pm »
Assuming you have updated to the latest nVidia drivers?

You will need to edit your xorg.conf file manually to select the correct output (probably something like Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-1")

You could boot from a Kubuntu Live CD, once running, look at its xorg.conf file for tips, but focus on the ConnectedMonitor stuff

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: DUAL HD/DVI Video Card
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2009, 06:01:50 pm »
I am currently installing a new MD which has an MSI N9500GT Video Card, featuring 1 VGA port, 1 DVI port and 1 HDMI Port.  It seems that the AV Wizard only "sees" the DVI port but not the dedicated HDMI Port.  The HDMI Port works fine in BIOS and start-up but not in MCE.
Any hints on how i can solve this issue will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Clifton

In the 0810 builds there will be an updated AVwizard that knows how to configure multi-connector cards correctly...it also handles Audio over HDMI too (both PCM and 5.1). I dont think the new AVwizard is in the current build yet...that maybe our fault though...I'll check and report back later ;-)

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: DUAL HD/DVI Video Card
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2009, 12:13:34 am »
Andrew - could you possibly ask Uplink if he got anywhere with looking at the ALSA resampling settings we were talking about? There is the potential for a substantial improvement in audio quality from some audio and AV files with what looked like just a few ALSA config file changes...

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: DUAL HD/DVI Video Card
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2009, 12:46:57 am »
Andrew - could you possibly ask Uplink if he got anywhere with looking at the ALSA resampling settings we were talking about? There is the potential for a substantial improvement in audio quality from some audio and AV files with what looked like just a few ALSA config file changes...

We're snowed under with changes at the moment so no he hasn't...if you need that I'd suggest looking into it yourself and giving us a patch.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: DUAL HD/DVI Video Card
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2009, 04:34:24 am »
Andrew - could you possibly ask Uplink if he got anywhere with looking at the ALSA resampling settings we were talking about? There is the potential for a substantial improvement in audio quality from some audio and AV files with what looked like just a few ALSA config file changes...

We're snowed under with changes at the moment so no he hasn't...if you need that I'd suggest looking into it yourself and giving us a patch.

All the best

Andrew

Andrew - I don't "need" it but I would "like" it! I just wondered if he had looked at it any more before I did anything. He was asking a question about something specific and I found some refs for him, didn't know if he'd had a chance to look at them yet (as freenode doesn't like mibbit any more and I don't like the freenode client, haven't been online for a while!)

I think it is just a change to one of the alsa conf files to set the virtual devices up to use bestsamplerate resampling, but its a little confusing to me. Will see if I can have another go at it :)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: DUAL HD/DVI Video Card
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2009, 11:48:39 am »
Andrew - could you possibly ask Uplink if he got anywhere with looking at the ALSA resampling settings we were talking about? There is the potential for a substantial improvement in audio quality from some audio and AV files with what looked like just a few ALSA config file changes...

We're snowed under with changes at the moment so no he hasn't...if you need that I'd suggest looking into it yourself and giving us a patch.

All the best

Andrew
Andrew - I don't "need" it but I would "like" it! I just wondered if he had looked at it any more before I did anything. He was asking a question about something specific and I found some refs for him, didn't know if he'd had a chance to look at them yet (as freenode doesn't like mibbit any more and I don't like the freenode client, haven't been online for a while!)

I think it is just a change to one of the alsa conf files to set the virtual devices up to use bestsamplerate resampling, but its a little confusing to me. Will see if I can have another go at it :)

Understood Colin...all I was suggesting is that if you have the time you take a look at it first...then if you figure out what changes are needed let us know...or if you figure out more detail but cant make the changes work also let us know...and we'll finish it off.

Andrew
« Last Edit: July 05, 2009, 02:40:57 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: DUAL HD/DVI Video Card
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2009, 12:19:30 pm »
Andrew - will do...

Anybody, if you have a good reference to ALSA configs, specifically the device configuration that creates "plugs" and so on, please can you send me a link and I will continue from there. I haven't found anything remotely comprehensive yet in that area, but will keep looking.

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: DUAL HD/DVI Video Card
« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2009, 07:49:38 pm »
Dual screen would be nice to have.
I see a couple of use cases for it. DonĀ“t know it below scenarios can be made to work though.

* Regular Orbiter+Media on one screen and another copy of orbiter running on a secondary touchscreen.
* Case with integrated touchscreen. Media on one screen and Orbiter running on internal touchscreen.

/niz23