Author Topic: 0810 installation problem  (Read 2230 times)

flying

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
0810 installation problem
« on: July 04, 2009, 09:08:35 am »
When I install 0810 according to step 1~5 (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LinuxMCE-0810_alpha2), some packages were failed during download, is there a way to do compensation instead of re-install again? Such as following errors:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#### Package pluto-orbiter failed (/tmp/tmp.kjMwK10754) - We wait 10sec and try again - to stop retrying press Ctrl-C.
Reading package lists...
Building dependency tree...
Reading state information...
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.

Since you only requested a single operation it is extremely likely that
the package is simply not installable and a bug report against
that package should be filed.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
  pluto-orbiter: Depends: pluto-confirm-dependencies but it is not going to be installed
                 Depends: pluto-sdl-helpers but it is not going to be installed
                 Depends: pluto-x-scripts but it is not going to be installed
                 Depends: pluto-boot-scripts but it is not going to be installed
                 Depends: pluto-simplephone but it is not going to be installed
                 Depends: pluto-avwizard but it is not going to be installed
                 PreDepends: libhid0 but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: libsdl-gfx1.2-4 (>= 2.0.13) but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: libsdl-sge (>= 030809-1) but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: xine-ui but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: msttcorefonts but it is not going to be installed
                 PreDepends: discover but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: libsdl-gfx1.2-dev but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: abcde but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: xdialog but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: xloadimage but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: xcompmgr but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: xfwm4 but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: xfce4-mcs-manager but it is not installable
                 PreDepends: wmctrl but it is not installable
E: Broken packages
#### Package pluto-orbiter failed (/tmp/tmp.kjMwK10754) - We wait 10sec and try again - to stop retrying press Ctrl-C.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2009, 02:36:30 pm »
Hi flying.

You mentioned in an earlier post

Quote
LinuxMCE-0810 installation need huge downloading stuffs, almost spent more than 24 hours for me, is there have DVD or other installation packages available for installation shortcut?

Are you downloading via dial-up?

flying

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2009, 03:43:37 am »
I am using broadband download from cn.archive.ubuntu.com, it's very slow, can I manually modify the sources.list point to archive.ubuntu.com instead of cn.archive.ubuntu.com?

flying

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2009, 03:54:07 am »
Finally download was finished, unfortunately, the Orbiter cannot connect to DCERouter. I have istalled with the same configuration few days ago which works good(http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8459.0), I think there might have some changes happened. Details as following:
1. 2 NICs were installed
2. The output of ifconfig show:
eth0's IP is 192.168.2.3  //which got IP from my Router 192.168.2.3
eth1's IP is 123.129.254.12

But the contents in interfaces under /etc/network is following:
 iface eth0 inet dhcp 
 iface eth1 inet static
      192.168.80.1

Could someone help me figure out what's the problem? I really don't want to spend more than 20 hours to reinstall 0810:-(

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2009, 04:42:12 am »
Well that's definitely your problem! Very strange, they should be the same... your ifconfig should also say 192.168.80.1 for eth1

Have you any idea where the 123. address comes from? It seems to be a public address in China somewhere (Shadong province). Does that mean anything to you??

flying

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2009, 05:02:41 am »
I did following change by deleting eth0 in netmask, the IP for eth1 changed to 192.168.80.1, but Orbiter still can not up.

File change:
-----------
iface eth0 inet dhcp
iface eth1 inet static
      address 192.168.80.1
      netmask 255.255.255.0 eth0 <-- Deleted eth0

Yes, I am in Shandong province now.

flying

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2009, 05:06:14 am »
Seems the dcerouter IP still is 123.129.254.12 even the eth1's IP is 192.168.80.1

tracert 123.129.254.12
1 dcerouter.local (123.129.254.12)  0.056ms 0.024ms 0.023ms

Seems this IP was stored somewhere(DB?), do we have method to change it?

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2009, 05:21:05 am »

Yes, I am in Shandong province now.

Well it couldn't just know that or be a coincidence, it must be getting the address from your provider somehow! Is your network set up like this http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Network_Setup ? And your eth0 points outwards to the Internet and eth1 points inwards to your "internal" network? You are using an ADSL broadband modem in router mode not bridging, yes?

flying

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2009, 05:28:19 am »
My configuration as following:

ISP Broadband Service (Internet) -----RJ45----- Net Gear Router ------RJ45----- eth0(192.168.2.3)
The eth1 did not connected to any cable, just left blank.

flying

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2009, 05:35:55 am »
Same problem happened to following configuration too:

ISP Broadband Service (Internet) -----ADSL phone line----- Net Gear Router ------RJ45----- eth0(192.168.2.3)
The eth1 did not connected to any cable, just left blank.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #10 on: July 05, 2009, 06:02:10 am »
Same problem happened to following configuration too:

ISP Broadband Service (Internet) -----ADSL phone line----- Net Gear Router ------RJ45----- eth0(192.168.2.3)
The eth1 did not connected to any cable, just left blank.

Check /etc/hosts and make sure it doesn't have an entry for this IP address, also check your routing table doesn't refer to that address or subnet. You can use pastebin.com to paste the output of route -n into and then paste that URL here. Do the same for the contents of your hosts file.

flying

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #11 on: July 05, 2009, 08:05:43 am »
Same problem happened to following configuration too:

ISP Broadband Service (Internet) -----RJ45----- Net Gear Router ------RJ45----- eth0(192.168.2.5)
The eth1 did not connected to any cable, just left blank.

I am using above configuration in home, ADSL is in company, so I paste things here:
http://pastebin.com/f61ee7634

Seems there have routing to 123.xxx
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.2.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U     1000   0        0 eth0
123.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 eth1
0.0.0.0         192.168.2.1     0.0.0.0         UG    100    0        0 eth0

My NetGear router information:
http://pastebin.com/f219a8474
« Last Edit: July 05, 2009, 08:44:19 am by flying »

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2009, 12:17:10 pm »
I don't know what has happened to it. The route is there and normal because your interface has the 123 IP address. There is no point trying to change the route because it is simply reflecting the IP address. You need to get the IP address changed. Go to your LMCE web admin and go to the network settings, change that eth1 interface to 192.168.80.1

Once that interface reverts to the correct IP the correct route will be added and the incorrect route will be removed. Untill then you will not be able to connect to 192.168.80.1 as there is no valid route. If that doesn't work, I think something is really screwed up and you will have to reinstall.

flying

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2009, 04:02:43 pm »
I am trying reinstall now by connect my computer directly to broadband through PPPoE, but failed again when execute "./mce-install.sh" which complain no pluto_main DB. I retry again now.

One question:
Should I pick up
wget -c http://deb.linuxmce.org/ubuntu/new-installer-alpha2.tar.gz
or
wget -c http://deb.linuxmce.org/ubuntu/new-installer-alpha-latest.tar.gz according to(http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LinuxMCE-0810_alpha2)?

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 installation problem
« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2009, 05:16:21 pm »
Hi,

Please get the latest tar file which is includes everything up to alpha 2.24.