Author Topic: MD boot issue in 810  (Read 5328 times)

lemming86_au

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Josh Hagger
MD boot issue in 810
« on: June 27, 2009, 07:35:40 am »
Hello Everyone,

I'm having some trouble booting MDs in 810.
The diskless setup script runs & creates the MD correctly, MD reboots, installs needed packages etc.
But the problem starts when the boot process gets to "Starting periodic command scheduler crond [OK]"
It doesn't go any further, no matter how long I leave it.
I have tried booting 4 MD candidate PCs, 2 of which worked with 710.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Josh

filberuk

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 11:53:23 am »
Hi,

Did you ever get this solved?

I'm having the same problem on the latest Alpha2 Release of 810.

Changed the Architecture to i386, rebuilt the image.
MD Boots fine, but then hangs at starting cron.

Any help or pointers would be appreciated.

P.S. MD System is Zotac GeForce 9300 board.

Cheers,

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2009, 04:45:04 pm »
Hi,

Did you ever get this solved?

I'm having the same problem on the latest Alpha2 Release of 810.

Changed the Architecture to i386, rebuilt the image.
MD Boots fine, but then hangs at starting cron.

Any help or pointers would be appreciated.

P.S. MD System is Zotac GeForce 9300 board.

Cheers,

are you using the Zotac 230?

dothedog

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2009, 02:41:40 pm »
Hi Guys,
Any resolution to this? I am getting the same problem with 2 EPIA boards, and one kt3 ultra/nvidia 5500, all three worked with 7.10. I started a post here: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8835.0 but haven't gotten much farther.

DoTheDog

Murdock

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2009, 06:21:31 pm »
I had an issue this morning adding a new MD to my setup, I created trac ticket http://trac.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/ticket/333 on my issue. Not sure it's the exact same problem as described above but check it out to see if it helps.

lemming86_au

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Josh Hagger
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2009, 06:55:53 am »
Anyone have any ideas on this, its the only thing keeping me from using the system now.

lemming86_au

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Josh Hagger
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2009, 12:13:37 pm »
A couple of people had suggested it was the video card causing this problem.
Today I purchased a 9400GT & tried that, but it made no difference.
Also did a clean install of the core.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2009, 12:19:33 pm by lemming86_au »

dothedog

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2009, 07:26:22 pm »
lemming,
Any resolution on this? The other thing I am seeing is that when it stops at "Starting crond" I can ctl-alt-F2 to a tty, I can input a user but it never prompts for a password. Are you getting this as well? I also saw that WhateverFits seems to be having the same issue (http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8757.msg59297#msg59297) though I couldn't find a post for any resolution. This is driving me a little crazy... Please post if you get anywhere.

Thanks,
DotheDog

lemming86_au

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Josh Hagger
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2009, 02:32:22 pm »
No Solution yet.
Yes, I'm having the same problem you are on every PC I've tried as an MD.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2009, 01:02:18 am »
Hi,

Are you running nvidia cards in each MD?

When you look at the xorg.conf  (from the core at /usr/pluto/diskless/XX/etc/X11) are you using nvidia, nv or vesa as the driver?

lemming86_au

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Josh Hagger
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2009, 01:59:30 am »
I'm running 8600GT cards in all.
I bought a 9400GT to see if that helped.
They are using the nvidia driver, out of curiosity I changed to vesa, didn't help.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2009, 03:24:20 am »
Hi,

Was your Core running 180.11 when you set up the MD's?  KDE Desktop.Applications>Settings open NVIDIA X Server Settings.

lemming86_au

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Josh Hagger
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2009, 03:25:48 am »
I will have a look when I get home, but its running whatever is included in the latest alpha

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2009, 03:32:11 am »
Hi,

O.K. two things then...

Did you try nv as the driver - you tried vesa...

...and did you set the hardware driver up for the video card to run the 180.11 driver back in Kubuntu before you installed LMCE?

That's what I normally do.

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: MD boot issue in 810
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2009, 03:43:18 am »
Hi Guys

I got two new ION and I had endless problems with My MD's For some reason the core just install the 180.11 driver..
I had to go and remove the driver like atp-get remove nvidia-glx-* and also removed the nvidia-180- restricted drivers.
Than after that I installed the Nvidia driver that I downloaded.. I had to reset my root password on the MD and then telinit 3 and then sh NVIDIA.........
this gave me a "X Failed to start" and all I did is created an xorg.conf file and bam everything worked..
I don't know if this will help any of you but it help me..
Chris