Author Topic: Problem with integrated NIC on MD  (Read 2784 times)

rednaxelan

• View Profile
Problem with integrated NIC on MD
« on: May 22, 2009, 06:09:22 pm »
I just bought all the components for an MD in my family room, did a load of research and selected the created the quietest machine I could create. For some unknown reason I completely missed the fact that the integrated NIC on the ASUS M3N78-EM (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ASUS_M3N78-EM) isn't recognized by MCE 0710 so obviously the diskless setup fails.

The page above suggests upgrading the kernel in order to fix to allow the NIC to work, I am a Linux newb and upgrading the kernel scares the cr@p out of me, especially after reading all the warnings about all the things it can break.

My question is this,if I buy a $10 NIC and throw it in a PCI slot and disable the integrated NIC can I pxeboot from it? If so, is there anything I need to know when considering the card?

Thanks in advance,

Neil

Techstyle

• Addicted
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Problem with integrated NIC on MD
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2009, 06:44:30 pm »
In most Bios' the Boot from LAN and enable LAN boot rom are separate (I have enabled one and not the other in the past).  Check in your particular bios if you can (if it will let you) enable the PXE boot rom and disable the onboard LAN.  Install your $10 PCI NIC and try it.  If it fails you can always use GRUB or gPXE (http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=7930.0).  gPXE is easier for Linux Newbie's, just make sure the card you buy is listed.

rednaxelan

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2009, 07:58:44 pm »
Thanks for the info, that is what I will try. My mobo only enables boot ROM if the onboard NIC is enabled, so I will have to go the gPXE route. Just tried this and unfortunately I get an error on the very fist step...

tar xvf grub-0.97.tar.gz
tar: grub-0.97.tar.gz: cannot open: No such file or directory

any suggestions?

pigdog