Author Topic: how do I force a search of second HDD for all media?  (Read 857 times)

chipppy

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
how do I force a search of second HDD for all media?
« on: May 24, 2009, 02:52:43 pm »
I have just installed 8.10a2 onto my second HDD (HDD2)so that i can play with it.
So far so good. 
I need to somehow force 8.10 to search HDD1 so that I can play my video and music files.  I havent had to do this before.
How do i force a search of HDD1?

HDD1 is the primary HDD

Cheers
chipppy
ASUS P5Q SE/R, Gigabyte 8400GS - Composite TV, 4GB 1066, Intel E8500 3.15GHz dual core, 500GB HDD + 1TG HDD, Divco FusionHDVT DVB-T Digital Dual 4 TV tuner.

'Cry wolf and let slip the dogs of war'

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: how do I force a search of second HDD for all media?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2009, 04:04:26 pm »
Has it been recognized by the system and prompted you to tell it how to use the drive? If so it should index the drive automatically within a couple hours. If you want it to be done faster you can use the "media files sync" section in the web admin.

chipppy

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: how do I force a search of second HDD for all media?
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2009, 04:30:48 pm »
yep done.

hey you dont know how to edit the grub file do you.  For some reason kgrub is installed but I cannot find the little bugger.
I want to edit it so that 8.10 is not the primary load.  I want to keep the system on 7.10 for the moment so that the kids can just press the on button and it automagic start into there normal setup.

cheers
chipppy
ASUS P5Q SE/R, Gigabyte 8400GS - Composite TV, 4GB 1066, Intel E8500 3.15GHz dual core, 500GB HDD + 1TG HDD, Divco FusionHDVT DVB-T Digital Dual 4 TV tuner.

'Cry wolf and let slip the dogs of war'

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: how do I force a search of second HDD for all media?
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2009, 04:56:26 pm »
use any text editor (nano, vi, etc) to edit /boot/grub/menu.lst
theres a line thats just "default" with a number after it, this number corresponds to the boot entry that will be chosen by default.

WhateverFits

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
    • Sean Walker
Re: how do I force a search of second HDD for all media?
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2009, 05:03:52 pm »
/boot may not be mounted so in that case: sudo mount /boot

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: how do I force a search of second HDD for all media?
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2009, 06:06:50 pm »
/boot is not a separate filesystem with a default kubuntu or lmce install.