Author Topic: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem  (Read 2112 times)

RattleS

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« on: May 19, 2009, 05:52:11 pm »
Hi everyone,

i have a problem with my 8.10 Installation.
My hardware is:

Asus M3N78-EM
SATA Samsung Spinpoint 250GB
Slinmline DVD-Burner
Tevii S460 DVB-S/S2
onboard nVidia 8300 Graphics
onboard nVidia nforce Network controller


1st step: Ive installed Kubuntu 8.10 on my HTPC without problems, + apt-get update & apt-get dist-upgrade

2nd step: Installed nVidia Graphics Drivers 180.51 from nVidia Homepage. I have Opengl running with glxgears@900FPS@1920x1080p Resolution - still no Problems.

3rd step: Installed firmaware for my s460 TV-Card following this:
newbielink:http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/TeVii_S460 [nonactive]

4rd step: Installed V4LDVB Drivers following this:
newbielink:http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/How_to_Obtain%2C_Build_and_Install_V4L-DVB_Device_Drivers [nonactive]

My dmesg is telling me:
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
dcerouter_113263:~# dmesg |grep cx
[   17.176371] cx88/2: cx2388x MPEG-TS Driver Manager version 0.0.7 loaded
[   17.178004] cx88[0]: subsystem: d460:9022, board: TeVii S460 DVB-S/S2 [card=70,autodetected], frontend(s): 1
[   17.178008] cx88[0]: TV tuner type -1, Radio tuner type -1
[   17.185915] cx88/0: cx2388x v4l2 driver version 0.0.7 loaded
[   17.584023] cx88[0]/2: cx2388x 8802 Driver Manager
[   17.584534] cx88-mpeg driver manager 0000:01:06.2: PCI INT A -> Link[LNKA] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
[   17.584543] cx88[0]/2: found at 0000:01:06.2, rev: 5, irq: 16, latency: 64, mmio: 0xfc000000
[   17.584631] cx8800 0000:01:06.0: PCI INT A -> Link[LNKA] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
[   17.584637] cx88[0]/0: found at 0000:01:06.0, rev: 5, irq: 16, latency: 64, mmio: 0xfb000000
[   17.584747] cx88[0]/0: registered device video0 [v4l2]
[   17.584778] cx88[0]/0: registered device vbi0
[   17.752426] cx88/2: cx2388x dvb driver version 0.0.7 loaded
[   17.752430] cx88/2: registering cx8802 driver, type: dvb access: shared
[   17.752433] cx88[0]/2: subsystem: d460:9022, board: TeVii S460 DVB-S/S2 [card=70]
[   17.752436] cx88[0]/2: cx2388x based DVB/ATSC card
[   17.752438] cx8802_alloc_frontends() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[   17.923373] DVB: registering new adapter (cx88[0])
[   63.482120] cx24116_firmware_ondemand: Waiting for firmware upload (dvb-fe-cx24116.fw)...
[   63.482137] firmware: requesting dvb-fe-cx24116.fw
[   63.744964] cx24116_firmware_ondemand: Waiting for firmware upload(2)...
[   67.402165] cx24116_load_firmware: FW version 1.23.86.1
[   67.402189] cx24116_firmware_ondemand: Firmware upload complete
dcerouter_113263:~#

Looks like its installed nice without problems.

5th: Finally set up Linuxmce using the installer script from this page: newbielink:http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LinuxMCE-0810_alpha2 [nonactive]
Everything runs fine and the AV-Wizard comes up

6th: chosen following Options from Wizard:
DVI/HDMI 1920x1080p 60hz
Opengl with overlay
analog sound

Orbiter screens will be rendered now and after all is done the Linuxmce comes up with the Interface.
So far so good.

7th: When I choose to setup mythtv over "computing" the wizard comes up and i can configure my dvb-card followed the guide at:
newbielink:http://mythwiki.de/index.php?title=Ubuntu#Einrichtung_von_MythTV [nonactive]

When i want to scan for channels it keeps telling me:
"mythtv konnte die karte nicht ansprechen"
which means:
"mythtv could not contact card"

After a few hours of reading the web and testing different setups in mythtv-setup, some guy in a forum said: that mythtv-backend isnt running.
So i ssh'ed to my core and did a "sudo su -" and then su "mythtv" and then "mythbackend"

Voila, my card could be detected now and i could scan for channels, well which didnt work also.
Is it normal that i have to run manually the mythbackend command? shouldnt it come up automatically?
Im pretty new to all this tv stuff in linuxmce tho.

8th: Well i decided to use the console scan command to fetch a few channels so i did(as root):
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
scan -l UNIVERSAL -s 0 /root/dvb-utils/examples/scan/dvb-s/Astra-19.2E > channels.conf.astra
The scan would complete succesfully and i could add the path of the just createt channels.conf.astra in the mythtv-setup.
The screen went blank now over my HDMI-Port, so i have to switch to VGA-Port and manually rebooted the core over console.

When the Core came back up i could saw in mythtv-setup that the channels were imported succesfully. After that i did a "mythfilldatabase".

9th: When i started the TV frontend now over the interface, the screen just went blank.
Ive rebooted again and then i would not get a signal over my HDMI-Port from now.

10th: I have tried different xorg.conf files of which i gladly had made a backup, but none would work.
So i rebooted and hold down shift to launch up the av-wizard, when it came up i tried again:
1920x1080p@60hz / 50hz   or 720p@60hz / 50hz
well what can i say - no signal over hdmi.
So i tried  to choose VGA instead of HDMi and *BAM* i had a picture. I completed the wizard now and started up the Interface to try mythtv.
I could watch TV now but only in a shitty resolution where i had to scroll over the screen to see the whole picture. Anyway, TV is working with my card, but not over HDMI for some strange reasons.

Or Mythtv just smacked up my HDMI Config somehow.

I would just use 7.10 if i could, but i cant compile my nVidia-Drivers under 7.10 because 7.10 isnt supported anymore so i cant get things linke:
xserver-xorg-dev or mercurial

Is there any way to still get those packages?

And what about the mythtv-problem? Can someone help me out with this?

Oh and one thing else, i have a Fiire Chief which works just great under 7.10, but under 8.10 the only thing which is working is the gyro function and nother button on the remote. is this still in development unter 8.10?
I have a NAS with a SAMBA share in my network, anyone knows how to integrate it into linxmce? Under 7.10 it just came up in the wizard as "external hdd" but the NAS would not even say hello to 8.10, where can i configure it?

Well this is a large thread and my first post, but after days of reading forums, and all possible howtos, i am at the end now and cant explain myselt why it isnt working.

Many many thanky in advance for those who read my thread and maybe can help me out.

RattleS

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2009, 01:56:25 pm »
Hi RattleS,

For the 7.10 install look here...http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8107.0

For the Fiire Chief look here...http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8164.0

The NAS should have come up.  Maybe this will help http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=7632.0

MythTV and hdmi I'm not sure.

Cheers.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2009, 02:22:43 pm »
Hi everyone,

i have a problem with my 8.10 Installation.
My hardware is:

Asus M3N78-EM
SATA Samsung Spinpoint 250GB
Slinmline DVD-Burner
Tevii S460 DVB-S/S2
onboard nVidia 8300 Graphics
onboard nVidia nforce Network controller


1st step: Ive installed Kubuntu 8.10 on my HTPC without problems, + apt-get update & apt-get dist-upgrade

2nd step: Installed nVidia Graphics Drivers 180.51 from nVidia Homepage. I have Opengl running with glxgears@900FPS@1920x1080p Resolution - still no Problems.

3rd step: Installed firmaware for my s460 TV-Card following this:
http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/TeVii_S460

4rd step: Installed V4LDVB Drivers following this:
http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/How_to_Obtain%2C_Build_and_Install_V4L-DVB_Device_Drivers

My dmesg is telling me:
Code: [Select]
dcerouter_113263:~# dmesg |grep cx
[   17.176371] cx88/2: cx2388x MPEG-TS Driver Manager version 0.0.7 loaded
[   17.178004] cx88[0]: subsystem: d460:9022, board: TeVii S460 DVB-S/S2 [card=70,autodetected], frontend(s): 1
[   17.178008] cx88[0]: TV tuner type -1, Radio tuner type -1
[   17.185915] cx88/0: cx2388x v4l2 driver version 0.0.7 loaded
[   17.584023] cx88[0]/2: cx2388x 8802 Driver Manager
[   17.584534] cx88-mpeg driver manager 0000:01:06.2: PCI INT A -> Link[LNKA] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
[   17.584543] cx88[0]/2: found at 0000:01:06.2, rev: 5, irq: 16, latency: 64, mmio: 0xfc000000
[   17.584631] cx8800 0000:01:06.0: PCI INT A -> Link[LNKA] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
[   17.584637] cx88[0]/0: found at 0000:01:06.0, rev: 5, irq: 16, latency: 64, mmio: 0xfb000000
[   17.584747] cx88[0]/0: registered device video0 [v4l2]
[   17.584778] cx88[0]/0: registered device vbi0
[   17.752426] cx88/2: cx2388x dvb driver version 0.0.7 loaded
[   17.752430] cx88/2: registering cx8802 driver, type: dvb access: shared
[   17.752433] cx88[0]/2: subsystem: d460:9022, board: TeVii S460 DVB-S/S2 [card=70]
[   17.752436] cx88[0]/2: cx2388x based DVB/ATSC card
[   17.752438] cx8802_alloc_frontends() allocating 1 frontend(s)
[   17.923373] DVB: registering new adapter (cx88[0])
[   63.482120] cx24116_firmware_ondemand: Waiting for firmware upload (dvb-fe-cx24116.fw)...
[   63.482137] firmware: requesting dvb-fe-cx24116.fw
[   63.744964] cx24116_firmware_ondemand: Waiting for firmware upload(2)...
[   67.402165] cx24116_load_firmware: FW version 1.23.86.1
[   67.402189] cx24116_firmware_ondemand: Firmware upload complete
dcerouter_113263:~#

Looks like its installed nice without problems.

5th: Finally set up Linuxmce using the installer script from this page: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LinuxMCE-0810_alpha2
Everything runs fine and the AV-Wizard comes up

6th: chosen following Options from Wizard:
DVI/HDMI 1920x1080p 60hz
Opengl with overlay
analog sound

Orbiter screens will be rendered now and after all is done the Linuxmce comes up with the Interface.
So far so good.

7th: When I choose to setup mythtv over "computing" the wizard comes up and i can configure my dvb-card followed the guide at:
http://mythwiki.de/index.php?title=Ubuntu#Einrichtung_von_MythTV

When i want to scan for channels it keeps telling me:
"mythtv konnte die karte nicht ansprechen"
which means:
"mythtv could not contact card"

After a few hours of reading the web and testing different setups in mythtv-setup, some guy in a forum said: that mythtv-backend isnt running.
So i ssh'ed to my core and did a "sudo su -" and then su "mythtv" and then "mythbackend"

Voila, my card could be detected now and i could scan for channels, well which didnt work also.
Is it normal that i have to run manually the mythbackend command? shouldnt it come up automatically?
Im pretty new to all this tv stuff in linuxmce tho.

8th: Well i decided to use the console scan command to fetch a few channels so i did(as root):
Code: [Select]
scan -l UNIVERSAL -s 0 /root/dvb-utils/examples/scan/dvb-s/Astra-19.2E > channels.conf.astra
The scan would complete succesfully and i could add the path of the just createt channels.conf.astra in the mythtv-setup.
The screen went blank now over my HDMI-Port, so i have to switch to VGA-Port and manually rebooted the core over console.

When the Core came back up i could saw in mythtv-setup that the channels were imported succesfully. After that i did a "mythfilldatabase".

9th: When i started the TV frontend now over the interface, the screen just went blank.
Ive rebooted again and then i would not get a signal over my HDMI-Port from now.

10th: I have tried different xorg.conf files of which i gladly had made a backup, but none would work.
So i rebooted and hold down shift to launch up the av-wizard, when it came up i tried again:
1920x1080p@60hz / 50hz   or 720p@60hz / 50hz
well what can i say - no signal over hdmi.
So i tried  to choose VGA instead of HDMi and *BAM* i had a picture. I completed the wizard now and started up the Interface to try mythtv.
I could watch TV now but only in a shitty resolution where i had to scroll over the screen to see the whole picture. Anyway, TV is working with my card, but not over HDMI for some strange reasons.

Or Mythtv just smacked up my HDMI Config somehow.

I would just use 7.10 if i could, but i cant compile my nVidia-Drivers under 7.10 because 7.10 isnt supported anymore so i cant get things linke:
xserver-xorg-dev or mercurial

Is there any way to still get those packages?

And what about the mythtv-problem? Can someone help me out with this?

Oh and one thing else, i have a Fiire Chief which works just great under 7.10, but under 8.10 the only thing which is working is the gyro function and nother button on the remote. is this still in development unter 8.10?
I have a NAS with a SAMBA share in my network, anyone knows how to integrate it into linxmce? Under 7.10 it just came up in the wizard as "external hdd" but the NAS would not even say hello to 8.10, where can i configure it?

Well this is a large thread and my first post, but after days of reading forums, and all possible howtos, i am at the end now and cant explain myselt why it isnt working.

Many many thanky in advance for those who read my thread and maybe can help me out.

RattleS

We're working on some updates that will be in a future alpha or Beta of LinuxMCE-0810 that may help you. There will be a new avWizard that understands about graphics cards with multiple DVI or HDMI inputs and allows you to select those correctly (that one change would have probably made your install smoother). The new avWizard also knows how to configure HDMI output in a more sophisticated way and also supports HDMI/AUDIO too (that also might help you). The update will add support for nVidia 180.51 to and install that as the default driver for nVidia and updates to a version of alsa that supports HDMI/AUDIO (cant remember the version as I write this though).

There are also a bunch of other vdr related updates and other related changes (not of interest to you if you using MythTV).

I hope we will get all of the above into the 0810 branch of the svn before this Sundays build...cant promise that though i'm afraid. What I can say is that the new pkg's have been under test here for about 10 days now and have proved to be very stable...so once they make it into an 0810 build they should provide a good experience.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

RattleS

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2009, 04:02:50 pm »
Hi,

thank you for your Replies.

@Andrew:
Will i always get the latest 8.10 Release with the Install script provided here?:
newbielink:http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LinuxMCE-0810_alpha2 [nonactive]

@pigdog:
I am gonna test the stuff wrote in the links you provided the next few days.

Thank you so far,
RattleS

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2009, 12:03:22 am »
Andrew

I don't suppose you (or Uplink) considered looking at the AV Wizard's assumption of VGA and chipset by default have you? This would probably be the final piece that makes the wizard user friendly for everyone (esp those that don't read about the keyboard shortcuts!)

When a PC boots, as long as the right chipset is set as primary in BIOS you always seem to get video output just fine irrespective of port used. But then once in AV Wizard, if you are not connected to the VGA port or if any onboard chipset is not totally disabled, you loose display. It would be very nice if the wizard honoured the BIOS chipset selection, and defaulted to whichever output port was working fine during boot time! Keyboard shortcuts only to override....

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3059
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2009, 12:02:48 pm »
I don't suppose you (or Uplink) considered looking at the AV Wizard's assumption of VGA and chipset by default have you? This would probably be the final piece that makes the wizard user friendly for everyone (esp those that don't read about the keyboard shortcuts!)

At the moment the AV Wizard is running in under X. The change would mean, no longer running under X at the beginning, and a switch in the visual way the wizard is presented. afaik

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2009, 07:33:56 pm »
I don't suppose you (or Uplink) considered looking at the AV Wizard's assumption of VGA and chipset by default have you? This would probably be the final piece that makes the wizard user friendly for everyone (esp those that don't read about the keyboard shortcuts!)

At the moment the AV Wizard is running in under X. The change would mean, no longer running under X at the beginning, and a switch in the visual way the wizard is presented. afaik

Exactly right.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2009, 12:03:38 am »
I don't quite follow - all I was suggesting is that some code is run first to preconfigure the xorg.conf.pluto.avwizard file with a more intelligent PCI BusID and ConnectedMonitor values, prior to kicking off the AV Wizard. So that it doesn't automatically assume the first GPU chipset and VGA port. Even if this was just a couple of additional text based questions at the beginning. For instance we can get all the PCI BusIDs with -

lshw -class display


posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3059
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2009, 04:23:29 pm »
colinjones,

connect a monitor to all of the outputs of your system. And tell, which monitor is showing a picture during bootup

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2009, 09:54:17 pm »
I don't quite follow - all I was suggesting is that some code is run first to preconfigure the xorg.conf.pluto.avwizard file with a more intelligent PCI BusID and ConnectedMonitor values, prior to kicking off the AV Wizard. So that it doesn't automatically assume the first GPU chipset and VGA port. Even if this was just a couple of additional text based questions at the beginning. For instance we can get all the PCI BusIDs with -

lshw -class display



Yeah...believe me if it was that easy we'd do it :-)

Radu & I have had a lot of conversations about what/how/if the avWizard should be extended...he was one of the original engineers who wrote the whole avWizard system so he is intimately familiar with how it is built/engineered...

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2009, 12:22:05 am »
colinjones,

connect a monitor to all of the outputs of your system. And tell, which monitor is showing a picture during bootup

I can't, possy, but I'm assuming this mean all outputs have the image (which I feared)? So no way of intelligently picking the correct one? Couldn't we still at least list the chipsets and ask the user to pick? That should be doable, then set the PCI BusID based on that. At least with the port there are the keyboard shortcuts, but with the chipset the user has to get into the system and modify files... I think this would make it easier for a newbie. I realise that the user still has to set the primary chipset in BIOS even to see the boot sequence in some circumstances... just a thought...

I don't quite follow - all I was suggesting is that some code is run first to preconfigure the xorg.conf.pluto.avwizard file with a more intelligent PCI BusID and ConnectedMonitor values, prior to kicking off the AV Wizard. So that it doesn't automatically assume the first GPU chipset and VGA port. Even if this was just a couple of additional text based questions at the beginning. For instance we can get all the PCI BusIDs with -

lshw -class display



Yeah...believe me if it was that easy we'd do it :-)

Radu & I have had a lot of conversations about what/how/if the avWizard should be extended...he was one of the original engineers who wrote the whole avWizard system so he is intimately familiar with how it is built/engineered...

Andrew

Understood, Andrew, just thinking of options to make the install sequence a bit more "guided" and a few less "black screens" to confuse newbies...:)

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3059
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #11 on: May 28, 2009, 05:18:27 pm »
Couldn't we still at least list the chipsets and ask the user to pick?

That's exactly what happens with the AV Wizard automatically. It checks vor nVidia, ATI and Intel chipsets and uses the respective driver, or vesa, if it does not have a match.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #12 on: May 28, 2009, 06:34:48 pm »
Couldn't we still at least list the chipsets and ask the user to pick?

That's exactly what happens with the AV Wizard automatically. It checks vor nVidia, ATI and Intel chipsets and uses the respective driver, or vesa, if it does not have a match.

Yep exactly
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2009, 12:03:13 am »
Nope! Again, you've both misunderstood what I'm saying!

Couldn't we still at least list the chipsets and ask the user to pick?

That's exactly what happens with the AV Wizard automatically. It checks vor nVidia, ATI and Intel chipsets and uses the respective driver, or vesa, if it does not have a match.

I was never talking about choosing the right driver for a single chipset in a PC. I know it does that!

I'm talking about when a PC as 2 or more GPUs (as is usually the case when someone adds a card, and more often than not cannot completely disable the onboard) ... when this happens, often the AV Wizard chooses the onboard GPU by default and you loose signal from the card, when it was perfectly happy during boot (because these BIOSs allow you to set the "primary" video chipset, rather than specifically disable the onboard) ... boot honours this "primary" but the AV Wizard ignores it.

If the AV wizard did a simple scan for display class hardware before starting, listed the chipsets, and allowed the user to choose which one, then set the appropriate PCI BusID in xorg.conf.pluto.avwizard prior to starting X, this would eliminate that issue (and one more "black screen")

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3059
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 8.10 mythtv hdmi problem
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2009, 09:10:59 am »
colinjones,

feel free to supply a patch, but I doubt ANY of the people providing patches to the system atm will spend time on this. Way to special.