Author Topic: HADesigner Screen Resolution problem  (Read 948 times)

mce_in_catford4

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
HADesigner Screen Resolution problem
« on: May 17, 2009, 02:48:54 pm »
Hi,
I have followed the tutorials and setup the HADesigner on my Windows Laptop.
It's a Sony VAIO and runs in the resolution 1280x768.
I have a problem with the HADesigner.
The screen layout means that a lot of the controls are pushed off the bottom of the screen
no mater how much I rearrange the windows it is not possible to see some of the controls.
In the attached screen shot I have tried to pull down the sub window more but it has reached it's limit.
Has anyone else heard of this problem?
Any suggestions
Thanks
Robert

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: HADesigner Screen Resolution problem
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2009, 04:49:23 pm »
Alot of stuff simply just doesnt display properly in hadesigner, call it bugs or "features" or whatever. especially UI2 stuff. have you watched all the hadesigner screencasts? thom explains it in some of those.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: HADesigner Screen Resolution problem
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2009, 09:06:28 pm »
you _MUST_ have a minimum res of 1280x1024 to use HADesigner.

-Thom

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2925
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: HADesigner Screen Resolution problem
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2009, 09:17:37 pm »
If you can't/don't want to change your virtual resolution to 1280x1024, try QuickDesigner. Wiki has details.

mce_in_catford4

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: HADesigner Screen Resolution problem
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2009, 10:13:19 pm »
Yes I have been working through Thom's screencasts. Have them all downloaded just need to watch and experiment.
What's the devlopment status of HADesigner? Is it an open source project? Are people working on it?
I must say I was surprised to find a windows only devlopment tool for linuxMCE.
I have had a lot of experence devloping C++ applications in MFC and I have recently been reading up on GTK+ and I am intrested in transfering my skills to cross platform tools.
I'm looking for a project to get involved in.
I have a list of tweaks I want to make to my linuxMCE UI to make it easier to use. I'm trying to work out the best way of achieving this. I was thinking the HADesigner would be something that help me do this.
I think I have to spend a fair bit of time studying the documentation if I am going to achieve anything.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: HADesigner Screen Resolution problem
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2009, 03:30:45 am »
HADesigner is a C# application that uses .NET.. system.forms, and system.odbc.

The binary _ALMOST_ runs unmodified under Mono. The problem lies in implementation differences between Microsoft.Data.Odbc, and System.Data.Odbc.

So that you know. PlutoHome began life under Windows, and was ported to Linux with version 2. HADesigner was quickly ported to version 2 of the software to use mysql and thus is a wee bit hackish in the code base.

-Thom