Author Topic: "when you can see" wizard  (Read 1362 times)

nisse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
"when you can see" wizard
« on: May 12, 2009, 10:06:12 pm »
I've downloaded and installed the DVD with Kubuntu and LMCE and gone though the wizard that sets audio and video.
But the "when you can see..." wizard never shows video, only sound.
I have ASUS AM2-VM HDMI with integrated ATI x1250
What is wrong?

simon_b

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: "when you can see" wizard
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2009, 11:45:55 pm »
what version? DVD install? only video fails?

More details please... first possible issue: ATI. but nevertheless you should manage it thru the wizard...
ex Mythtv fan, the LinuxMCE newbie
----------
hoping for the best

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 987
    • View Profile
Re: "when you can see" wizard
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2009, 04:01:38 am »
Hi,

You may have set an incorrect output or resolution .

Re-run the AVWizard see- http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AVWizard

Read the highlighted EDID part at the top as well.

Cheers

simon_b

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: "when you can see" wizard
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2009, 06:23:28 pm »
Hi,

You may have set an incorrect output or resolution .

Cheers

Hi Pigdog.... sorry if I'm mistaken, BUT, doesn't he have to select and already define the correct resolution and output already in step one/two?! If the 15s test went OK, then there should be no issues with res/output. or?

ex Mythtv fan, the LinuxMCE newbie
----------
hoping for the best

ramonh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: "when you can see" wizard
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2009, 06:34:36 pm »
Did you press the number keys?
When I want to enter the A/V wizard I have to press 1 or 2 for DVI (http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3931.0)

Or maybe there is a problem with your ATI card, since they are not as good supported as nvidia cards...

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 987
    • View Profile
Re: "when you can see" wizard
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2009, 12:34:45 am »
Hi simon_b,

Resolution isn't usually a big deal - unless you try to display in a resolution your monitor doesn't support.

Usually though, with sound and no video, you have selected the wrong video output.

A detailed AVWizard description for nisse is here...http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AVWizard_Step_by_Step.

Using an ati card can be problematic but http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3931.0 posted by ramoth would help nisse when having the black screen issue.

A quick link for ati cards is here -  http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers.

In 7.10 you can have a 1080p monitor, say give me 1080p in the AVWizard, but the monitor only wants to display in 640x480.

This is where you get into modeline and all kinds of xorg.conf headaches.

EDID, mentioned in the earlier post for 7.10, helps to allow the monitor to display in native resolution.

*Note: In 7.10 I had to do a few things to get true 1080p out of my Aquos LCD.

In 8.10 testing my LCD xorg.conf was created just great! 

When I chose 1080p in the AVWizard I got 1080p (not like in 7.10 where some extra work was needed).

There was no messing around in xorg.conf, LMCE & KDE fonts, etc. 

I just had to add a couple of inputs and ruby codes for my model of LCD - sweet!

I hope this further explains my earlier answer.


posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2928
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: "when you can see" wizard
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2009, 09:35:34 am »
I've downloaded and installed the DVD with Kubuntu and LinuxMCE and gone though the wizard that sets audio and video.
But the "when you can see..." wizard never shows video, only sound.

What version of the UI did you select? For starters, try the static UI1

nisse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: "when you can see" wizard
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2009, 09:11:01 pm »
Thanks guys
Looks like the link http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers that Pigdog suggested describes my problem exactly.
I'll try that, but what's an MD and how do I find it's device number?  ???  :-[

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 987
    • View Profile
Re: "when you can see" wizard
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2009, 09:50:26 pm »
Hi nisse,

A MD is a Media Director.

You are probably doing a Core/hybrid so you dont have to worry about a directory called /usr/pluto/diskless/XX  (XX is the number assigned to the MD).

If you are going to edit the xorg.conf you'll find it in directory /etc/X11.

Go into a terminal (console) log in as root (i.e. sudo su -)  then your password.

Then at prompt type cd /etc/X11  at the prompt do   ls   to see the files.  xorg.conf will be there.

Then using an editor like nano  at the prompt   nano xorg.conf   

How to save and stuff is at the bottom of the screen in the nano editor.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

nisse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: "when you can see" wizard
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2009, 10:02:49 pm »
Thanks Pigdog!
I'll give it a try this weekend.
I downloaded the 710 DVD iso but you mention a version 810, where can I get that?

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 987
    • View Profile
Re: "when you can see" wizard
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2009, 10:29:17 pm »
Hi,

810 is under development. 

It is presently in Alpha.

You might want to wait until it gets out into Beta or as RC.

It is only available as 32 bit.

Cheers.