Author Topic: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue  (Read 3220 times)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #15 on: May 21, 2009, 01:12:45 pm »
thats what I try to tell you since a few posts ago :-) As the card is 16 bit, you need to run userspace card services, too. You don't need to deactivate 32bit support.

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

jesaipa

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2009, 01:18:52 pm »
Have you an idea to do that please ? My knowledge on linux are little but I'm learning a lot with LinuxMCE :)

Thank you very much Hary ;)

edit : there is some informations about 16bits cards here : http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/utils/kernel/pcmcia/cardmgr-to-pcmciautils.html
But I dont understand it and it's for a 2.4 kernel version ...
« Last Edit: May 21, 2009, 01:33:55 pm by jesaipa »

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #17 on: May 21, 2009, 03:17:38 pm »
that is for 2.6 and looks pretty good.. just follow the instructions..

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

jesaipa

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #18 on: May 21, 2009, 03:35:54 pm »
I don't find the /etc/modprob.conf so I've thinked that was for 2.4 but it's write 2.6 on top of the page.
I'm reading lot of things at this momoment so I'm little confused ...

Sorry for my stupid post and thank's for your help ;)

jesaipa

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #19 on: May 21, 2009, 05:53:46 pm »
I've tryed to add "install pcmcia_core /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install pcmcia_core; /sbin/modprobe pcmcia" but it don't work because the little image does'nt had install binaries :(

I'm searching, I'm searching ...

All ideas are welcom

jesaipa

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #20 on: May 22, 2009, 08:42:34 am »
I don't understand ... I've made lot of tests and finaly I've rebuild my kernel with the 32 bits support cardbus delete.
To do that I've copied the /boot/conf ... file in the src dir to have the same configuration. I've just desactivate the 32 bit support.
Before, my generated initrd file was 4,7 Mo (I'm using the DisklessBuild_default.sh script)
After it's 17 Mo and my tablet don't work. I think I've not enought RAM (32 Mo)

How after the new configuration this file is so big ? I've made a mistake ?

Thank's

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #21 on: May 22, 2009, 01:39:34 pm »
if the controller supports 32bit i'd really recommend to get a cardbus card. Much less hassle. I've never network-booted over a 16bit pcmcia card, so I cannot elaborate on what needs to go into the kubuntu initrd.

You could unpack the initrd and see what exactly went in there..

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

jesaipa

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #22 on: May 22, 2009, 02:16:28 pm »
The problem if I change my nic is I'm not sure to find the NDIS driver necessary to make a boot floppy to could boot pcmcia via PXE.
I've extract the initrd, there isn't modprob.conf :(
I've made lot of tests ... I've add Install binrary file, add a modprob.cof but nothing work :(

Just a question ... I've rebuild the kernel by :
I've downloaded the kernel source 2.6.22-14
I've copy /boot/config.... to /usr/src/linux source dir/ .config
I've made a make menuconfig and disable 32 bits pccard support
I've run make-kpkg clean
I've run : fakeroot make-kpkg --initrd --append-to-version=-custom kernel_image kernel_headers
To finish I'v installed the .deb

I'm finding a strange thing ... with this little modification my new /boot/initrd-image is 47 Mo and the old is 7 Mo. It's the same when I build the initramfs, the size 7x more important (I hope you know what I mean)
Is t a good practice to re-setup my kernel ?

Thank you

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #23 on: May 22, 2009, 02:39:20 pm »
did you try to manually create the initrd?
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

jesaipa

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #24 on: May 22, 2009, 02:45:33 pm »
No I don't, my knowledge are too bad for that.
I was thinked that the once way to build it is to ru mkintramfs no ?

jesaipa

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #25 on: May 24, 2009, 08:20:57 am »
I've made a test because I find the initrd size too big compared to original size so I've copyied the /boot/congig ... file in my src folder and I don't modify it.
I've build the kernel and the size is 7x much important that original ...

I've made a mistake ?

Thank you ;)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #26 on: May 24, 2009, 09:58:06 am »
hmm, this is strange. Did you use the config-<blah> for your running kernel?

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

jesaipa

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #27 on: May 24, 2009, 10:28:59 am »
I think that I use the config file who is make with my build kernel because to build it I create 2 .deb and install it.
I test, I test because I've not more knowledge.

Have you a good method to rebuild my kernel please ?

Thank's ;)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #28 on: May 24, 2009, 12:11:33 pm »
make bzImage :-p

if i were you, I'd really get a 32 bit card. I'm not sure but I think the recent ones should do PXE fine.

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

jesaipa

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: PXE Booting and PCMCIA issue
« Reply #29 on: May 24, 2009, 07:16:17 pm »
I've searched a 32 bit card PXE capable but I don't find :( So more, I don't think that my bios is capable

I put it in standby because I'm tired, I'm searching since more one week without result

Thank's for your help Hary ;)