Author Topic: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)  (Read 3217 times)

nosebreaker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« on: April 30, 2009, 05:00:00 pm »
I'd like to have all media directors shut off at midnight if they are still powered on (except the core of course).  I got lights to shut off but for some reason the MD's don't shut down with the timed event.  I can power them off from an orbiter just fine.  Any thoughts?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 05:24:27 pm »
iirc they take a different command to power down than on/off..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2009, 06:50:22 pm »
I think this would be a great feature. Have them power off, and then at a specific time in the morning, power back up.
How green would that be?

I am going to check into this tonight, and see if I can come up with something as well. Please post back any findings here, during you experimentation. I will as well.

Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

Dale_K

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2009, 07:46:34 pm »
I am actually doing this and have been for a while.  I'll post my timed event setup when I get home tonight.

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2009, 01:58:02 pm »
I look forward to your setup. This is something I have not been able to implement yet. I would like to use it. It would greatly reduce the monthly electric bill, and also possibly reduce some heat in certain cases.

Perhaps over the weekend I will give it a try.

Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2009, 03:29:41 pm »
I am actually doing this and have been for a while.  I'll post my timed event setup when I get home tonight.

Please add content to Wiki and let us know about it....

Regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

donpaul

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2009, 03:38:51 pm »
You have to use the core general info plugin, and halt the device:


OR, if you use the suspend feature, then use the app server plugin to spawn the suspend script:


The use wake to turn it back on:
« Last Edit: May 04, 2009, 03:42:09 pm by donpaul »

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2009, 06:45:48 pm »
Beautiful! :)

As an exercise, let's see if we can make a "Wizard" that you can select from the pulldown, to select MDs to turn on and off.

-Thom

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3048
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2009, 06:49:58 pm »
And don't forget not to turn off if stuff is currently playing ...

donpaul

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2009, 03:20:52 am »
Beautiful! :)

As an exercise, let's see if we can make a "Wizard" that you can select from the pulldown, to select MDs to turn on and off.

-Thom

Now that would be cool!

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2009, 12:06:47 pm »
And don't forget not to turn off if stuff is currently playing ...
Hi,

just curious, how can I determine if MD is currently playing anything and act upon that (or not act).... ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3048
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2009, 12:32:00 pm »
just curious, how can I determine if MD is currently playing anything and act upon that (or not act).... ?

TCP Port 12000 on the MD contains timestamps with information about what is playing atm.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2009, 01:32:01 pm »
That's the time code port for the Xine Player, and does not work in all cases.

-Thom

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2009, 04:17:40 pm »
Hi,

I was more thinking about doing this under event handler or scenarios. For instance, don't make speech announcement if I'm playing video....

Possible ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

donpaul

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Power off MD at midnight? (timed events issue)
« Reply #14 on: May 09, 2009, 02:14:33 am »
Hi,

I was more thinking about doing this under event handler or scenarios. For instance, don't make speech announcement if I'm playing video....

Possible ?

Unfortunately, I don't think it is possible. There is no way to check if video is playing. Maybe that can be added, but the functionality isn't there right now.