Author Topic: Problems with diskless MD -Resolved  (Read 4991 times)

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Problems with diskless MD -Resolved
« on: April 23, 2009, 02:39:08 am »
I'm building a new diskless MD which didn't have a video card with tv out. If I hook this up to a pc monitor it will boot up and get me to the video/audio setup screen. If I put an NVidia 8400 card in the machine it starts the pxeboot process and crashes half way thru at anywhere from the 56.xxxxxx to 63.xxxxxxx steps. I have the same card working for my core just fine with the new NVidia drivers.

Do I have to copy these to the /usr/pluto/diskless/214 directory? if so what files do I need?

Thx
« Last Edit: May 15, 2009, 04:44:05 am by kyfalcon »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2009, 02:49:57 am »
I'm building a new diskless MD which didn't have a video card with tv out. If I hook this up to a pc monitor it will boot up and get me to the video/audio setup screen. If I put an NVidia 8400 card in the machine it starts the pxeboot process and crashes half way thru at anywhere from the 56.xxxxxx to 63.xxxxxxx steps. I have the same card working for my core just fine with the new NVidia drivers.

Do I have to copy these to the /usr/pluto/diskless/214 directory? if so what files do I need?

Thx

The simplest thing to do (its what I'd do in this situation) is to power off the MD and then delete the existing MD using Web Admin. Now add install the nVidia 8400 in the MD and hook it back up to your Core's LAN side network and let it get detected and added again... run the AVwizard as usual etc.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2009, 02:52:33 am »
Andrew I've done that thrice to no avail. Is there a step I might be missing? Or bad files that may be lingering? Do the new NVIDIA Drivers automatically get installed if they are on the core?

Thx,
Kevin

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2009, 03:20:59 am »
Hi kyfalcon,

Is this the 8400 card that has s-video and dvi connectors only?

If so, are you trying to boot it up with tv-out connected?

What do you mean by crashing?  The screen going black?

Just trying to get a little more information.

Thanks.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2009, 03:22:38 am »
tried it again same thing!

Is there a boot log I can look at to try and find out what the problem is?

In the X11 directory for this MD there is no Xorg.conf file. Is that because I never got to the avwizard?


kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2009, 03:26:35 am »
Hi kyfalcon,

Is this the 8400 card that has s-video and dvi connectors only?

If so, are you trying to boot it up with tv-out connected?

What do you mean by crashing?  The screen going black?

Just trying to get a little more information.

Thanks.


Its got vga, dvi and s-video.

I currently am just trying to get to the AVWizard si I am connected to the VGA port. Once there I will set up the TV.

By crashing I mean it goes thru the boot process loading drivers etc and then stops dead at this point in the boot process

 [59.680.864] ======================

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2009, 03:30:38 am »
Hi kyfalcon,

...and just to be sure you are installing the 710 version?

Cheers.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2009, 03:32:54 am »
Hi kyfalcon,

...and just to be sure you are installing the 710 version?

Cheers.

Yes my setup is 710

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2009, 03:38:17 am »
Hi kyfalcon,

I've got an NX8400 in a MD and it gave no problems in 710.

Did the system assign a number for the MD in /usr/pluto/diskless ?

Cheers

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2009, 03:41:01 am »
Hi kyfalcon,

I've got an NX8400 in a MD and it gave no problems in 710.

Did the system assign a number for the MD in /usr/pluto/diskless ?

Cheers

yep

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2009, 03:44:36 am »
Hi kyfalcon,

Go into webadmin, pull up media directors and look at the fields for that MD.

What do you have set?

Cheers


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2009, 03:47:25 am »
Andrew I've done that thrice to no avail. Is there a step I might be missing? Or bad files that may be lingering? Do the new NVIDIA Drivers automatically get installed if they are on the core?

Thx,
Kevin

Hmmm... No they will only get installed if they are added to the deb cache on the Core... then when you build a new MD the updated driver would be used. So I mislead you there - sorry :-(

Simplest thing to do to get this MD working is to add it and then upgrade the driver as you did on the Core.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2009, 04:50:27 am »
Andrew I've done that thrice to no avail. Is there a step I might be missing? Or bad files that may be lingering? Do the new NVIDIA Drivers automatically get installed if they are on the core?

Thx,
Kevin

Hmmm... No they will only get installed if they are added to the deb cache on the Core... then when you build a new MD the updated driver would be used. So I mislead you there - sorry :-(

Simplest thing to do to get this MD working is to add it and then upgrade the driver as you did on the Core.

Andrew

Andrew,

I can't load the drivers because it the MD won't finish boot up with the card in the computer, and th NVidia driver update won't run if it doesn't see the card in the computer.
Where are the drivers located can I just move them to the diskless directory and put a working xorg.conf in there?

I can install ubuntu and everything works so I know the card isn't defective.

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2009, 11:56:53 pm »
anyone?

Pnuts

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with diskless MD
« Reply #14 on: April 24, 2009, 12:06:57 am »
Hi kyfalcon,

Go into webadmin, pull up media directors and look at the fields for that MD.

What do you have set?

Cheers