Author Topic: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?  (Read 4813 times)

torbengb

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« on: April 22, 2009, 08:16:39 pm »
A simple question, really: Can I use my RF remote with LinuxMCE? I am not going to replace my remote with an infrared one. Does that mean I must stay on Windows?? I can't believe that. I've searched, but I can't find an answer anywhere. I had expected to find at least an FAQ entry stating "no you can't" or something -- anything!

Sincerely,
TorbenGB

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2009, 08:20:49 pm »
I've used the ATI RF a looong time ago. But I am now exclusively using Orbiters, like Cisco 7970, Nokia n810 and WebDT 366

widescreen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2009, 09:03:05 pm »
I inquired about the same thing, but received no response.  Like posde i have the ati wonder.  I am able to use it to bring the menu and use the mouse on it, but only one media button works (rwd).  Then when I do play media, i am unable to bring the menu back up or stop the media. Posde were u able to overcome these issues with yours? thanks

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2009, 09:04:51 pm »
A simple question, really: Can I use my RF remote with LinuxMCE? I am not going to replace my remote with an infrared one. Does that mean I must stay on Windows?? I can't believe that. I've searched, but I can't find an answer anywhere. I had expected to find at least an FAQ entry stating "no you can't" or something -- anything!

Sincerely,
TorbenGB

Well as far as I know there are no standard MCE compatible wireless remotes supported as of now. However if its MCE compatible then then it can almost certainly have support added for it. An MCE IR or Wireless remote are both connected using USB at the receiver end... and therefore it is only the uSB receiver that needs to be supported.

This is a Wiki article I created about adding new MCE tranceivers to LinuxMCE; http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Adding_a_New_MCE_Compatible_Transceiver

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

widescreen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2009, 09:17:17 pm »
ok thanks totallymaxed. 

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2009, 11:25:43 pm »
i am unable to bring the menu back up or stop the media. Posde were u able to overcome these issues with yours? thanks

No idea. It has been over a year, and I used it on a test system only. For me, using a remote is way to cumbersome :) - No 10' UI here

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2009, 02:38:32 am »
I use a TS820 http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/TS820 and a Gyration Ultra Mouse (which I found in a trash can at work last week - Nice).  They are both RF and Plug and Play for the Left and Right mouse buttons only.  Left is accept/select and right is cancel.  So I had the same problem as others - when watching a movie I could not get the menu back up do anything.  So I did the following:

For the TS820 (available from Techstyle UK Ltd. www.techstyleuk.co.ukBTW)

Goto the KDE desktop, at a console window I typed 'xev' and enter.  a small box comes up, I moved the cursor into the box.  Press the buttons that do not work, look at the console for the output "Keycode XXX". and write down what they are.

I then adapted the instructions on http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Using_the_Gyration_Remote_GYR3101US_%28Non-Fiire_Chief%29 changing out the keycodes for the ones from this device.

Now the TS820 has Accept/Select, Cancel, Menu (F7), Ambience (F8), Channel/Chapter FFWD/RWD/PAUSE menu (F6) and as a bonus, page up/page down (on the side) will work as scrolling for the media menus.


For the Gyration Ultra Mouse

Goto the KDE desktop, at a console window I typed 'xev' and enter.  a small box comes up, I moved the cursor into the box.  Press the buttons that do not work, look at the console for the output "ButtonPress event, .... button X". and write down what they are.

I followed the directions in this wiki page for setting up the extra buttons http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Use_Additional_Mouse_Buttons

The Gyration Ultra Mouse has only three buttons so I set up the middle button as F7

I will create a WIKI page for the Gyration Ultra Mouse and update the Wiki page for the TS820 soon

Also we are out of stock of the TS820, more are due in in 2-3 wks

torbengb

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2009, 09:46:02 am »
...if its MCE compatible then then it can almost certainly have support added for it ... article about adding new MCE tranceivers to LinuxMCE; http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Adding_a_New_MCE_Compatible_Transceiver

Thank you for the answer and the link to the article. I am a user, not a programmer, and I am not going to become one for the sake of a remote control. I'll stay on Windows until my existing hardware is supported. Thanks again.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2009, 05:15:00 pm »
Thank you, it's people like you that make your stuff eventually supported.

Great attitude man, don't let the door smack you on the way out.

-Thom

torbengb

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2009, 08:34:38 pm »
I'm sorry that you're not feeling well, Thom. I don't see why you have to be rude towards me though.

I just stated that I would not be able to fix this myself, and so I will have to stay with what I have. Do you honestly believe that every plain consumer will become a software programmer? How do you imagine that is going to happen? Look, I like cars too and if my car has some problem I either live with it or get someone to fix it, but I don't become a mechanic either.

Can you believe that I am actually sad that my hardware is not supported? Please consider that I actually made the effort to post a reply to your answer to my question, and I even said thank you --twice-- because I thought it would be decent to give feedback and not just disappear from your forum. After a reply like yours, I'm surprised that anyone would ever bother reply to you, but then again perhaps they don't.

If something I said sparked some nerve inside you, you might consider mentioning it in softer tones. I'm not a native English speaker. Let's see how well you would do speaking Danish. May I quote you in regard to your reply? "Great attitude man." You won't need to reply, I won't be around to hear you.

Oh, and I take those two thankyou's back. Bye.

dlewis

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2009, 08:40:25 pm »
I think cooler heads have prevailed and we're all good... No harm, no foul... Sometimes peoples messages are taken differently. torbengb, I hope you stick around and look into the many features that linuxmce has to offer...

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2009, 08:41:50 pm »
I'm just tired of people demanding that things be supported, and not put in the time to actually make them supported. All of the tools that are needed to make this possible are here, so anyone with a bit of time and drive can make these things happen.

-Thom

dlewis

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2009, 08:43:08 pm »
I'm just tired of people demanding that things be supported, and not put in the time to actually make them supported. All of the tools that are needed to make this possible are here, so anyone with a bit of time and drive can make these things happen.

-Thom

Passionate comment = understood.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2009, 12:08:36 am »
...if its MCE compatible then then it can almost certainly have support added for it ... article about adding new MCE tranceivers to LinuxMCE; http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Adding_a_New_MCE_Compatible_Transceiver

Thank you for the answer and the link to the article. I am a user, not a programmer, and I am not going to become one for the sake of a remote control. I'll stay on Windows until my existing hardware is supported. Thanks again.

Hmmm... interesting attitude. Your willing to throw all of the great features and capabilities of LinuxMCE  away (there is no equivalent software under Windows) just because your wireless remote doesn't seem to be compatible!

I have to say that I find that decision really baffling to be frank. Your remote cant be worth more than a few 10's of USD's or a equivalent amount of Euro's.

The http://www.tripplite.com/en/products/model.cfm?txtSeriesID=517&txtModelID=3901 RF remote is compatible and we stock a similar Keyspan remote product (it uses the same USB-RF Receiver) called the TSBX-2404. Both are Plug-n-Play with LinuxMCE...

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Only infrared remotes, not RF remotes?
« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2009, 10:02:59 am »
<tongue in cheek>but Andrew, this free software. It must support what I already have. If I want to spend money, I will go with commercial software.</tongue in cheek>