Author Topic: NVIDIA GEForce 5200 TV-Out Solution (Config included!)  (Read 1988 times)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
NVIDIA GEForce 5200 TV-Out Solution (Config included!)
« on: June 08, 2006, 10:32:33 am »
I've sorted the TV-Out on my NVidia card!

Please note that this is for the UK, if you're not in the UK, change the
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-I"
to the correct settings (NTSC/PAL-B etc).  The correct code for your country (and also the page I got most of these settings from!) can be found at newbielink:http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php?page=MonitorToTVTransition [nonactive]

Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "XFree86 Configured"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "PS/2 Mouse" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
        Option "AllowMouseOpenFail"  "true"
        Option  "NoPM"  "true"
EndSection

Section "Files"
        RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
        ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
        FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
#       Load  "ddc"  # ddc probing of monitor
#       Load  "GLcore"
        Load  "dbe"
        Load  "v4l"
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "bitmap" # bitmap-fonts
        Load  "speedo"
        Load  "type1"
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "record"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "keyboard"
        Option      "CoreKeyboard"
        Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
        Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "PS/2 Mouse"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
        Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "70"
        Option      "SendCoreEvents"  "true"
EndSection

# Auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "Monitor0"
        VendorName      "Panasonic"
        ModelName       "CT-27SF22T1"
        HorizSync 30 - 50
        VertRefresh 60 - 60
        DisplaySize 271 204  #  75 DPI @ 800x600
        #DisplaySize 204 153 # 100 DPI @ 800x600
        #DisplaySize 535 415 # Real measurements

        # The "magic" modelines borrowed from someone else
        Modeline "800x600" 40.12 800 848 968 1056 600 601 605 628 #60Hz
        # From http://xtiming.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/xtiming.pl
        # hfreq: 37.9 kHz
        Modeline "800x600@60" 38.21 800 832 976 1008 600 612 618 631

        # The "magic" modelines borrowed from someone else
        Modeline "640x480" 25.175 640 664 760 800 480 491 493 525 #60Hz
        # From http://xtiming.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/xtiming.pl
        # hfreq: 30.43 kHz
        Modeline "640x480@60" 24.11 640 672 760 792 480 490 495 505

EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
        VendorName  "Rosewell"
        BoardName   "nVidia GeForce FX5200"
        #Option     "RenderAccel" "1"

        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
        Option "TVStandard" "PAL-I"
        Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"

        Option "NoLogo" "1"
        # sw_cursor is needed for some ati and radeon cards
        #Option     "sw_cursor"
        # Other options...
        #Option     "hw_cursor"
        #Option     "NoAccel"
        #Option     "ShowCache"
        #Option     "ShadowFB"
        #Option     "UseFBDev"
        #Option     "Rotate"
        # The following line is auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
        #BusID      "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     1
                Modes "800x600" "640x480" "800x600@60" "640x480@60"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     4
                Modes "800x600" "640x480" "800x600@60" "640x480@60"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     8
                Modes "800x600" "640x480" "800x600@60" "640x480@60"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     15
                Modes "800x600" "640x480" "800x600@60" "640x480@60"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     16
                Modes "800x600" "640x480" "800x600@60" "640x480@60"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     24
                Modes "800x600" "640x480" "800x600@60" "640x480@60"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     32
                Modes "800x600" "640x480" "800x600@60" "640x480@60"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

#Section "DRI"
#       Mode 0666
#EndSection


The only issue I have is that everytime I reboot the core/hybrid, it uninstalls the pluto-nvidia-video-driver package and I have to manually apt-get and modprobe it again!

Any solutions to this?[/url]

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
NVIDIA GEForce 5200 TV-Out Solution (Config included!)
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2006, 05:58:15 pm »
Quote
The only issue I have is that everytime I reboot the core/hybrid, it uninstalls the pluto-nvidia-video-driver package and I have to manually apt-get and modprobe it again!

Any solutions to this?

In the "Media Directors" page of the Pluto Admin website, select that you have an nVidia card on that machine, and it won't remove the drivers from the system anymore (but if you remove them, they'll get re-installed)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
NVIDIA GEForce 5200 TV-Out Solution (Config included!)
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2006, 07:00:53 pm »
Radu.c,

I've tried this already.  All I get is a "Unable to obtain resolution" error, presumably because I don't have a monitor attached, it goes straight to the TV-Out Composite.

Is there a field I can edit direct in the database to set this up?

Cheers,

xMarks

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
NVIDIA GEForce 5200 TV-Out Solution (Config included!)
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2006, 07:10:40 pm »
Don't click the resolution button. This is kind of a gotcha. After you select the nVidia card from the drop down, go all the way down that page and click "Update".

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
NVIDIA GEForce 5200 TV-Out Solution (Config included!)
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2006, 07:13:55 pm »
Cool.

Seems to have worked for the time being!  :D

Any change that this might get a bit more obvious in a future release?

Cheers,

xMarks