Author Topic: VIdeo from IP Cameras  (Read 5346 times)

fido

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
VIdeo from IP Cameras
« on: March 30, 2009, 10:33:51 pm »
Hi, one of the tasks that i am interested in looking at is updating the functionality of the ip camera support from static refreshed jpegs to full streaming video ( ideally up to 30fps if supported by the camera ).

I am a complete newbie to the codebase but am a software engineer by trade,  although its been a long while since i did anything in c++.

I have no idea as to whats involved in achieved this functionality and no understanding as to why it hasnt been implemented to date....i guess there are very good reasons for it though.

That said i do think it is the type of task that would help me get my teeth into the code.

So i guess i am trying to start a conversation on this task and asking for for any pointers as to the areas of the codebase i should be looking at, have there been any attempts at this in the past...is there a deal breaker that simply makes this unachieveable etc etc. 

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks

tschak909

• LinuxMCE God
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: VIdeo from IP Cameras
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 11:25:44 pm »
This becomes an interesting task because of the design of the system.

Please understand that the architecture of this system is _MASSIVE_ and you'll need to spend quite a bit of lead time to truly understand what is going on inside.

In the case of "video" .. We implement a DCE command called Get Video Frame. This command is fired when a DesignObjType Broadcast Video is present on an active screen to the target device. Get Video Frame sends back an image of JPEG type, along with length, and the Orbiter processes this into a complete frame.