Author Topic: Installing Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000  (Read 1804 times)

mejborn

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Installing Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000
« on: May 04, 2009, 10:24:50 am »
Hi,

Iam new to Linuxmce, and I've just bought a WinTV-HVR-4000 card. But iam not sure how to get it working. Should I also buy a Cardreader to my Vasat card (if yes, what kind), I've tried to google it but the howto'es seems to advanced for me. So can anyone please get me started with my new tvtuner and existing Viasat card?

Thanks in advance.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4458
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Installing Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 10:57:17 am »
Hi,

Iam new to Linuxmce, and I've just bought a WinTV-HVR-4000 card. But iam not sure how to get it working. Should I also buy a Cardreader to my Vasat card (if yes, what kind), I've tried to google it but the howto'es seems to advanced for me. So can anyone please get me started with my new tvtuner and existing Viasat card?

Thanks in advance.

Hi mejborn,

Welcome to LinuxMCE :-)

Unfortunately discussions around CAM's/Cardreaders are not encouraged here due to the possibility that the discussion might be seen by others as an incitement to infringe copyright. Please search elsewhere for that info.

Info relating to using the WinTV-HVR-400 card with Linux can be found here http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-4000

The drivers for this card will not be loaded automatically by LinuxMCE-0710 so you will need to add these to your installation. Read the LinuxTV Wiki page referenced above and do some research here and on the LinuxMCE Wiki on this.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

mejborn

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 11:14:49 am »
Ohh I didn't know that. So it isn't possible at all to help me with a dvb-s setup at all because others can use it as an incitement to infringe copyright? Isn't there any solution that relies on the existing Viasat card so that people can't use it without that, if I my ask...?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4458
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Installing Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2009, 01:13:36 pm »
Ohh I didn't know that. So it isn't possible at all to help me with a dvb-s setup at all because others can use it as an incitement to infringe copyright? Isn't there any solution that relies on the existing Viasat card so that people can't use it without that, if I my ask...?

Helping you with DVB-S/S2 setup is not a problem at all. Helping you integrate a CAM/Conditional Access Card for DVS/S2 could be seen by 3rd parties as an incitement to infringe their copyright. Merely placing the ViaSat card in non approved hardware can be seen as an infringement.

Sorry...but this situation is not one of our making.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

mejborn

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2009, 06:54:31 pm »
Okay but what is the legal way to do it, should I connect my Viasat box (which I bought with the card) to my new hauppauge card or how do other people make their setup?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4458
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Installing Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2009, 08:16:09 pm »
Okay but what is the legal way to do it, should I connect my Viasat box (which I bought with the card) to my new hauppauge card or how do other people make their setup?

You can capture the video output of the ViaSat box...there are no problems vis-a-vis copyright with that. If other people are using CAM's with ViaSat then they should PM you and not discuss it here.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

mejborn

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2009, 08:24:07 pm »
Oki thank you very much, I would search some more on the subject, but you got me started  :)