Author Topic: Video Cropping  (Read 2377 times)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4501
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Video Cropping
« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2009, 12:30:30 am »
I have tried to do this as instructed but when trying to install "joe" I get an error message saying this is not available.

Apologies if I am a little green in this area.

J

No problem ;-)

Go to the KDE desktop and open the Konsole application. Then type the following...<return> means hit the return key to enter the line to the left by the way;

Code: [Select]
sudo<return>


Now you are sudo'd you can run commands without typing in the root password;

Code: [Select]
apt-get install joe<return>


Now the Joe text editor is installed and you can use it to edit/view any text file on your Core.

To see your xorg.conf for example type the following;

Code: [Select]
joe /etc/X11/xorg.conf<return>


To exit Joe type Ctrl-K-X or Ctrl-c

Hope the above gets you started... google joe for more info and Howto's etc.

All the best

Andrew



Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4501
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Video Cropping
« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2009, 12:39:05 am »
Andrew, then I think we were talking at cross pusposes. I wasn't talking about using the AV Wizard at all to correct the overscan problem. I was talking about correcting the xorg.conf file manually with a more appropriate, custom modeline. I imagine Orphus would like to get this working now rather than waiting for 0810. Which is why I asked him to turn on his EDID so that we could capture more information.

BTW, what is changing in 0810 around this? You mentioned going to EDID by default... that could be a little scary considering so many TVs have badly brain-damaged EDID info :) It would be nice if something was exposed in the AV Wizard that let you choose either a preset (like the static modelines used now) or explicitly say "Detect my screen automatically" ... do you think?

Either way, Ophus, turn on your EDID for now - either it will fix the problem, or it will log some extra info that might let us craft a custom modeline for you....
I was just pointing out what happens with a 'standard' AVwizard driven install... the way almost all users would experience the problem firstly. As I said in my first post in the thread I will post here some example modelines for various TV's we have in our test suite that correct overscan - and will explain how they were generated so that the same process can be applied to any screen.

We also plan to take these changes into the AVwizard (one of our guys Uplink wrote most of the AVwizard when at pluto) so that you wont have to do any manual xorg hacking to correct overscan. The updated AVwizard will be in the public svn as soon as we have a version that is basically working.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Video Cropping
« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2009, 09:26:42 am »
Cool! Thanks for the explanation.

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: Video Cropping
« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2009, 03:24:34 pm »
And thanks to you and your guys for adding that into AV wizard in the future... I have two TV's that are in need of this, although they aren't as bad as the OP.

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 532
    • View Profile
Re: Video Cropping
« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2009, 03:53:51 pm »
On my 1080p Panasonic Plasma (connected via DVI->HDMI) I enabled 1:1 pixel mapping mode within the plasma's settings, which scaled the image correctly. After this I needed to adjust the horizontal and vertical position to center the image. Has the OP tried this, and is there anything wrong with this approach from a picture quality point of view?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4501
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Video Cropping
« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2009, 05:24:24 pm »
On my 1080p Panasonic Plasma (connected via DVI->HDMI) I enabled 1:1 pixel mapping mode within the plasma's settings, which scaled the image correctly. After this I needed to adjust the horizontal and vertical position to center the image. Has the OP tried this, and is there anything wrong with this approach from a picture quality point of view?

Hi Davegravy,

If your TV/panel has a 1:1 setting then I think that is a perfectly valid approach (I wish all TV's did!)... however you may still find that once we have updated the AVwizard there are some additional picture/quality gains to be had.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Orphus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Video Cropping
« Reply #21 on: March 27, 2009, 11:08:44 pm »
Im still having problms getting this sorted.  I am trying to go the long way round to install (Kubuntu then LMCE CDs) to see if I have more luck.

I will then try out all of your suggestions.

Thanks for the continued help guys

J

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Video Cropping
« Reply #22 on: March 27, 2009, 11:43:31 pm »
Have you managed to turn on your EDID yet? I'm afraid without that first there isn't much more we can do for you yet.

rodercot

  • Guest
Re: Video Cropping
« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2009, 01:39:56 pm »

 Colin, Andrew,

 Maybe a detailed explanation of the xorg file and what it does would be a good idea. Which features do what and how it should be structured. Then a path to the xorg0.log file would be a good idea to see if you have any errors.

 Yes Andrew, by default most TV's should support native 1:1 pixel mapping and why they do not for the life of me I cannot understand.

 Most Edid reports are completely braindead and 99.9% of the time they conflict with themselves and the modes that it actually supports, IE I can do this mode BUT it is outside of the TV's max either H or V refresh SO I really do not support it, but I thought I would let you know anyhow.

 Another note that I am not sure you guys maybe aware of but if you use the :

 Option "UseEDID" "FALSE" In most cases it will disable HDMI audio. I am not sure if this is the case with the newest 185.13 driver or not, but it is in 180.22 - 180.37 and you must use

 Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes" - This can be a grouped line of options as well.

 This is a long read, but this helped me immensely on figuring out custom xorg options and configurations and If you do it for your own TV then you will have your custom modelines for anything you want to display on that particular TV. It will even guide you throught nudging the screen size in and out to compensate for oversacnning or underscan if you are not using the NVIDIA Option in your xorg.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1003099&page=2

 Regards,

 Dave
 

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4501
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Video Cropping
« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2009, 02:33:05 pm »

 Colin, Andrew,

 Maybe a detailed explanation of the xorg file and what it does would be a good idea. Which features do what and how it should be structured. Then a path to the xorg0.log file would be a good idea to see if you have any errors.

 Yes Andrew, by default most TV's should support native 1:1 pixel mapping and why they do not for the life of me I cannot understand.

 Most Edid reports are completely braindead and 99.9% of the time they conflict with themselves and the modes that it actually supports, IE I can do this mode BUT it is outside of the TV's max either H or V refresh SO I really do not support it, but I thought I would let you know anyhow.

 Another note that I am not sure you guys maybe aware of but if you use the :

 Option "UseEDID" "FALSE" In most cases it will disable HDMI audio. I am not sure if this is the case with the newest 185.13 driver or not, but it is in 180.22 - 180.37 and you must use

 Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidModes" - This can be a grouped line of options as well.

 This is a long read, but this helped me immensely on figuring out custom xorg options and configurations and If you do it for your own TV then you will have your custom modelines for anything you want to display on that particular TV. It will even guide you throught nudging the screen size in and out to compensate for oversacnning or underscan if you are not using the NVIDIA Option in your xorg.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1003099&page=2

 Regards,

 Dave

Yeah... that thread is interesting and is pretty much where we're at too. Whats needed next is to take that procedure and implement it in the AVwizard so that the adjustments can be visual. Currently the AVwizard defaults to using;

Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"

...and that does disable HDMI Audio for nVidia drivers 180.22/37 your correct.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk