Author Topic: Installation can't chose correct resolution  (Read 3472 times)

AndrewClarke

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
Installation can't chose correct resolution
« on: April 04, 2009, 05:59:19 pm »
Hi.  I'm new to LinuxMCE and I can't get my screen resolution to work properly.  I have a Gigabyte GeForce 8400 GS card with VGA and DVI out, connected to an LG 42" screen with 1366x720 resolution.

I had the initial problem with needing to attach a VGA cable during installation (was using DVI).  I chose DVI and 720p, but it seemed like whenever I got to the confirmation screen it still told me I was using 640x480.  Following through the installation confirmed this, as although the screen took the full picture, X looked to be about 640x480.

I then used the instructions at http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Custom_Display_Resolutions to enable the 1366x720 resolution.  I went through the setup wizard again, but still I'm running into problems.  It seems like each time I try things work out slightly, differently, but by and large if I have both my VGA and DVI plugs connected from my computer to my monitor, using my new custom resolution won't "take".  I start in VGA, choose DVI and 1366x720, go to next, and switch my input to DVI.  I watch my screen flicker for maybe 20 seconds, and then I get "no signal".  Switching back to VGA shows that it has reverted back there.  I wonder if maybe some of the timings are wrong for my monitor at that resolution?

I also wonder if maybe my video card is doing something like refusing to output anything higher than 1024x768 while there's something connected to the VGA port.  I've tried just using DVI and using the arrow and number keys to blindly choose the correct settings as recommended, but for some reason that never seems to work for me.

For now, the best I can do is 1024x768 4:3 on my 720p 16:9 monitor, which is, of course, not very good at all.  Is there a way I can just set this up without going through the wizard?