Author Topic: Help me spec my hardware for a new advanced system  (Read 2456 times)

seaton

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
Help me spec my hardware for a new advanced system
« on: March 18, 2009, 11:21:12 pm »
If this is in the wrong area, I appologise, this seemed the most logical place to ask this.

I just bought a house, and linuxmce looks like the ticket.

Here is my wish list

hole house stereo
a linux PVR that I can play my content anywhere in the house.
slingbox type capability
X10 or similar light control
external video camera security monitoring (ip ptz camera or something like that)
I have a 3TB ReadyNas I could use if needed to store content

So in my current house I installed the in ceiling Sonance speakers everywhere and it is incredible.

So linuxmce looks to fit the ticket and do everything I could ask for.   I am also a developer, so if something is missing atleast i could add it and contribute to the community, so that is perfect.   

So here is the question part of things, the hardware.
While I know people don't want to tout one over another, I don't want to spend hundreds to buy and try hardware and find out I should of bought something else.

I can build the pc, so am not real worried about that.  And I am a linux nut, so that doesn't worry me either.

1.  My first concern is the video card, i want to record HDTV (atleast the clear channel QAM locals) and record standard def for anything else.   I am thinking the card would have to be able to record over the air and digital, either a combo, or seperate cards would be ok I guess.  I am thinking USB could be even nicer, depending on functionallity that would not be a deal breaker.
  I have heard all kinds of nightmares with compatibility etc.  What card do the local experts love ?

2.  Storage, I want to use one system to stream to the entire house, so one linuxmce should cover that.