Author Topic: Finally, you can play your AVI/MP3 file and view your pics directly from CD/DVD  (Read 6871 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Thanks for the reply.

Yes, the media director was stopped - it was never running in the first place as I don't use my core as a hybrid. The seperate media director was also off.

Now, regarding 32 and 64 bit, a similar thought occured to me. All of my hardware is 64 bit, but I have installed a 32 bit version of LMCE on my core - when installing MDs, do they default to whatever architecture is on the core (32 bit in this case), or will it default to whatever the hardware is? Or does the MD architecture not make a difference to any of this?!?

Either way, I will check later when I get home, and if the MD is set to 64 bit, I shall rebuild it to 32 bit and see if that gives me any joy.

Thanks again.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
no, the MD's can be 32/64, doesn't matter.
How ever, your core has to be 32bit and you MUST have the core's MD running as you need the Core's disk Drive to function.

Itsik

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Right, I enabled MD autostart on the core, reset, stopped the MD, and then re-copied the files again. I then restarted the MD, turned on my other MD, and it still didn't work  :(

After this, I also rebuilt the MD image as 32 bit just to make sure, but this made no difference.

When I insert a data disk into the core CD drive, should it appear in the core orbiter audio/video list by default i.e. without this fix? Because it's not......
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
when you insert a data cd into the drive without this fix, you won't see anything on your cores orbiter window.
with this fix you  should see the data on any orbiter window in your system
Maybe try to d/load the files again as they might be corrupted or something.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
I'll try this, cheers.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Finally, you can play your AVI/MP3 file and view your pics directly from CD/
« Reply #20 on: September 05, 2009, 02:00:11 pm »
I've tried re-downloading the files, and it just doesn't work :( I can't work this out. This is a feature that I have really needed from the word go, so this is very frustrating.

Any other ideas please?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Are you hanging on IRC ? if yes, when ?
If you catch me there, I'll try to guide you thru this.

Itsik

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Finally, you can play your AVI/MP3 file and view your pics directly from CD/
« Reply #22 on: September 06, 2009, 01:03:46 pm »
That's very kind of you to offer, but I don't use IRC - it's like a chat channel right?

There is an IRC thing on my ubuntu laptop - if it's easy to get on and chat, I would really appreciate a helping hand.

Thank you.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
just use "freenode.net" as the server and in the chat window type "/join #linuxmce" without the quoates

Itsik

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3049
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Itsik,

the trac ticket has been looked at and some notes have been added. Would you mind taking a look at the notes, and see if you can fix it. Also, does your patch affect any of the other media playing functionality?

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Posde,
the patch is almost finished and most likely will be ready for 0810. We have a few small issues left to resolve but we're almost there.
It does not effect any other media playing functionality.

Itsik

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3049
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Posde,
the patch is almost finished and most likely will be ready for 0810. We have a few small issues left to resolve but we're almost there.
It does not effect any other media playing functionality.

Thanks for the update. Did you have success in extending it to the MDs?

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
We've been testing this for some time now, and I can finally say that the patch has reached it's final beta stage.
A data disc inserted into the core or any of the MD's will be added to the system with it's content showing in the relevant media views.
The content can be played any where you like with all the regular functionality. The patch works for 0710 and 0810 both 32 & 64 bit.
The only thing that could not be resolved is the eject button functionality. You can eject the disc only using the "manage drives" menu.
I've uploaded the diff and the script to the svn http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/ticket/142
Any one interested in testing this please PM me with your mail.

Itsik

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
I would be interested in testing it out, but I only have 0710 up and running at the moment due to myth problems in 0810; are you wanting to get it tested in 0810 only?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
As mentioned in my post, this works on 0710 & 0810 both 32 & 64 bit.
Just pm you email to me and I'll send you the files.

Itsik