Author Topic: Some noob questions from a Myth user.  (Read 4294 times)

dchurch24

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
Some noob questions from a Myth user.
« on: March 10, 2009, 03:18:24 pm »
Hi all,

I have a master backend myth server that I sometimes run the Frontend on - it has 2 Hauppauge Nova-Ts - one USB one PCI, I have a slave backend with one Hauppauge Nova-T PCI card in it.

I have 3 stand-alone Front-ends. None have any cards in them.

Is it possible to install MCE on the frontends and watch live tv (pause, rewind etc...) and will it discover the backends in a similar fashion to the way the Myth front-ends does?

Am I right in thinking that MCE uses Myth to handle the TV signals anyway?

I think I've read too much about Myth/MCE and I have got myself a little confused.

Marie.O

• Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Some noob questions from a Myth user.
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2009, 04:03:28 pm »
dchurch24,

install lmce and use it as your backend and frontend. lmce does not support external MythTV backends.

seth

• Guru
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2009, 04:38:38 pm »
 :)
I came to LMCE as a user of knoppmyth for many years. LinuxMCE by default loads a backend on the core as well as the Media Directors. It is automatically configured to utilize systems (MD's) for many things including delegating the commflagg-ing bits to any not-in-use MD's. As deployed the system or core or core/hybrid is the default master backend, and this is where all the recordings are stored. You can have tuner cards in any or all of your MD's, and they automatically write their recordings to the core. The core will have a default /home/public/data/videos/tv_shows_1 for itself, as well as an additional tv_shows_<moon number> for each of your media directors.