Author Topic: VDR - really frustrated - color buttons on remote does not work as they should  (Read 2656 times)

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Hi,

I have searched what I could but found no working solution for getting the colour keys on my MCE remote woring with VDR  :(
I spent the whole evening and night (7 hours) looking into logs, trying out things but did not get any further.

I am using an USB/UIRT and some of the buttons on my Phillips SRM 5100 was different than the standard MCE remote. The color buttons and the "Text" buttons i then added using thge wiki howto. But the keys dont work in VDR ...

Has anyone got an idea how I can get them working?

Do they work using LIRC instead ? I really wanted to only have the USBUIRT in the living room, but if it works i will try some LIRC, maybe with another infrared reciever - for example the one that came with the remote.

Any guidelines would be really appreciated  :)

Here is what happens :

Arrow Up/Down..OK
Vol up/down  ...no effect (reciever not yet configured in lnuxmce)
Ch  up/down  ...no effect
Live Tv  OK
Mute  mutes and unmute sound/does toggle subtitles

red  no effect
green    ui2 menu bar plus osd
yellow      flashes light/vol  'rose'
blue   no effect
Text   does nothing and leaves error in /var/log/pluto/50_USB_UIRT_0038.log
Back  Shows the main LinuxMCE menu, second press removes it again
Stop  Stops VDR replay and stops LiveTV too - I am back in the screensaver Sad should only stop VDR replay.


Greetings
Viking

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Hi,

I have searched what I could but found no working solution for getting the colour keys on my MCE remote woring with VDR  :(
I spent the whole evening and night (7 hours) looking into logs, trying out things but did not get any further.

I am using an USB/UIRT and some of the buttons on my Phillips SRM 5100 was different than the standard MCE remote. The color buttons and the "Text" buttons i then added using thge wiki howto. But the keys dont work in VDR ...

Has anyone got an idea how I can get them working?

Do they work using LIRC instead ? I really wanted to only have the USBUIRT in the living room, but if it works i will try some LIRC, maybe with another infrared reciever - for example the one that came with the remote.

Any guidelines would be really appreciated  :)

Here is what happens :

Arrow Up/Down..OK
Vol up/down  ...no effect (reciever not yet configured in lnuxmce)
Ch  up/down  ...no effect
Live Tv  OK
Mute  mutes and unmute sound/does toggle subtitles

red  no effect
green    ui2 menu bar plus osd
yellow      flashes light/vol  'rose'
blue   no effect
Text   does nothing and leaves error in /var/log/pluto/50_USB_UIRT_0038.log
Back  Shows the main LinuxMCE menu, second press removes it again
Stop  Stops VDR replay and stops LiveTV too - I am back in the screensaver Sad should only stop VDR replay.


Greetings
Viking

Hi,

Look at the device template for the remote you have selected... in my case its device template 1622 (standard MCE Remote). Look at the Device Data field (you will need to click in the field and drag to select all of the text inside it... then copy it and paste it into a text editor. The codes in this field are the ones mapped to the remotes buttons when you startup or do a reload.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Hi Andrew,

Look at the device template for the remote you have selected... in my case its device template 1622 (standard MCE Remote). Look at the Device Data field (you will need to click in the field and drag to select all of the text inside it... then copy it and paste it into a text editor. The codes in this field are the ones mapped to the remotes buttons when you startup or do a reload.

I think I already did (before writing the previous post). But it does not work like I would expect.

Becasue the color keys di not work, I followed http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Add_support_for_new_remote_controls to get the Text and color buttons working.

I created a new template with the data from template #1622 and replaced the previous text, red, green, yellow and blue lines with this :
text 3F2C1CF340F1 3F2C1DF350F1
red 3F2C1EF340F1 3F2C1FF350F1
green 412EC4F340F1 412EC5F350F1
yellow 3F2C12F340F1 3F2C13F350F1
blue 412EC0F340F1 412EC1F350F1

Now the keys react on the presses, but unfortunatly not in VDR :( it just reacts like described in the first post. I found someone else having the same problem, but unfortunatly he posted no solution.


EDIT:
Andrew - maybe you are using a special version of VDR where this has been fixed - or it is a bug in Niz32's version of VDR (even if he says that taht was what he was working on).
Can you give me some tips on how this works ? That might help me understand and fix the problem. USB-UIRT gets the signal, then some part of LinuxMCE and what happens after that ?



Here is the complete list :
Code: [Select]
power 4326ABF050F1 4326AAF040F1
stop 412F8DF050F1 412F8CF040F1
record 412E96F050F1 412E97F040F1
pause 43248DF050F1 43248CF040F1
play 412E97F050F1 412E96F040F1
rewind 3F2C38F050F1 3F2C39F040F1
fastforward 412E93F050F1 412E92F040F1
skipback 412F8FF050F1 412F8EF040F1
skipfwd 412F8EF050F1 412F8FF040F1
back 412F52F050F1 412F53F040F1
up 432688F050F1 432689F040F1
info 4324AAF050F1 4324ABF040F1
left 432450F050F1 432451F040F1
ok 412F53F050F1 412F52F040F1
right 412F50F050F1 412F51F040F1
down 432488F050F1 432489F040F1
volup 43249CF050F1 43249DF040F1
voldn 412F9CF050F1 412F9DF040F1
start 412FABF050F1 412FAAF040F1
chup 412F9FF050F1 412F9EF040F1
chdown 412F9EF050F1 412F9FF040F1
mute 4326AAF050F1 4326ABF040F1
recorded_tv 412E5CF350F1 412E5DF340F1
guide 412E5BF050F1 412E5AF040F1
live_tv 3F2C5EF050F1 3F2C5FF040F1
menu 412E5FF050F1 412E5EF040F1
1 4325A0F050F1 4325A1F040F1
2 4323A0F050F1 4323A1F040F1
3 4321A0F050F1 4321A1F040F1
4 4322A3F050F1 4322A2F040F1
5 412EA3F050F1 412EA2F040F1
6 4322A2F050F1 4322A3F040F1
7 4320A2F050F1 4320A3F040F1
8 4324AFF050F1 4324AEF040F1
9 412FAFF050F1 412FAEF040F1
0 450CA0F050F1 450CA1F040F1
clear 412FACF050F1 412FADF040F1
enter 412FADF050F1 412FACF040F1
text 3F2C1CF340F1 3F2C1DF350F1
red 3F2C1EF340F1 3F2C1FF350F1
green 412EC4F340F1 412EC5F350F1
yellow 3F2C12F340F1 3F2C13F350F1
blue 412EC0F340F1 412EC1F350F1
* 412F88F040F1 412F89F050F1
# 432689F050F1 432688F040F1

Greetings
Viking
« Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 11:58:14 pm by Viking »

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Did you find, guys, the solution for that problem? If so can you explain how?

TIA
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Hi,

I had a LIRC remote, so I configured it so that they work directly in VDR.

Can tell you how if you like. Just not near my notes right now. So please answer if you need it.
Viking

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
I also have LIRC remote. So, it'd be great if you explain me how to configure it to work directly with VDR.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Hi Nite_man,

sorry for the really late answer. I have had sooo much work the last weeks.

Here is what I did to get my - previously used - Phillips SRM 5100 remote with the USB dongle that came with the remote running.

You will probably start at 4. and only change the color keys in your LinuxMCE configuration.

IIRC at that time I did use LIRC for the color keys (and two more) and USB UIRT for the rest. But the main thing ist changing the template and the remote.conf in VDR.

Code: [Select]
4. edit the template #1622 and insert the "## NEW - VERY SHORT color keys only - lirc config of Windows MCE remote #1622" from further down below "#59 Configuration(string)" under "Default Value".
We have changed the names of the color buttons and added "VDR" in front of them so the only react in VDR.
 
5. go to the web interface and select "mce_usb2" below "Infrared interface" on the MD.

now an "ps ax|grep lircd" should show lirc running. Maybe a quick relaod is necessary

6. Add remote control device #1622 also below "Media Director"
With a bit of luck the remote should work now.

Now we have to get the color keys working.


7. backup and edit remote.conf
cd /var/lib/vdr
cp remote.conf remote.conf.ORG

Replace the folowing lines (the first part is the same in the old and new config):

LIRC.Menu       VDRDVD
LIRC.Back       More
LIRC.Red        VDRRed
LIRC.Green      VDRGreen
LIRC.Yellow     VDRYellow
LIRC.Blue       VDRBlue

7. restart VDR


Code: [Select]
## NEW - VERY SHORT color keys only - lirc config of Windows MCE remote #1622
## rest of the keys are controlled by Template #1788 USB-UIRT MCE remote
#
# RC-6 config file
#
# source: http://home.hccnet.nl/m.majoor/projects__remote_control.htm
#         http://home.hccnet.nl/m.majoor/pronto.pdf
#
# used by: Philips
#
#########
#
# Philips Media Center Edition remote control
# For use with the USB MCE ir receiver
#
# Dan Conti  dconti|acm.wwu.edu
#
# Radio, Print, RecTV are only available on the HP Media Center remote control
#

begin remote

  name mceusb
  bits           16
  flags RC6|CONST_LENGTH
  eps            30
  aeps          100

  header       2667   889
  one           444   444
  zero          444   444
  pre_data_bits 21
  pre_data      0x37FF0
  gap          105000
  toggle_bit     22
  rc6_mask     0x100000000


      begin codes

VDRBlue         0x00007ba1
VDRYellow 0x00007ba2
VDRGreen 0x00007ba3
VDRRed         0x00007ba4

# no ba - d8

        VDRDVD      0x00007bdb
        More     0x00007bf0
      end codes

end remote

Viking

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Thanks, Viking, for your solution. But I'm confused a bit. Do color buttons work with LinuxMCE functions? You re-map color buttons in the LIRCd.conf. So, it wouldn't possible to call menu during playback of video file, for example, right? Andrew, what solution do you use for your clients if it isn't secret of course?
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Hi,

I ended up with a solution that only remapped the color buttons and one button to get the VDR menu and IIRC one button for VDR back.
The Windows key is still mapped to linuxmce menu.

But now I am using a gyration remote and switched to MythTV because I could not get a satisfying video picture in VDR. I allways had tearing and stuttering. With MythTV and VDPAU it is good :) Only switching times (channel to channel) is not so good :( abou 4 seconds - that is a bit long.

Greetings
Viking

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Well, the color buttons are used in MythTV as well aren't they? So, you should find solution for them as well. Not sure about gyration remote.

Still would like to here Andrew's solution if it's possible :)
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
not sure if they are needed in mythtv, but the gyration does not have any color buttons ...

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
not sure if they are needed in mythtv, but the gyration does not have any color buttons ...

They are needed in MythTV for Interactive Services - we call them 'Red Button' services here in the UK and they are delivered using MythTV's MHEG engine.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Well, the color buttons are used in MythTV as well aren't they? So, you should find solution for them as well. Not sure about gyration remote.

Still would like to here Andrew's solution if it's possible :)

The colour buttons are used extensively all through the UI in VDR obviously and in MythTv to interact with Myth's MHEG engine when using an interactive service (MHEG is used here in the UK on DVB-T/S and also in New Zealand to).

In our VDR integration we have full support for the colour buttons both in the MCE template and in the Nokia screens too.  I think the vdr integration in 0810 is architected in a different manner to our ie the devs took a different direction (but all of our code is available to the devs...apart from our N800/N810 screens which have not been released).

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Thank for your answer, Andrew. Does your VDR implementation (I mean the code) for color buttons is available for 0710?
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Thank for your answer, Andrew. Does your VDR implementation (I mean the code) for color buttons is available for 0710?

Yes as all our commercial systems are based on 0710 currently. The code we have provided already supports the colour buttons...but the issue is how that code gets integrated as we have taken a different route to achieve the integration.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk