Author Topic: First Timer Hardware questions  (Read 1994 times)

thezfunk

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
First Timer Hardware questions
« on: March 05, 2009, 04:10:29 pm »
I have been reading through the wiki but I thought I would run this by some actual people.  I was thinking about using a EVGA 680i board for LMCE and was wondering if anyone here has use it or similiar.

My other question is there anyway to turn off the DHCP even if I have to assign IP's?  What's wrong with using hostnames?  I have pfsense managing my DHCP and I won't want to change that.  I also plan on using my LCME server as a general file server and webserver.  Anyone see any issue with this?

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: First Timer Hardware questions
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2009, 04:48:08 pm »
Check the user setups for HW.

and Go through the FAQ thoroughly.
it explains the need of dhcp



HTH


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

thezfunk

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: First Timer Hardware questions
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2009, 06:30:33 pm »
I understand the 'need' for the server handling DHCP.  I just don't see why you can't set static IP's and then define in the server somewhere what those are.

Could I get a link to user setups?  Navigating this site and the wiki isn't always the most user friendly.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: First Timer Hardware questions
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2009, 07:01:27 pm »
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User_Setups

Linuxmce generally will use the same ipaddress for a given device. It will even add it permanently is you add as a file server.





Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: First Timer Hardware questions
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2009, 10:36:35 pm »
I understand the 'need' for the server handling DHCP.  I just don't see why you can't set static IP's and then define in the server somewhere what those are.

Could I get a link to user setups?  Navigating this site and the wiki isn't always the most user friendly.

As tk says, LMCE will detect your PCs as file servers, in which case the addresses handed out to them are static permanently! There are almost no circumstances where they will change.... I have been running a LMCE network for 18months and my XP machine has had the same IP address in all that time in spite of rebuilding my core server many times, and even rebuilding my XP machine at least once! This is important to me as I port forward many services into my XP machine... and I suspect that is your interest as well. Don't try to second guess the system until you have built as designed, or you will make unnecessary headaches for yourself. The DHCP is critical to a functioning LMCE network, and your concern is unfounded in practice.

See here for a more detailed explanation http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Network_Setup

thezfunk

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: First Timer Hardware questions
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2009, 01:22:12 am »
Ok, what I think I will do is just worry about the core right now and just have my current LAN enter as the core's WAN.  I'll get everything working and see where we go from there.  I am toying with the idea of setting up FreeNAS as the actual file storage but I kind of want an all in one box to cut down on space/energy/headaches.

I guess I will trudge through EVERYONE's system to find someone that is using an NVIDIA based board that runs this?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: First Timer Hardware questions
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2009, 10:30:21 am »
Ok, what I think I will do is just worry about the core right now and just have my current LAN enter as the core's WAN.  I'll get everything working and see where we go from there.  I am toying with the idea of setting up FreeNAS as the actual file storage but I kind of want an all in one box to cut down on space/energy/headaches.

I guess I will trudge through EVERYONE's system to find someone that is using an NVIDIA based board that runs this?

All the info you need to get started and to do the things you want to do are in the Wiki... thats why we have one ;-)

All the best

Andrew

PS also look at unraid for your NAS... http://lime-technology.com/?page_id=46 Its not open source but they have a free version that is limited to 1 parity and two data drives... and this can be expanded by buying a license key to expand beyond this too more drives.
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

thezfunk

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: First Timer Hardware questions
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2009, 07:35:15 pm »
Thanks for the reply.  Once I got a correct link I found a couple users with Nvidia based boards.  I traverse Wiki's all the time but for some reason I find myself going in circles without finding what I am looking for on this one.  I will check out that NAS software.