Author Topic: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE  (Read 1733 times)

Linux_da

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« on: February 25, 2009, 12:50:19 pm »
Hi,

After spending days I have setup the developing environment for LINUX MCE with KUBUNTU 7.1.
I have downloaded codes, the editor , Phpmyadmin configured it.

The main job is to remove all the plugins except the media.
Please give me the way as I am a fresher to Linux environment and to this sea of codes.
How to modify code to remove other plugins except Media plugin.

Thanks in advance....
Linux_da


hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2009, 01:04:08 pm »
a) why do you shout?
b) maybe this is above your head if you are fresh to linux and coding
c) the plugins are dynamically loaded

be aware that the core team has other goals.
br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2009, 06:00:33 pm »
Hi,

After spending days I have setup the developing environment for LINUX MCE with KUBUNTU 7.1.
I have downloaded codes, the editor , Phpmyadmin configured it.

The main job is to remove all the plugins except the media.
Please give me the way as I am a fresher to Linux environment and to this sea of codes.
How to modify code to remove other plugins except Media plugin.

Thanks in advance....
Linux_da




Hmmm... why would you want to do that?

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2009, 11:23:03 pm »
Yes, why on earth would you want to do that? If you don't have any home automation, then fine the automation code does nothing, if you don't want telephony then the asterisk module does nothing... there is no advantage to removing these modules.

I suspect that you are actually trying to remove those menus from the interface and have not expressed that well. The answer there is you would have to redesign the skin to remove those scenarios... but I advise you tread carefully there, you will not garner any assistance from a team that has worked so hard getting those pieces into the system, to remove them again for you! You will be told you have not selected the right horse for your course. They have more pressing objectives that actually further the project rather than take it backwards. You can do it, but it is involved and not for the feint hearted.

Linux_da

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2009, 07:36:35 am »
Yes you are correct. May be I was looking to change the skin since I had no Idea about where to start.

 :) There is no way to mitigate the efforts been put by Linux Geeks. Its magnificient.

Was looking to change the skin to individuals requiremnt i.e if the look scould be made simple by showing only the
plugin which will be used. In this case is Media plugins.

Thank you very much hoping to here from you.... :)


Yes, why on earth would you want to do that? If you don't have any home automation, then fine the automation code does nothing, if you don't want telephony then the asterisk module does nothing... there is no advantage to removing these modules.

I suspect that you are actually trying to remove those menus from the interface and have not expressed that well. The answer there is you would have to redesign the skin to remove those scenarios... but I advise you tread carefully there, you will not garner any assistance from a team that has worked so hard getting those pieces into the system, to remove them again for you! You will be told you have not selected the right horse for your course. They have more pressing objectives that actually further the project rather than take it backwards. You can do it, but it is involved and not for the feint hearted.

Linux_da

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2009, 08:05:03 am »
Actualy I was wondering if only the required plugin is shown.
May be I was talking about the design part i.e to change the look and make easy the configurations to the
required plugin only.


Thank you


Hmmm... why would you want to do that?

Andrew
[/quote]

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2009, 04:14:21 pm »
Actualy I was wondering if only the required plugin is shown.
May be I was talking about the design part i.e to change the look and make easy the configurations to the
required plugin only.


Thank you


Hmmm... why would you want to do that?

Andrew

Hi again,

The visual menu items are visible as part of the UI but they are not functional unless you have configured the system to provide the capability controlled by the piece of the UI. Just use the features of the system that you need - then over time you can enable the others as you need them.

All the best

Andrew
« Last Edit: March 01, 2009, 05:37:13 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2009, 06:05:40 pm »
Quote
Was looking to change the skin to individuals requiremnt i.e if the look scould be made simple by showing only the
plugin which will be used. In this case is Media plugins.

Sounds like you are trying to customize the system to sell it?

If so are you aware of what is required?



Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

Linux_da

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2009, 07:31:38 am »
Yept...
Shall do that....

Linux_da

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2009, 07:48:26 am »
The Idea was to explore if the entire concept can be given the shape of a trimmed and customized utility.

'Cause in this subcontinent hardly we have security ,lighting ,Iptelephone in public use.





 :) Linux_da

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Remove plugins from LINUXMCE
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2009, 08:56:51 am »
Yept...
Shall do that....

1. Do you have a license from pluto ?
2. Do you have at least a year working with linuxmce?
3. Have you done your homework ?


You may want to take care of those issue before rewriting linuxmce and trying to sell it.


just my two cents


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/