Author Topic: New installation with very choppy audio  (Read 877 times)

tgwtoronto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
New installation with very choppy audio
« on: February 18, 2009, 03:20:01 am »
Hi All,

I've recently decided that it's time to upgrade my home automation and AV systems.   Previously I've had a bunch of different systems running my security, lights, etc along with a mythTV setup for my A/V.   

I wanted to do some initial testing so I built a small lab setup using the following hardware:

CORE = Dual 3.0GHz CPU with 2GB RAM and 2 GIG-E Network Connections
MD #1 = 1.5GHz CPU with 512MB RAM and 100Meg network connection

All seems fine from a configuration perspective my MD booted up fine and I have the GUI up however as a quick test I tried to play some audio that I had installed (an mp3 file) and it is extremely choppy.   The load on the core while playing is almost nothing and on the MD it's about .40 load average.   

Does anyone have any ideas on this or am I missing something?   

The MD used to be a diskless front end for my MythTV setup so I believe it should have enough power to do a simple MD playing just music.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Tom

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5498
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: New installation with very choppy audio
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2009, 03:48:19 am »
How are you connecting your audio?

-Thom

tgwtoronto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: New installation with very choppy audio
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2009, 03:50:58 am »
Hi,

The current setup has the sound card in the MD connect to a pair of head phones, and the audio file is an MP3 residing in the /home/public/data/audio directory.

thanks
tom

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5498
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: New installation with very choppy audio
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2009, 03:54:49 am »
Have you tried replacing the sound card?

-Thom

tgwtoronto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: New installation with very choppy audio
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2009, 01:25:05 pm »
Hi,

That was my next plan I was just hoping it was going to be something else as the 3 diskless front ends I have all have built on sounds chips and the single PCI slot they do have I have a decent video card in.....I will try swapping the sound card to see what it does.

Tom

tgwtoronto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: New installation with very choppy audio
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2009, 01:28:01 pm »
One other things to note is that the video that plays to go through the setup sounds fine without  chop as well as the test sounds that plays can play for 5 minutes without any chop.

Tom

jeangot

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: New installation with very choppy audio
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2009, 08:07:40 am »
Tom,

take a look at the end of this thread:
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5845.0

Maybe it helps.

Jean

tgwtoronto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: New installation with very choppy audio
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2009, 01:31:23 am »
Hi All,

Does appear to have been the sound card when I put an SB Live card in the box it works fine.   I'm going to try a few more things now that I know it's the sound driver for sure.

Thanks for the help
Tom

patmankn

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: New installation with very choppy audio
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2009, 05:24:31 pm »
Maybe just a hint... but i had some issues with choppy sound as well,
and the blacklisting of the mentioned driver worked for me.

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5422.0

Cheers...

Pat
Hybrid: MSI MS-7329,Nvidia 6150 onboard,AMD BE-2400,2gb RAM,Sharp Aqous LE 37X20E via MD Zotoc Ion Synergy,Terratec 1200 & Cinergy DT USB Diversity DVB-T, KNC ONE TV-Station DVB-C,WebDT366,Fiire Chief http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/User:Patmankn