Author Topic: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives  (Read 1655 times)

louisvillelivin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Hi there -new to the forum, love the product.

-I'm having one small issue, seems to be my own as from everything I've read others are able to do what I'm after, but I haven't found a solution.

the goal:
  Rip DVDs to alternate/remote folders (I have a 2nd 1.5TB internal drive /dev/sb1 mounted /homemedia

the problem:
  When a blue ray disc is detected and I try to rip, I'm only presented w/the CORE as a location.  If I select the option to change I only see the core.  What am I doing wrong?  Additionally, I have a Terastation in the house, which as I understand uses samba....LinuxMCE has not found this either.

the obvious:
  I am communicating on my network; a static IP has been given and w/the desktop started, I VNC to the machine; sb1 is visible and writeable.


Thanks in advance,

R

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2009, 07:21:25 pm »
1st off Blu-ray ripping does not work currently.
I would love to hear you found differently.

2nd do not manually mount drives.

A formatted drive added to lmce will be auto-detected
Just answer the pop up to use it.. generally its better to use linuxmce's  structure

HTH


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 08:51:19 pm »
first you need to confirm that you have configured the correct LMCE network architecture.... 2 NICs, one servicing your "external" network, one your "internal" network. Everything including your terrastation, etc must be on the internal network set for DHCP and getting its DHCP from your core (your core's external NIC can be static or get a dynamic address from another DHCP server, it doesn't matter, as long as it is providing DHCP to your internal network)

louisvillelivin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2009, 08:55:21 pm »
I wish I could as well....it attempted to work, but seemed to fail.  However, my issue is that it defaults to /home/public...

not my mounted drive.

Also, LinuxMCE did not detect the drive, hell Kubuntu didn't see it.  I had to:

fdisk>> create partition>> mkfs>> mount>>append to fstab

**LinuxMCE did not and does not see the drive.....I've little experience so I can't explain it.  Also, don't forget that it does not see the Terastation or any Windows shares on the subnet


Thanks,

R Davis


louisvillelivin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2009, 08:59:22 pm »
ColinJones,

Eth0 is static, the internal network is DHCP, but I don't have any orbiters etc. -is the internal really necessary?  In my first (toy) install, MCE saw all shares.  I'm fairly certain I've done everything the same, but human error is far more likely a cause.

I will check that out tonight.  -any idea on the local disk?  -it's driving me nuts to have 1.5TB that I can't use :-)


Thanks,

R Davis

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2993
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2009, 09:06:26 pm »
I will check that out tonight.  -any idea on the local disk?  -it's driving me nuts to have 1.5TB that I can't use :-)

As soon as the drive is formatted with ext2,ext3,xfs or similar, it should be detected, and you should be prompted by your orbiter.

louisvillelivin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2009, 09:12:20 pm »
It's the weirdest thing, but from MCE:

Media>> Manage Drives....

I have nothing under hard discs  -the Blue Ray is seen, that's it -no jukeboxes (which I'm assuming may be remote folders/devices)

I only see mention of the core drive when I try to rip.  If I select the change button, I still only see the core drive.

Is there a config file that can be manipulated to display the new drive?


to recap, when Installed from the i386 media, I was asked which drive I wanted to install LinuxMCE. I chose 1 (/dev/sda)
  that created several partitions.

Once the machine was booted, /dev/sdb was not formatted and showed -5.30 KB in Gparted.

I opened a term and completed an Fdisk, result is /dev/sdb1 mounted to /homemedia

LinuxMCE does not see it.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2009, 09:57:30 pm »
You won't see it until it has been auto detected....


PLEASE DO NOT mount or symlink anything manually in LMCE!! I don't know how many times this has been said on the forums and wiki... getting tired of telling people this... please read before attempting to break your system! Now you have mounted manually it will probably have broken your system, if so you will need to reinstall. Unmount asap!

Possy has already given you the answer - as long as a drive is partioned and formatted correctly, LMCE will detect it and prompt you to add it. Suggest you partition and format, then rebuild your system and it will detect it automatically.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2993
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2009, 10:11:02 pm »
another possibility is, that lmce detected your drive, and you told it to ignore it. Check in the web admin under Advanced / Configuration / Unknown Devices if you do see something that resembles your drive. If you do, unlock it, and it shall be redetected. But first, unmount the drive from your system.

louisvillelivin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2009, 10:18:07 pm »
I appreciate the curt response and apologize for forcing you to repeat yourself, but as we're in this mode I'll do the same...

<repeat>Linux MCE did/does not detect the drive after a format</repeat>

a reload of the machine is the least of my worries....so I've lost my voicemail PIN of 1234.  I'm more concerned w/the ability to use all discs.
If the answer is: "it should do...." after I've stated that it does not --then I'll thank you for your time and figure it out myself.

---Posde: I'm fairly confident that's not the case, but I will definitely check that out.  Thanks for the constructive input.

I will unmount tonight...

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2009, 10:32:11 pm »
Very simply if you set the network up correctly it will detect network shares correctly.

If you format a drive and put in a lmce core or md it will be detected.

maybe reinstall?


good luck

Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2009, 11:02:32 pm »
Very simply if you set the network up correctly it will detect network shares correctly.

If you format a drive and put in a LinuxMCE core or md it will be detected.

maybe reinstall?


good luck

Tim

Which is where I was headed... if the drive was not partitioned and formatted when you put it in - which is what you said - then its possible that it wouldn't get detected if formatted in place. If you partition it and format it as ext3 then rebuild it will get detected... that is the simple (if laborious) way of doing it. Others would be, shutdown, remove the disk, reboot, shut down, re-add the disk, reboot. Or investigate the storageradar script and determine where it is parsing the device from as this should give you a starting point to retrigger the detection.

tip: /usr/pluto/bin/StorageDevices_Radar.sh

it gets them from /proc/partitions

You'll notice that it removes mounted partitions from the list
« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 11:05:41 pm by colinjones »

louisvillelivin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2009, 04:38:40 am »
CJ.....I can't explain it.  I reloaded the machine, selecting options to keep my settings and home dir >> config eth0 to grant access via my network.....'voila!

LinuxMCE immediately detected all windows shares, my terastation and more importantly the internal 1.5TB drive.

I don't know what was different, but obviously something is; chalk this to user error -would've just been nice to recognize what I did.

I'm off an running  -Thanks so much for the good direction.

-now if I can just disable this photo gallery :-)


R

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #13 on: February 14, 2009, 05:05:08 am »
You probably don't want to disable the photo gallery as it leaves the screen messy (no redraws)... You can certainly disable the flickr stuff, there is a button for that in the web admin under screensaver. Then if you want not even your own pics displayed, simply don't mark any in the pictures folder as eligible for the screen saver...

louisvillelivin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping media to alternate locations; can't locate 2nd/network drives
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2009, 11:40:25 pm »
CJ, thank you for your help  -the screensaver was posing an issue when trying to VNC to the desktop -now that it's configured; no need.


-Thanks for some great advice,

R Davis