Author Topic: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?  (Read 1958 times)

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« on: February 12, 2009, 11:48:59 am »
Hi,

I am just installing my core and looking into the place where VDR stores it recordings. Well at the moment it is /home/public/data/VDRTV/video - that is the system drive on my core. So now I have a RAID 5 drive with three disks and that has the Pluto structure. Would I then create a new directory and give it the same rights/owners as the other dirs and then link

/home/public/data/VDRTV/video

to (in my example)

/mnt/device/31/public/data/VDRTV/video   

and put the video files on device 31 ?
Or how is this supposed to be ?


BTW. As one can have several video dirs with VDR, we can also use video.00 video.01 and so on to put recordings on different discs. 

Greetings
Viking

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2009, 10:24:28 pm »

I will then reply myself ;) but still no solution :(

If I link /home/public/data/VDRTV/video to /mnt/device/31/public/data/VDRTV/video   or video.00 it is removed on shutdown, so next time there is no recordings there !?

What is the trick ?
Where do I have to put the Recordings ? On the System disk they are not really well placed ...

Greetings
Viking

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2009, 04:41:57 pm »
Hi again,

Do I have to add the links myself, like :
ln -s /home/public/data/VDRTV/video/movies to /mnt/device/31/public/data/VDRTV/video

Who knows ?

Greetings
Viking

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2009, 05:05:18 pm »
Hi again,

Do I have to add the links myself, like :
ln -s /home/public/data/VDRTV/video/movies to /mnt/device/31/public/data/VDRTV/video

Who knows ?

Greetings
Viking

Currently the auto-detection & setup of storage does not understand how to configure vdr's extendable storage mechanism ie video.00, video.01, video.02 etc etc etc. Manually creating symlinks to other partitions etc will cause major problems with LinuxMCE's automatic drive/partition management.

Configuring vdr storage automatically via updated storage management scripts is what is needed... hopefully for 810 we will have this in place.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2009, 11:15:29 pm »
hi Andrew,

thanks for your answer :)

So what does this mean ? I can not use the 2 TB RAID5 for VDR recordings ?
I will have to put them on the system disk ?

That would practically mean that VDR is not usable at all as I only can record what I have space on the system disk :( and VDR will kill the server wenn ity fills up the system disk. Or I would have to move everything (except /boot) to the RAID 5 - which again is not possible because it is not detected at boottime, but first after finishing start of linuxmce!?

I just can't belive this - what are you doing with your customers ?

Greetings
Viking

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2009, 02:40:29 pm »
hi Andrew,

thanks for your answer :)

So what does this mean ? I can not use the 2 TB RAID5 for VDR recordings ?
I will have to put them on the system disk ?

That would practically mean that VDR is not usable at all as I only can record what I have space on the system disk :( and VDR will kill the server wenn ity fills up the system disk. Or I would have to move everything (except /boot) to the RAID 5 - which again is not possible because it is not detected at boottime, but first after finishing start of linuxmce!?

I just can't belive this - what are you doing with your customers ?

Greetings
Viking

Its currently a limitation and I agree its not ideal - but we generally install 1tb drives as for the boot partition so there is space available for a large amount of TV recordings... and if the drive becomes full then the system will warn the user in plenty of time to delete some recordings.

For 810 we will have a more intelligent auto detection of storage so that recordings can be spread of as many partitions as you have available. This should be in an early Beta I would expect.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2009, 10:33:57 am »
Hallo Andrew,

OK, it would have been nice to know this a bit earlyer ;) Maybe I should add this to the wiki...

One problem ist that VDR normalyy records in its /video, it also supports /video.00, /video.01, /video.02 for using severla recording dirs. BUT linuxmce will not mount the video device before it starts VDR, so how are you planning to "fix" that ?
 
I will have a look at a temporaru solution then. I will have to tweak VDR to use another video path (vdr.settings) - something like /home/public/vdr/video and then link /home/public/vdr/video/video to /mnt/device/31/vdr-video (or something like that) - have anybody tried that ? With epgsearch - also replacing the normal schedule menu item - I could setup vdr to allways record in the video subfolder (the link to device 31).

Or maybe put the whole system on the RAID5 disk with /boot on standard ext2/3 (or RAID1).
The quiestion is how I get the RAID5 out of the hands of linuxmce without deleting it !?

Greetings
Viking

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3045
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2009, 11:00:40 am »
Viking,

I have modified the VDR startup script to wait for the video dir to become active, before trying to start VDR. I am pretty confident that change will end up in 0810

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2009, 12:43:35 pm »
Viking,

I have modified the VDR startup script to wait for the video dir to become active, before trying to start VDR. I am pretty confident that change will end up in 0810

We are working on updating "StorageDevices_Symlinks.sh" and some of the other "StorageDevices" scripts to automanage the creation of video.00, video.01, video.02 etc etc symlinks.

After some more testing we'll upload them to the svn.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3045
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2009, 03:20:43 pm »
Viking,

I have modified the VDR startup script to wait for the video dir to become active, before trying to start VDR. I am pretty confident that change will end up in 0810
We are working on updating "StorageDevices_Symlinks.sh" and some of the other "StorageDevices" scripts to automanage the creation of video.00, video.01, video.02 etc etc symlinks.

Nice. Make sure that VDR does not get started before the symlinks and storage devices exist ;)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2009, 04:24:12 pm »
Viking,

I have modified the VDR startup script to wait for the video dir to become active, before trying to start VDR. I am pretty confident that change will end up in 0810
We are working on updating "StorageDevices_Symlinks.sh" and some of the other "StorageDevices" scripts to automanage the creation of video.00, video.01, video.02 etc etc symlinks.

Nice. Make sure that VDR does not get started before the symlinks and storage devices exist ;)

Already done ;-)

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: VDR video directory - where do I put it ?
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2009, 11:37:37 pm »
Hallo Andrew, Hallo Posde,

Andrew, can you post something wenn you have submitted the changes to svn - that would be nice :)

Thanks for your input both of you :) I have now modified the runvdr script to wait for the mount of device 31. So far so good :)
Now I have trouble replaying the recordings and trouble importing them - see http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=7433.msg47683#msg47683

Thanks :)
Greetings
Viking