Author Topic: useing HDD instead of pxe  (Read 2445 times)

emachala

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
useing HDD instead of pxe
« on: February 01, 2009, 09:29:08 pm »
I have a bunch of ide 40g - 80gig hdd's can i just use the DVD installer disc I use to install core or core hybrid? to install them as media directors that have hdd's  or is there a process?
-emac

-----------------------------
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Emachala

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: useing HDD instead of pxe
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2009, 10:00:59 pm »
No, trust me on this one, leave the media directors as a PXE boot. Fewer moving parts.

-Thom

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: useing HDD instead of pxe
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2009, 11:18:15 am »
Like Thom said, fewer parts and less heat.

Unless you are dualbooting with other OS, don't put a drive in your MD.

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 909
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: useing HDD instead of pxe
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2009, 01:17:40 pm »
Like Thom said, fewer parts and less heat.

Unless you are dualbooting with other OS, don't put a drive in your MD.
Agree, but sometimes my nfs dies and then MD freezes during the play so I'm seriously considering to put movies to its local drives... (according to Murphy, it happens when a group of my friends gather behind TV to watch few family videos :-)...)

But anyway, I'd take advice on diskless MDs seriously..

Regards,

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

emachala

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: useing HDD instead of pxe
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2009, 03:47:58 pm »
thanks i will
-emac

-----------------------------
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Emachala

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: useing HDD instead of pxe
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2009, 02:08:40 am »
No, trust me on this one, leave the media directors as a PXE boot. Fewer moving parts.

-Thom

Thom - strictly speaking, it probably isn't reducing the amount of movement that much, just consolidating it all onto the core's HDD! But, yes, there are plenty of very good reasons for using PXE as much as possible.

But on the subject (I know there are manual ways you can still create a disked MD) is it likely that the disked version will come back at some point in 0810? There are some cases where it would be very useful such as a wireless MD (configure it wired, then add the wireless configuration and swap over to that NIC), and it would be useful in the suspend to disk&RAM option in 0810...

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: useing HDD instead of pxe
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2009, 02:14:24 am »
Very true on fewer moving parts.

What I was referring to really, was the fact that you have to keep media directors and the core in sync.

We do not have much of a mechanism for this yet, we merely check to see if the MDs are the same version, and if not, the system refuses to boot.

-Thom

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: useing HDD instead of pxe
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2009, 02:24:39 am »
Agreed/understood.

Any comment on the disked MD question?

emachala

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: useing HDD instead of pxe
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2009, 02:35:47 am »
just curious any have a MCE system running or did for testing purposes.... that has mce for each MD on a small local HDD.... that works or did..... just what to know about overall difference in performance ... after all my reading think performance would be overall same.. possibly slightly faster just boot time be much quicker??



-emac

-----------------------------
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Emachala

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: useing HDD instead of pxe
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2009, 02:40:22 am »
Basically, yeah.

Keep in mind that media directors are supposed to always be active.

With this in mind....Does shaving up to 30 seconds on boot time, really matter?

-Thom

emachala

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: useing HDD instead of pxe
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2009, 02:54:34 am »
exactly my thought ... that's why your no was enough for me
-emac

-----------------------------
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Emachala