Author Topic: How to replace a bad NIC card?  (Read 2732 times)

caddywhompus

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
How to replace a bad NIC card?
« on: February 01, 2009, 07:46:29 pm »
I'm setting up a new core and finding I have some bugs to work out.  The biggest one relates to either a bad NIC card or a IRQ conflict between it and my PVR-500.  I say this because I can't get a quality link on the internal network.  Sometimes it's there, sometimes it's not.  Often it drops as soon as the PVR-500 starts recording.  I tried swapping the cards around to different PCI slots and getting the IRQ to not overlap which helped, but the internal network was still on and off.  I have tried replacing the card but LMCE doesn't detect the hardware change and reconfigure the network accordingly. Is there a way for me to trigger this?

I did STF for this but the only somewhat relevant post was here http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=1327.0 and it really didn't help anyway.

For info her's the LSPCI ouput:
Code: [Select]
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C693A/694x [Apollo PRO133x] (rev
 c4)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C598/694x [Apollo MVP3/Pro133x AG
P]
00:09.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 41)
00:09.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 41)
00:09.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 02)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: Davicom Semiconductor, Inc. 21x4x DEC-Tulip compati                                                 ble 10/100 Ethernet (rev 40)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: Hint Corp HB6 Universal PCI-PCI bridge (non-transparent mode                                                 ) (rev 11)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8231 [PCI-to-ISA Bridge] (rev 10)
00:11.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/                                                 C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:11.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller                                                  (rev 1e)
00:11.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller                                                  (rev 1e)
00:11.4 Bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8235 ACPI (rev 10)
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 AC97 Audio                                                  Controller (rev 40)
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 51)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200] (re                                                 v a1)
02:08.0 Multimedia video controller: Internext Compression Inc iTVC16 (CX23416)                                                  MPEG-2 Encoder (rev 01)
02:09.0 Multimedia video controller: Internext Compression Inc iTVC16 (CX23416)                                                  MPEG-2 Encoder (rev 01)
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$
And the attempt to reconfigure...
Code: [Select]
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ sudo /usr/pluto/bin/Network_Setup.sh
Writing network configuration with one in database
 * Deconfiguring network interfaces...
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth1.pid with pid 4396
killed old client process, removed PID file
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.5
Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth1/00:01:80:22:44:48
Sending on   LPF/eth1/00:01:80:22:44:48
Sending on   Socket/fallback
DHCPRELEASE on eth1 to 68.114.36.82 port 67
                                                                         [ OK ]
 * Stopping DHCP server dhcpd3                                           [fail]
5707 Sun Feb  1 12:24:44 CST 2009 WaitLock 'PlutoDHCP' (PlutoDHCP_config)
5707 Sun Feb  1 12:24:44 CST 2009 WaitLock 'PlutoDHCP' (PlutoDHCP_config) succes
s
Device 1 has bad mac address
 * Stopping DHCP server dhcpd3                                           [fail]
 * Starting DHCP server dhcpd3                                           [fail]
invoke-rc.d: initscript dhcp3-server, action "restart" failed.
5707 Sun Feb  1 12:24:49 CST 2009 Unlock 'PlutoDHCP' (PlutoDHCP_config)
5707 Sun Feb  1 12:24:49 CST 2009 Unlock 'PlutoDHCP' (PlutoDHCP_config) success
 * Configuring network interfaces...
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth1.pid with pid 134519120
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.5
Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth1/00:01:80:22:44:48
Sending on   LPF/eth1/00:01:80:22:44:48
Sending on   Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
DHCPOFFER from 10.130.64.1
DHCPREQUEST on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
DHCPACK from 10.130.64.1
bound to 66.189.142.136 -- renewal in 1690 seconds.
eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
Failed to bring up eth0.
                                                                         [ OK ]
 * Starting DHCP server dhcpd3                                           [fail]
invoke-rc.d: initscript dhcp3-server, action "start" failed.
server reload successful
 * Reloading /etc/samba/smb.conf...                                      [ OK ]
Setting NIS, with domain 'pluto'

At this point, we have to construct a list of the hosts which will run NIS
servers.  dcerouter is in the list of NIS server hosts.  Please continue to add
the names for the other hosts, one per line.  When you are done with the
list, type a <control D>.
        next host to add:  dcerouter
        next host to add:       next host to add:
The current list of NIS servers looks like this:

dcerouter


Is this correct?  [y/n: y]  We need a few minutes to build the databases...
Building /var/yp/pluto/ypservers...
Running /var/yp/Makefile...
make[1]: Entering directory `/var/yp/pluto'
Updating passwd.byname...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating pass
wd.byuid...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating grou
p.byname...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating grou
p.bygid...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating host
s.byname...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating host
s.byaddr...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating rpc.
byname...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating rpc.
bynumber...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating serv
ices.byname...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating serv
ices.byservicename...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating neti
d.byname...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating prot
ocols.bynumber...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating prot
ocols.byname...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating netg
roup...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating netg
roup.byhost...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating netg
roup.byuser...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredUpdating shad
ow.byname...
failed to send 'clear' to local ypserv: RPC: Program not registeredmake[1]: Leav
ing directory `/var/yp/pluto'

dcerouter has been set up as a NIS master server.

Now you can run ypinit -s dcerouter on all slave server.
 * Starting NIS services                                                 [ OK ]
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$


« Last Edit: February 01, 2009, 07:49:36 pm by caddywhompus »

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: How to replace a bad NIC card?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2009, 10:03:35 pm »
Right now, the pluto network configurator does not deal with udev at all.

So you need to edit the file /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net-rules

find the line with your old network card's mac address, and remove it, or replace the mac address with the one of your new card. Reboot.

-Thom