Author Topic: Need some help with channel change on cable box  (Read 1297 times)

Domodude

  • Guest
Need some help with channel change on cable box
« on: September 07, 2008, 10:35:19 pm »
Hi,

I have a cable box that can be operated using a USBUIRT. The device was made with a custom template, and when I go to A/V properties of the device, I can "test code" to see the channel change.

How do I implement channel changing when watching TV or recording? I know of a /usr/pluto/bin/TuneToChannel.sh script, but what should the parameters be? I should think that the device ID should be the one for the cable box (or is it the USBUIRT), that the input number should be the input number corresponding to what it says on the mythweb configuration interface (i.e., 1, 2, 3, ....), and that the third input should be the channel.

That does not work though. I tried to find messages in the forum describing this, but nothing recent that uses the TuneToChannel script.

Who knows how to do this?

Thanks,

Mark



golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1095
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
Re: Need some help with channel change on cable box
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2008, 03:08:22 am »
There is this bit from the wiki

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/TuneToChannel.sh

should explain it better than my hurried re-type.

and there is this

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5507.0

but when in doubt, i delete the device and re-add it from the setup wizard. seems to correct an incorrect settings that somehow got in there.

hth

golgoj4
Official Releases
http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiter-release.apk latest Qt4 android apk  http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiterQt5-release.apk for the Qt5 Android version http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiter-release.dmg for the MacOSX version

Unstable Nightlies
http://langstonball.com/downloads

Crumble

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: Need some help with channel change on cable box
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2008, 08:37:46 am »
Ok, there is a input wizard in the pluto setup.  Go to AV then pick your room then, go to the tv, av properties.  Here you want to go to the inputs part and next to the input that has your live tv connection (the input which you want to switch to in order to use the cable box, can be same as pvr/linuxmce.) in the drop down menu choose live tv and the connection you used to plug it in with.  For me it was the same input that i hooked dvi-hdmi into for my media director.  Once i picked this input for my live tv i was able to set another for direct tv and wah-lah, im able to record and watch tv at the same time with one pvr switching inputs (not sure if thats how your supposed to do it but mine looks better when switching to live).  Make sure things are set right in the connection wizard, i also noticed that you must quick reload every time you change one of these things in order to see the changes completely(also connection wizard doesn't work as well for initial setup, setup wizard works perfectly for main connections then the connection wizard is handy for tweaking).  Feel free to pm me if  you can't figure it out, get ready for alot of fiddling, it's worth it though, 5 buttons does everything and technically your not lazy just lucky and smart enough some crazy smart person made it.  :)


Crumble

jimmejames

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Need some help with channel change on cable box
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2009, 05:02:50 am »
What am I missing? 

I have my cable box connected and it is controlled by my USB-UIRT.  By pressing F4 (or F6, can't remember) on my keyboard it brings up the EPG from Schedules Direct and I can use the keyboard, mouse or Gyration remote to select the channel I want to watch.  Everything is great- it tunes to the channel I select on my cable box from ANY MD in the house.  Amazing.

I can also use the skip forward or skip back buttons on my gyration remote to go up or back 1 channel at a time.  Also great.

What I can't figure out is how to tell the cable box what channel to tune to using my keyboard.  For example, if I want to watch USA I would like to be able to type in 027 or even just 27 and hit enter to go to channel 27.  Eventually I would like to get the gyration remote to do this (but I think I can follow this:  http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Gyration_MCE_RF_Remote) but I'll get there later.

So, anyone know how to control mythtv using the keyboard?  (BTW, I tried putting /usr/pluto/bin/TuneToChannel.sh 1 75 from here: http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/TuneToChannel.sh) and after adding that I couldn't start mythtv.

* Update:  Kudos to Glasswalker.  His alternate config here:  http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Gyration_MCE_RF_Remote   works great.  I too had to modify the volume like Seth....  now to get the keyboard working.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2009, 02:53:58 pm by jimmejames »

rwilson131

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Need some help with channel change on cable box
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2009, 07:41:41 pm »
/usr/pluto/bin/TuneToChannel.sh 1 75 is likely wrong

The wiki explains this:  /usr/pluto/bin/TuneToChannel.sh [device id] [video source id]
[device id] is the device that needs to be changed, ie cable box not the USB-UIRT
[video source id] is the source associated with a list of channels available on this device

may guess is the numbers above are reversed.  ie 75 1 





jimmejames

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Need some help with channel change on cable box
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2009, 08:30:26 pm »
Oops- you're right, late night typo.

As it turns out, I don't need that, I don't think.  I am able to control the channels without that in MythTV.  I think that I need to add a keyboard as an interface that can control the USB-UIRT.  The reason I think this, is that without making any modifications to the mythtv setup (I only simply plugged in the gyration remote and adding the commands listed here (http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Gyration_MCE_RF_Remote)) I was able to control the channels using the remote.  That is to say that I can press "5" "0" "0" and the cable box will tune to channel "500".  There is about a 3 second delay from the last button press to changing the channel- tiny amount of time in my estimation we'll see about the WAF. 

The current setup is, really, better than with a keyboard as that she's not going to be happy having to have a keyboard on the coffee table.  Now with something like this, other the other hand:  http://i.gizmodo.com/5147052/athena-sofa-is-the-most-comfy-pc-ever

jimmejames

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Need some help with channel change on cable box
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2009, 09:03:14 am »
Maybe I did have it wrong...  I retried the "/usr/pluto/bin/TuneToChannel.sh 75 1" and now the keyboard works.

Thanks rwilson131