Author Topic: Dual graphic cards?  (Read 2526 times)

lindhardt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Dual graphic cards?
« on: January 29, 2009, 09:15:52 pm »
I've tried to install the 710 version of linuxMCE, but I got a problem since I have 2 graphics cards.

1. an on board that does not have a video out for TV
2. a PCI Readeon 2400 pro that does have video out + HDMI, but mce only recognize the on board card, what do I do?
 

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2009, 09:20:42 pm »
Get compatible Hardware thats what you could do.


Or struggle with drivers

You should disable on board video

then look here
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers

HTH


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 09:23:03 pm »
What he said, and change the "BusID" in xorg.conf as described on that wiki page.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


lindhardt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2009, 09:28:42 pm »
I still don't know what the problem is, what you say may soulve the issue, but I'm using fedora with Gnome/Xorg and it has no problems detecting mulitiple display cards... I think that mce should support choosing display card...

By the way I set the PCI card to be boot card but MCE choose to change to on board, it took me some time to figure out that that was the reason a didn't see anything on my TV.... REAL BUMMER :-(

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2009, 09:32:30 pm »
I still don't know what the problem is, what you say may soulve the issue, but I'm using fedora with Gnome/Xorg and it has no problems detecting mulitiple display cards... I think that mce should support choosing display card...


We gladly accept patches.

My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2009, 09:32:42 pm »
we accept patches.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

lindhardt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2009, 09:33:13 pm »
Get compatible Hardware thats what you could do.


Or struggle with drivers

You should disable on board video

then look here
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers

HTH


Tim
You just get your act together... I don't care about about compatible hardware....... The idea about Linux is that it should be for everyone if you need to buy expensive hardware you can just as well buy Windown MCE..... Fu...er
  PS.: Don't care if I get banned for the last remark..... ;-)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2009, 09:35:17 pm »
[ ] you have understood what this system is about
  • you seem to have not understood what this system is about


much fun,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2009, 09:36:31 pm »
Hari - can you please lock this thread? Its a pointless waste of time.

lindhardt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2009, 09:36:46 pm »
I still don't know what the problem is, what you say may soulve the issue, but I'm using fedora with Gnome/Xorg and it has no problems detecting mulitiple display cards... I think that mce should support choosing display card...


We gladly accept patches.


I do not have a patch and I don't need one. What I'm saying is that when the A/V-Wizzard starts there is no way to change display card even if you have more than one, but when you start Xorg in fedora I see all my cards... Why?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2009, 09:38:47 pm »
because fedora is more advanced than our system in that regard. We have strenghts in other fields.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2009, 09:41:53 pm »
Linhardt, please understand, that this system has a specific purpose.

The Core machine is meant to be a primary server for the entire house, as such, double displays is not a priority, and will never be.

Also, any media directors, will only have a single display as well.. again, double displays not a priority.

If you want dual displays, either:

(a) wait
(b) send us a patch.
(c) shut the fuck up.

-Thom

lindhardt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2009, 09:45:02 pm »
Sorry Hari, who ever you are... I Didn't intend to offend anybody, but right now I get pissed that people think I'm a dope just because I can't get the MCE to work.... I don't have a lot of money to spend on harware having 2 kids so i tried to make use of what I have, nut that doesn't fly so I tried to look for help... I known one of my fiends has simular problems, where should we seek help if not here?????

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2009, 09:47:19 pm »
Sorry Hari, who ever you are... I Didn't intend to offend anybody, but right now I get pissed that people think I'm a dope just because I can't get the MCE to work.... I don't have a lot of money to spend on harware having 2 kids so i tried to make use of what I have, nut that doesn't fly so I tried to look for help... I known one of my fiends has simular problems, where should we seek help if not here?????
you did not offend me. Multi display support would be nice. It is just not our focus at the moment. So either you deactivate a card or do as in the instructions given by previous posts or miss the nice features of LMCE in other areas like home automation.

But be aware that this all is luxury. Better feed your family first :-)

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

lindhardt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Dual graphic cards?
« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2009, 09:48:52 pm »
Linhardt, please understand, that this system has a specific purpose.

The Core machine is meant to be a primary server for the entire house, as such, double displays is not a priority, and will never be.

Also, any media directors, will only have a single display as well.. again, double displays not a priority.

If you want dual displays, either:

(a) wait
(b) send us a patch.
(c) shut the fuck up.

-Thom


One.. I don't like your language... Is this not a media center edition of linux that sgould be able of run together with a TV?