Author Topic: UI2 Alpha Blending  (Read 1610 times)

widescreen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
UI2 Alpha Blending
« on: January 29, 2009, 07:49:16 pm »
Hello,
Is it possible for one to create a UI that will allow a user to watch TV, Movie, play audio etc. without having to exist myth tv/xine player to turn on the lights, arm the alarm, answer the onscreen phone?  The alpha transparency is aesthetically beautiful, but not useful if one must exit the current activity to complete another task such as turning on the lights or viewing cameras.  Can the transparent floor plans for lighting, media, security etc be transposed over media such as myth tv programming?  I know of the other option which is a orbiter, but i do enjoy using the UI3.  thus, my questions whether or not it is already possible or is it even possible to make using tschak's UI tutorial?

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: UI2 Alpha Blending
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2009, 08:17:13 pm »
There is no such thing as UI3 .


I am not sure what you mean, i can  watch a dvd and turn light off while watching using ui2 menu


I am missing something?


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

widescreen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: UI2 Alpha Blending
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 08:37:13 pm »
Sorry, what i was referring to was UI2 with alpha blending.  Please tell me how you accomplished watching a video file or myth tv and used a gyro remote to bring up the menu in order to control the lighting or use the telecom/alarm feature? thanks  :-\

widescreen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: UI2 Alpha Blending
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2009, 08:40:05 pm »
does the menu/floorplan come up over the movie or tv show while watching?

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: UI2 Alpha Blending
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2009, 08:43:38 pm »
? ? ? ? have you even tried?! Just hit menu and do whatever you want - it has no effect on what is playing, that is kind of the point of LMCE. Moreover, that is the on-screen Orbiter overlayed on top, you don't even have to use that orbiter, you can control all those other features from any orbiter not even on that screen so it doesn't even obscure your view. eg. on a mobile phone, PDA, PC, web pad, or on a completely different Media Director....

widescreen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: UI2 Alpha Blending
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2009, 08:54:32 pm »
My apologies for my lack of understanding. I just started using he system and have been using a ati remote that came with my ati video card. The only things that work on the remote when working with linuxmce are the mouse and the left/right click buttons on the the remote.  I just wanted to know that there is a remote or a way that will bring up the orbiter menu before i went any further with the sytem. hope i didn't sound as if i was complaining because i do rather enjoy using linuxmce thus far. ;D

itsmeok

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: UI2 Alpha Blending
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2009, 08:59:04 pm »
I think I understand your question. While playing a movie or other media you can get the menu back with the F7 key. Use F6 and F8 for other use. I thought F6 will give you the option to set the lights and sound. If you want to have these functions through you gyro mouse you need to create a function for this on the additional buttons of you mouse. Which type do you have ?

See wiki: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Use_Additional_Mouse_Buttons

Please come back to it if you have it working as I am still trying to accomplish the same with a logitech MX AIR. See other post

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=7280.0

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: UI2 Alpha Blending
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2009, 09:01:35 pm »
I wonder why people go through so much trouble when a standard mce remote works oob



Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

freymann

  • Douchebag
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
Re: UI2 Alpha Blending
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2009, 09:03:46 pm »
My apologies for my lack of understanding. I just started using he system and have been using a ati remote that came with my ati video card. The only things that work on the remote when working with linuxmce are the mouse and the left/right click buttons on the the remote.  I just wanted to know that there is a remote or a way that will bring up the orbiter menu before i went any further with the sytem. hope i didn't sound as if i was complaining because i do rather enjoy using linuxmce thus far. ;D

You likely need a better supported remote.

You can use keyboard commands to bring up the menu... F7 should get you started, where F6 and F8 look after other items.

A 'normal' gyro mouse simply requires pressing a button (same as F7 on the keyboard) to access control of LMCE, overtop of whatever is going on.

Some wiki links to read up on:

Control LinuxMCE with Gyro Remote
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Control_LinuxMCE_with_Gyro_Remote

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Category:Tutorials

Using the Gyration Remote GYR3101US (Non-Fiire Chief)
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Using_the_Gyration_Remote_GYR3101US_(Non-Fiire_Chief)

Windows MCE Remotes
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Windows_MCE_Remote


colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: UI2 Alpha Blending
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2009, 09:17:48 pm »
Yes, get a much better remote! Ideally a LMCE remote would have a Media button, Menu button and Vol/Light/Env button, these map directly to F6, F7 & F8 in that order and work in the same way. Use your keyboard for now... but getting an "air" mouse and mapping extra buttons, an MCE remote or better yet a Fiire remote. The WebDT366 web pad is the Rolls Royce solution! And you can use PDAs, PCs, mobile phones, etc

widescreen

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: UI2 Alpha Blending
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2009, 09:25:10 pm »
I just want to thank everybody who took the time to respond.  I appreciate all the information supplied as they were all very helpful. Thank You  ;D