Author Topic: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2  (Read 2204 times)

pflegefall

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
"not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« on: January 27, 2009, 10:54:24 pm »
Hello,
I've got problems with the above described configuration...
Everytime I Select TV, I get the following message:
"I cannot play this media. Perhaps there is not a valid device in this entertainment area capable of playing it..."

I set up my LinuxMCE 710 from single sided DVD...
Installed WinTV Nova HD S2 card with drivers... <- works
Searched for channels... <- works
add the channel list with the admin webpage to the vdr configuration <- works
setup the remote control... <- works
VDR starts and I can browse the EPG in VDRAdmin Webpage...

Can anybody help me?
I think I'm close to the goal...

Thanks
christian


posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3049
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2009, 10:58:06 pm »
Did you follow the configuration settings in http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/VDR_Manual_Install

pflegefall

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 12:05:17 am »
thank you for the fast answer ;-)

Yes I follow the supposed howto...

I just checked the /var/lib/vdr/setup.conf and found that it is overwritten everytime I stop the vdr process...

more precise:
1. I stop the vdr by /etc/init.d/vdr stop
2. I edit /var/lib/vdr/setup.conf with vi as described in the howto
3. I start the vdr by /etc/init.d/vdr start

now it doest work as before, but the changes in the setup.conf are still there

4. I stop the vdr again as above...

now the changes in the setup.conf are gone :-(
« Last Edit: January 28, 2009, 12:10:07 am by pflegefall »

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3049
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 10:48:28 am »
You have to stop VDR before making changes, as I think is mentioned in that article. VDR writes out the setup.conf at closing time.

Did you add the relevant plugins, i.e. xineliboutput and streamdev-server/-client

pflegefall

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2009, 11:23:41 am »
Yes I stopped the VDR befor I made the changes...
Then I started it to see whether the changes make a difference...
But when I stop VDR again after testing... The changes are gone
(like described above)

how can I check if the relevant plugins are correctly installed and whether they are running?

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3049
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2009, 12:02:18 am »
When you restart VDR manually, ie.
Code: [Select]
/etc/init.d/vdr start
it will show you all the installed plugins.

pflegefall

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2009, 12:31:46 am »
ahhh ;-)
sure

ok...

Searching for lugins (VDR1.6.0-1/1.6.0) (cache hit): stremdev-server control xineliboutput.

... is the output.

so i think every thing is ok there...

perhaps its a bad question... but i installed from dvd singlesided version 710...
I didn't care about core/md setup because i didnt know anything...

does this dvd install a hybrid automatically???
oder do i have core only and this is my problem?

greetings
Christian

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2009, 12:43:02 am »
The DVD is not a real installer but just dumps an image of a hybrid on the drive and configures it a bit.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


pflegefall

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2009, 12:49:08 am »
ok... so this is not my problem i think...
but what do i have to put in the setup.conf of vdr in this case...
both?? core and md lines???

so i tried all possibilities and i think there have to be both lines..

but the problem is that the config file is overwritten when i stop the vdr as described above ;-)
i dont understand that

wow... client missing... trying again...
« Last Edit: January 29, 2009, 01:30:22 am by pflegefall »

pflegefall

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2009, 01:51:10 am »
ok... update... this plugins are installed: checked

streamdev-server
streamdev-client
control
xineliboutput

the problem sure is connected to the disapperance of the changes in the setup.conf

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3049
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2009, 03:56:13 pm »
pflegefall,

no idea, why your setup.conf gets overwritten :(

sorry

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2009, 05:06:42 pm »
ok... update... this plugins are installed: checked

streamdev-server
streamdev-client
control
xineliboutput

the problem sure is connected to the disapperance of the changes in the setup.conf

You need to stop vdr before making any changes to channels.conf or setup.conf;

Code: [Select]
/etc/init.d/vdr stop<return>

Now vdr has been stopped you can make the changes you need to make... then restart vdr as follows;

Code: [Select]
/etc/init.d/vdr start<return>

Now your changes to channels.conf & setup.conf will be retianed and used by vdr

All the best

Andrew


Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2009, 07:38:57 pm »
And you can make sure it is stopped (or running) with:
Code: [Select]
/etc/init.d/vdr status
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


pflegefall

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2009, 01:54:02 am »
ok.... now it runs....

I wasn't able to fix the problem... so I decided to try it the microsoft way...

complete new installation Linux MCE 710 from DVD....
But now I installed the drivers of the dvb-card before I installed VDR....

I don't know if this was the trick but now everything works....

Thanks to all your suggestions...

dlewis

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
Re: "not a valid device" LinuxMCE 710, VDR, WinTV Nova HD S2
« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2009, 04:40:34 am »
ok.... now it runs....

I wasn't able to fix the problem... so I decided to try it the microsoft way...

complete new installation Linux MCE 710 from DVD....
But now I installed the drivers of the dvb-card before I installed VDR....

I don't know if this was the trick but now everything works....

Thanks to all your suggestions...

Could you please create a wiki page for this? Thanks!