Author Topic: Using additional button on Logitec MX Air (is this solution fine with LMCE ?)  (Read 2311 times)

itsmeok

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Is there anyone who wants to support me on getting the F6, F7 and F8 button configured on a logitec MX Air mouse. It works out of the box with some of the buttons. Am using 7.10 RC2

I wanted to programm additional buttons as described on the wiki:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Use_Additional_Mouse_Buttons#Result

I checked with XEV application and it recognised until button 5. I changed the procedure to use B:2 B:4 and B:5 (last two are the scroll buttons)

I have done the troubleshooting instructions to see if that would help but no success

Can someone who has it working check the procedure if it is correct ?

The thing that suprised me was that with using the following instruction I created an new file. Is that correct ?
sudo nano -w /etc/apt/sources.list

In the wiki on the logitec MX AIR page there is a link to the following website http://www.hidpoint.com/ for a driver. I am a bit reluctant to install this as the demo does not show that you can program the additional buttons for the function keys.

Any ideas ?

Does changing xorg.conf do anything on my installation or is another config file used ? I have a configuration for the mouse from someone else with the same mouse. Changing that in xorg.conf is not doing anything on my system.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2009, 12:03:11 am by itsmeok »

itsmeok

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Using additional button on Logitec MX Air (Help Wanted)
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2009, 04:36:59 pm »
changed question and additional info:

In the procedure you have to update the sources.list file. It was not in the mentioned directory. I found the file in another directory. Is this correct ?
/etc/debtags/sources.list
« Last Edit: January 27, 2009, 04:44:00 pm by itsmeok »

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Using additional button on Logitec MX Air (Help Wanted)
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 12:40:45 am »
changed question and additional info:

In the procedure you have to update the sources.list file. It was not in the mentioned directory. I found the file in another directory. Is this correct ?
/etc/debtags/sources.list

No it isn't.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


itsmeok

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Not sure what you are meaning. The file on my system was not there. There was a file named like that on another place. I have installed using the standard LinuxMCE 7.10 RC2 DVD. I wonder what is going wrong then and why the file was not there ?


colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
/etc/apt/sources.list is correct, don't change anything else....

yes it is there on your system, look again.. if it isn't then you must have screwed up your install somehow.

itsmeok

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Well, what I will do this weekend I will reinstall from scratch again. Will look again afterwards and update. Thanks for your support.


itsmeok

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: Using additional button on Logitec MX Air
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2009, 12:02:34 am »
Before I did the reinstall in thought why not try with BTNX for using additional buttons. No issues if I mess up my system. Am I getting myself into trouble by using BTNX ?

I have F6, F7 and F8 working now on my buttons.

If not I will document my instructions on the wiki

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Thanks for your hard work. :)

Could someone Please look into doing a device template, as well as doing any package work so that the rest of us can have this as plug and play.

-Thom

itsmeok

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Is it difficult to create device templates. I am willing to help but will need some guiding from a specialist.

Send me a msg if I can help

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Using additional button on Logitec MX Air
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2009, 01:13:56 pm »
Before I did the reinstall in thought why not try with BTNX for using additional buttons. No issues if I mess up my system. Am I getting myself into trouble by using BTNX ?

I have F6, F7 and F8 working now on my buttons.

If not I will document my instructions on the wiki

What's BTNX? (its late, couldn't be bothered wikipedia'ing it!)

itsmeok

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Well it is a piece of software. See the page for the Logitec MX AIR that I eddited:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Logitech_MX_Air

Or look on the webpage:

http://www.ollisalonen.com/btnx/

Let me know if using this troubles my LinuxMCE installation

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
I see.

So what Thom is saying is, if you create a new device template for this device it will make the process automatic for others. Basically, I think this is the way it works.

1. Create a pnp script - this is responsible for detecting when that specific mouse is plugged in - I'm thinking that using an "lsusb" with a grep for the manufacturer:product IDs would be one way of doing this. Then you use MessageSend to send a DCE message to the router telling it that you successfully identified the device, and what its device template number is.

2. Create a device template with this template number, and configure it to install and configure the software BTNX

Not sure how the process kicks off, but I assume that when linux detects a new USB device being attached, LMCE hooks into this somehow and triggers its own pnp system. This then runs any associated pnp scripts for that connectivity (USB), one of which successfully detects its device and sends a message to the router telling it to add that device to the system. The process of adding the device kicks off the package installation and configuration that you have configured within that device template. The upshot is, you plug in one of those mice and LMCE will automatically detect it, install the BTNX software and configure it for you.

itsmeok

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Well, I am willing to help but half you are saying I am not familiar with. I would need a lot of guidance, but for sure I want to help and test this.

Let me know if you have time for doing this together.



colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
thom - do you know if there is a step by step guide for creating a new device template? They are quiet complex, and each category has very different fields. It isn't at all clear which fields do what, and which ones need to be configured, what they do etc.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
all the info we have on creating device templates is in the wiki, do a search for device template.

-Thom