Author Topic: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)  (Read 2285 times)

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« on: January 23, 2009, 05:11:39 am »
Has anybody set up LMCE with VDR using both a DVB-T and DVB-S source (and 2 tuner cards of course, one for each standard)?

Does it handle this well? How does it arrange the channel numbers and merge the EPGs?

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2009, 04:44:55 pm »
Not yet, but I'm  working on it, (slowly though).
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2009, 10:37:57 pm »
What does it currently do? Presumably it is just the interface and EPG in LMCE that has the issue, not VDR itself?

I'm surprised that Andrew's team haven't been interested in this - do they not provide satellite solutions as well?

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2009, 10:13:46 pm »
Well I'm not that far yet, but I expect that I'll have to merge the two channels.conf files, and that the order the channels are listed in there will determine the arrangement of the channels.  It is probably going to take me at least a few weeks to get everything setup for satellite though.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2974
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2009, 09:03:56 am »
What does it currently do? Presumably it is just the interface and EPG in LMCE that has the issue, not VDR itself?

I'm surprised that Andrew's team haven't been interested in this - do they not provide satellite solutions as well?

Most people seem to be content with a single reception type, i.e. DVB-S or DVB-T.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4412
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2009, 11:23:46 am »
Well I'm not that far yet, but I expect that I'll have to merge the two channels.conf files, and that the order the channels are listed in there will determine the arrangement of the channels.  It is probably going to take me at least a few weeks to get everything setup for satellite though.

Intermixing DVB-T/DVB-S/DVB-C is as you say just a matter of merging the channel entries into channels.conf

We have intermixed DVB-T/DVB-S and it is really transparent to the user in use. No actuall changes are needed to vdr as it is already ready to do this - indeed many people who use vdr in Europe have been using vdr in this fashion for years.

We are just about to start some tests of DVB-S HD here and will report back on how that goes shortly.

All the best

Andrew

Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2009, 02:04:05 pm »
zaerc/possy/andrew - cool, thanks!

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2009, 03:32:31 pm »
I would love to have DVB-C + DVB-C HD + DVB-S + DVB-S2 and be able to have the cards where they have access....

My problem now, is that my Core is located in my Office, where I have Cable access, but not Sattelite. The reception of Cable is poor in that room. In my livingroom I have the first Cable access and the reception is perfect.

I am not sure why my Core hardlocks every 6-8 hours with the DVB-C card installed, it might be the reception. The strange thing is that it never locks up before 6 hours, and never last longer than 8 hours... A reboot resets the "timer".

Now I just Dualboot the LivingRoom MD with XP, and use both DVB-C with HD channels and DVB-S + S2.

If anyone have any tips on how to solve or debug this, please tell...

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2974
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2009, 05:04:28 pm »
See, if opening the case, and/or adding fans helps.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2009, 10:15:45 pm »
run a couple of tops on a remote machine and sort them so you can see the process consuming most physical and virtual memory at the top. take a look when it freezes just to be sure that something isn't leaking and sucking up all the memory. also, can a look at the old syslog type logs after the reboot to see if there are any clues. sounds very regular, but as possy says, its most likely heat, I guess

indulis

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: VDR and multiple sources (ie DVB-T and DVB-S)
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2009, 05:06:00 am »
I am not sure why my Core hardlocks every 6-8 hours with the DVB-C card installed, it might be the reception. The strange thing is that it never locks up before 6 hours, and never last longer than 8 hours... A reboot resets the "timer".

Now I just Dualboot the LivingRoom MD with XP, and use both DVB-C with HD channels and DVB-S + S2.

If anyone have any tips on how to solve or debug this, please tell...

If your system comes right back up after reboot and does not then crash quickly I think it is pretty unlikely to be heat, though checking using fans and opening the case is a an easy way to make sure it isn't.

I was having lockups because the USB driver in the kernel in LMCE 710 is known to have bugs in it.  This was the USB hub built onto my DVB-T card (Dvico Fusion HDTV Dual Digital 4). 

I eventually built a new kernel (2.6.27.10 I think- away from server now, but don't go to 2.6.28), compiled the latest V4L device drivers for my DVB-T card from the LinuxTV site , compiled the LIRC modules I needed, and it has been solid as a rock since then. 

I did have another problem which would cause unreliable booting but that turned out to be a corrupted table that was crashing mysql during its "check" phase during reboot, and disconnecting LMCE and Mythtv processes randomly from Mysql.

What motherboard do you have?  Also it might be worth a trawl through the mail archives from LinuxTV.org to see if any of your DVB cards have known problems.  Updating your DVB drivers using the instructions at http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/How_to_build_from_Mercurial is not too hard.