Author Topic: Enableing Remote Assistance  (Read 1548 times)

paddyboy73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Enableing Remote Assistance
« on: January 13, 2009, 03:59:58 am »
Hopeing for some help. I am trying to enable remote assistance on my core server. I went to the Web Admin -> security -> outside access. I checked the boxes for port 80 and set up access for port 3080...I haven't checked the port 22 box. Once I click update, the screen refreshes and shows that the remote assistance boxes have changed. Once I click on "enable", the system just hangs there. I've tried it from the orbiter menu, same thing. I tried it from the KDE desktop, same thing. Has any one seen this. I have tight VNC and puTTY, neither of them work. I think its two separate issues.

System:
Abit AN-M2HD m.b.
AMD athalon 64 processor
2 GB ram
320 GB SATA
Sony DVD rw
Hoppauge HVR-1800
Gig Eth card
USB UIRT
Fiire Remote

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Enableing Remote Assistance
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 04:15:00 am »
Remote assistance is currently not working.
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Enableing Remote Assistance
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 04:29:46 am »
Remote assistance is a special form of SSH and Web access that is facilitated by port forwarding via SSH to one of our remote access servers.

However, due to the fact that our remote access servers are not currently up, this feature is currently down.

-Thom

greenhornet

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Enableing Remote Assistance
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 04:17:36 pm »
I have noticed that VNC on the Kubuntu side will sometimes reject connections.  What's the recommended way of allowing remote access to a core/hybrid?

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: Enableing Remote Assistance
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2009, 04:21:44 pm »
I just go to KDE, Internet, Desktop Sharing on the core, and use any VNC program on my laptop. It always connects with no issues and is actually a very smooth responsive connection. The only downside I see is that from the core you have to accept the connection, then you have to put the password that the core gives you into your other pc. Not a huge deal, but it means that I have to sit in my closet and have a monitor hooked up to my core to get the connection established.
I am sure there is some setting that lets you just dial in remotely (without having to accept or use a password), but I havent messed with it yet to find out.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Enableing Remote Assistance
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2009, 05:41:41 pm »
I have noticed that VNC on the Kubuntu side will sometimes reject connections.  What's the recommended way of allowing remote access to a core/hybrid?
To name a few: reboot as a diskless Media Director, ssh (for scp/sftp and tunneling too), web-admin, web-orbiter, NFS, samba (windows shares), so take your pick depending on what exactly you want to do.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


greenhornet

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Enableing Remote Assistance
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2009, 08:26:02 pm »
Specifically, I need to see the screen of the core/hybrid for troubleshooting call placement and using the dial pad.  SSH, diskless, etc, won't get that done.  Only some sort of screen sharing util.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Enableing Remote Assistance
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2009, 08:29:09 pm »
Specifically, I need to see the screen of the core/hybrid for troubleshooting call placement and using the dial pad.  SSH, diskless, etc, won't get that done.  Only some sort of screen sharing util.
I have no idea what "troubleshooting call placement and using the dial pad" even means.  But if you can do it from the orbiter, you can most likely do it from a diskless MD just as well.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2925
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Enableing Remote Assistance
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2009, 11:12:16 am »
Specifically, I need to see the screen of the core/hybrid for troubleshooting call placement and using the dial pad.  SSH, diskless, etc, won't get that done.  Only some sort of screen sharing util.

Am I correct in assuming that you want to do some troubleshooting on your core?
You have a problem with call placement
You have a problem with using the dialpad

I remotely test all those things at a friends installation using the web orbiter. It works very nice. Of course, you can only use UI1, but it works nicely.

I hope, I did understand what you really want. If not, please feel free to detail it again.

rgds
Oliver

chrisbirkinshaw

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
    • View Profile
Re: Enableing Remote Assistance
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2009, 08:05:36 pm »
You could ssh into your box and if you forward the correct ports you can use the full blown windows orbiter. I have found the web orbiter to be a little frustrating sometimes.

Regards,

chris