Author Topic: Need HELP badly!!!  (Read 1553 times)

Kernellinux

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Need HELP badly!!!
« on: December 12, 2008, 11:15:11 pm »
Okay I was just going through some reciepits, I started trying to get Linux MCE to work back in July.

Motheraboard #1. ASUS P5N-MX

          it installed okay and then hung up after a few days. I posted and people said "alot of us have no stablity problems, must be your mb." so we bought mb #2 from a reccomendatino from the wiki.

Motherboard #2  Asus P5N-E-SLI
           that installed okay but again 2 days, and oops there goes Linux MCE again down and have to restart to get it to come back up. Once again I think okay must be my MB, so I post here and I get a response that says "Here's the uptime from our demo machine it's been on forever" natrually my questino is well what motherbarod is that, the reply was something to the effect (and i"m paraphrasing) "We had those specifically designed for us you can't really BUY them.". so oh well onto motherbaord 3 which since that guy used and MSI I figured I'd give them a try.

Motherboard #3 MSI K9N2GM
          This time we went down the latter, that didn't even install

Motherboard #4 MSI Media Live again from the wiki someone said it worked no problem
          that mb came in the mail today, installed it and it wouldn't install either.




So now somewhere between 500 - 800 dollars in I'm asking yet again, is there anyone, anywhere, for ANY amount of money, that can recommend a motherboard, (THAT I CAN PURCHASE FROM www.newegg.com) that I can install in my computer, put the Linux MCE 0710 disk in, install it, and use it for more than 2 days? Does such a motherboard exist? I really do appreciate everyon'es help but I think I'm at the end of my rope, I DO have patients, but I feel this is a little bit ridiculous. As I've said before, if I am going to buy a motherboard that will be ONLY for linux MCE then I want it to work OUT OF THE BOX, I should be able to send my grandma downstairs to install the thing. I've got to believe someone out there has a setup that works, would you PLEASE be kind enough to share the model number?.

jimmejames

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2008, 11:59:29 pm »
I bought a M3A78-EM from newegg:   http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131324   and it has worked flawlessly once I installed the 32b version of 710-  wiki file here:  http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ASUS_M3A78-EM

I have had no reboots/restarts/lockups/whatever.

Have you considered it could be something else?  Bad memory/cpu?  If all you're doing is changing the motherboard but keeping the rest the same, maybe the motherboard is not the issue.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2008, 12:03:25 am by jimmejames »

freymann

  • Douchebag
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2008, 12:41:32 am »
Have you considered it could be something else?  Bad memory/cpu?  If all you're doing is changing the motherboard but keeping the rest the same, maybe the motherboard is not the issue.

I'm with jimmejames. It's time to look at what you're putting those motherboards into..

Check your power supply.. CPU, RAM and are you using on-board video and network?

Are you setting this up with two network cards??

I know where you're coming from, believe me!


sp00nhead

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2008, 12:59:00 am »
From the sounds of it the mobo isn't the issue. i have a msi media live here, been in use for ~
 a week non stop, worked straight from box(following wiki)
I'd say bad ram, but you'll need to run some looping ramtests to check that .

Kernellinux

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2008, 05:59:54 am »
First, thank you so much for your responses

secondly, I have considered it could be something else, but what, the proc is new evertime so I can use the mobos for something else. I suppose I have used the RAM in two of the mobos, the CD/DVD rom is an LG I doubt that has much to do with it, the HD is a Western Digitial 500gb again I don't "THINK" thats the prob.

To the poster that has an MSI motherboard, when i went to install it it booted up to a prompt and then nadda, is that what you got as well, or did yours install normally?

Thank you again to everyone that is posting, I get so frustrated sometimes, but I would rather spend 5000 dollars and own a media center that is based in linux than take the easy way out and settle for microsoft, and their penny pinching ways.

sp00nhead

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2008, 11:17:25 am »
i just poped the 0710 rc2 dvd in my machine and let it do its thing. I'm using the MSI media live barebones machine, but the motherborad is the same chipset as the standalone msi media board.

How are you connecting a screen to your machine? I set mine up with a standard vga cable .
Have you tried to re-burn the install CD/DVD (use the dvd so much eaiser)
Check the MD5 hash of your download to check its OK and burn at a slower speed.

Just to be clear, on the first 2 boards you got the system installed and running?

freymann

  • Douchebag
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2008, 02:40:29 pm »
To the poster that has an MSI motherboard, when i went to install it it booted up to a prompt and then nadda, is that what you got as well, or did yours install normally?

and says nada? at what point in the boot process is it doing this?

You never described what video and network hardware you are using. You also never said if you were using two network cards. These items are very important.


Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2008, 07:45:57 pm »
Sounds to me that we have another person here that can't build a decent PC.

All the clues we're getting from you are: "then hung up after a few days", "oops there goes Linux MCE again down and have to restart to get it to come back up", "that didn't even install" and "it wouldn't install either". 

When asking for help, try at least describing the hardware, the things you tried and the problems you have encountered in detail
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Kernellinux

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2008, 08:22:12 pm »
My apologies for not be 'detailed' enough. As far as the "can't build a decent pc" I have 9 that I am using that I built (I'd be willing to send you a picture if you don't believe me) and they all run just fine and dandy thank you very much. Secondly, when I installed RHEL or Windows XP on the first two machines (never did try the second two) those both ran, as the matter of fact due to frustration I gave Sage TV a try and it ran for 2 months without any problems.

1. When I installed the first to MB, they DID install and boot up just fine. I had originally started with two NIC, but I have since unplugged ALL network cables to the ENTIRE system for the purpose of troubleshooting problems. I stand corrected if I'm wrong, but my assumption was that if the network was not plugged in, then there would be one less thing to crash.  The system I have now has 1 nic and it remains unplugged.

2. As to the what the prompt says. It's just a plain Linux prompt. I can run commands such as LS and HELP but that's it. The DVD is in the drive, it boots, then it asks to install Linux MCE, I press enter, the little blue Kubuntu ribbon plays ping pong left and right for a while, and then I get my prompt. On past installations this is immediately before it asks to partition the hard drives.

3. Stupid question maybe, but the new MB does say DIVA after it, is this still the same as the MSI Media Live bare bones kit?

4. The Video card is a Asus EN8400GS-SLI and the network card has always been the onboard NIC except for the first system which I don't remember, some PCI NIC I had laying around, as the second NIC
« Last Edit: December 13, 2008, 08:26:11 pm by Kernellinux »

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5498
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2008, 08:51:02 pm »
No, it's not the same MSI Media Live board, the DIVA is the replacement..and currently does not work out of the box with LinuxMCE.

-Thom

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2008, 12:18:52 pm »
Okay I was just going through some reciepits, I started trying to get Linux MCE to work back in July.

Motheraboard #1. ASUS P5N-MX

          it installed okay and then hung up after a few days. I posted and people said "alot of us have no stablity problems, must be your mb." so we bought mb #2 from a reccomendatino from the wiki.

Motherboard #2  Asus P5N-E-SLI
           that installed okay but again 2 days, and oops there goes Linux MCE again down and have to restart to get it to come back up. Once again I think okay must be my MB, so I post here and I get a response that says "Here's the uptime from our demo machine it's been on forever" natrually my questino is well what motherbarod is that, the reply was something to the effect (and i"m paraphrasing) "We had those specifically designed for us you can't really BUY them.". so oh well onto motherbaord 3 which since that guy used and MSI I figured I'd give them a try.

Motherboard #3 MSI K9N2GM
          This time we went down the latter, that didn't even install

Motherboard #4 MSI Media Live again from the wiki someone said it worked no problem
          that mb came in the mail today, installed it and it wouldn't install either.




So now somewhere between 500 - 800 dollars in I'm asking yet again, is there anyone, anywhere, for ANY amount of money, that can recommend a motherboard, (THAT I CAN PURCHASE FROM www.newegg.com) that I can install in my computer, put the Linux MCE 0710 disk in, install it, and use it for more than 2 days? Does such a motherboard exist? I really do appreciate everyon'es help but I think I'm at the end of my rope, I DO have patients, but I feel this is a little bit ridiculous. As I've said before, if I am going to buy a motherboard that will be ONLY for linux MCE then I want it to work OUT OF THE BOX, I should be able to send my grandma downstairs to install the thing. I've got to believe someone out there has a setup that works, would you PLEASE be kind enough to share the model number?.


Sorry to hear of your problems with the hardware you listed.

From memory the only piece of hardware we have experience with in your list is the MSI Media Live (we used to sell the whole Media Live system unit). We have shipped a large number of these and i can say with 100% certainty that we have never seen the problem you have experienced. The only failures we have seen are from a single customer who has experienced a couple of power supply failures.

As for having your Grandma install LinuxMCE... well I'm not sure we're quite there yet to be frank ;-) (no disrespect to your Grandma or Grandma's in general of course!)

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Need HELP badly!!!
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2008, 10:29:57 am »
The first place to troubleshooting any problem with installed system is /var/log/. Have a look into system and pluto logs. It might give you a good start point to solve your problem.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru