Author Topic: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter  (Read 13325 times)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« on: December 10, 2008, 10:46:09 pm »
Hi girls and guys,

if you want to try the PlutoMO (native, not Java) on a Symbian S60 3rd edition phone, you should read this post:

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=6858.msg42815#msg42815

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

MarcoZan

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2008, 12:24:25 am »
Hi Hari

I just installed the last version of your Symbian MO on my E65, and I can confirm that it is working. Picture does not fit the phone screen, but probably this is the sizing issue your were mentioning on your post.
Also in your demo video the menu appears to be not on full screen ... so basically it's ok.

I noticed that even with native MO I can't use the red button to stop media. If I press red button MO exits, and media keeps playing.

I get this behaviour also with JavaMO, and I thought that maybe java cannot catch all keypresses.

I suspect instead that this may have something to do with the phone design, because on this phone I installed also TomTom Navigator, and every time I press red button TomTom exits immediately ...

Again thanks for your effort.

Regards
Marco

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2008, 12:45:33 am »
Hi Hari

I just installed the last version of your Symbian MO on my E65, and I can confirm that it is working. Picture does not fit the phone screen, but probably this is the sizing issue your were mentioning on your post.
Also in your demo video the menu appears to be not on full screen ... so basically it's ok.

I noticed that even with native MO I can't use the red button to stop media. If I press red button MO exits, and media keeps playing.
there seems to be a change of the red button handling in the 3rd edition. Iirc this can be adjusted.

Quote
I get this behaviour also with JavaMO, and I thought that maybe java cannot catch all keypresses.
yes, this is a j2me limitation

Quote
I suspect instead that this may have something to do with the phone design, because on this phone I installed also TomTom Navigator, and every time I press red button TomTom exits immediately ...
yup

Quote
Again thanks for your effort.

you are welcome :-)

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2008, 02:10:07 am »
MarcoZan, what is the resolution of the E65?
br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2008, 08:37:39 am »
MarcoZan, what is the resolution of the E65?
br, Hari

240 x 320 pixels
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2008, 11:30:02 am »
ok, some bug fixes (e.g. now caches screens locally) and hard coded resolution to 240x320 (used by many phones): see attachement

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2008, 12:01:46 pm »
Hari, you're the best!!!
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2008, 10:14:54 am »
no, it is not me, it is _we_ :-)
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2008, 07:05:41 pm »
I've installed it on my N95 8gb, it installed without any errors. but trying to run it just brings up a gray square and nothing happenes ...

Am I doing something wrong ?

thnx
Itsik

MarcoZan

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2008, 07:06:30 pm »
Hi Hari

I'm sorry for not having replied to your question in a timely fashion ... these days I'm pretty busy at work.

I've dowloaded an installed your last version of MO, tonight when I get home I will test it and let you know.

Danke shöne

Marco

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2008, 07:52:19 pm »
tried to get it running on a Nokia N80. Installation went fine but after executing PlutoMO nothing happens...

appreciate any help
IF

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2008, 08:54:58 am »
tried to get it running on a Nokia N80. Installation went fine but after executing PlutoMO nothing happens...

appreciate any help
IF

The bluetooth should be on on your phone, bluetooth dongle should be recognized by core/MD. Check the BD and DCERouter logs under /var/log/pluto to find more info.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2008, 09:29:16 am »

The bluetooth should be on on your phone, bluetooth dongle should be recognized by core/MD. Check the BD and DCERouter logs under /var/log/pluto to find more info.

Everything was on and the phone and MD were paired, still just the gray square and nothing else ... (N95 8GB) ...

MarcoZan

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2008, 09:34:42 am »
Hi Hari

just a brief update about using last MO on my E65.

Display size is now correct, nevetheless I'm experiencing an issue when displaying media list. Basically all media titles are displayed in a microsopic char size, so they are unreadable.

Also in the main screen when I press the right button to change room a popup appears with some option to exit app.

Still facing issue with submenu (i.e they displayed somehow "shifted" by one position). This is the same issue I was facing also with javaMO so I suspect it has to do with my orbiter. Will try to delete and rebuild from scratch and let you know.

Since I mentioned it, after installing last version of MO on my E65 suddenly JavaMO stopped working. It basically starts but it shows me a blank screen, even if it accepts keystrokes and seems to react properly (i.e. if I press keys for a lighting scenario, the proper action is executed). Maybe it has something to do with the local caching?

Thanks again for your great job

Marco


hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Symbian S60 3rd edition Mobile Orbiter
« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2008, 11:18:57 am »
no, the problem is that even if the application exits, the sdp record stays on the phone. So the bluetooth_dongle finds the entry with channel 19 first and does not look further for the real javamo channel.. After a phone restart the JavaMO should work fine.

Regarding caching, that was already there, I just had to fix some paths.

I've also seen the "messed" buttons, where they seem to shift a position on the grid. I agree that this is prolly a bug in Bluetooth_Dongle as I've also seen it with JavaMO.

The unreadable fonts will be addressed next, I'm sure this should be a minor tweak.

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation