Author Topic: AV Wizard Failed to Setup X problem...  (Read 1002 times)

Penguin82

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
AV Wizard Failed to Setup X problem...
« on: December 10, 2008, 06:37:27 am »
Hi guys,

I'm very new to linux but i'm pretty excited about getting into it.

I've installed MCE from CDs and it all went pretty smoothly but I'm getting the "AVWizard Failed to setup X" error.

Now, in my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, the generic graphics card diver is already set to "versa" as described at newbielink:http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers#Legacy_Drivers [nonactive].

My card is a Nvidia GeForce4 MX4.

Any suggestions?

Cheers

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: AV Wizard Failed to Setup X problem...
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 02:08:42 pm »
Hi guys,

I'm very new to linux but i'm pretty excited about getting into it.

I've installed MCE from CDs and it all went pretty smoothly but I'm getting the "AVWizard Failed to setup X" error.

Now, in my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, the generic graphics card diver is already set to "versa" as described at http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers#Legacy_Drivers.

My card is a Nvidia GeForce4 MX4.

Any suggestions?

Cheers

In /etc/X11/xorg.conf change the display driver from 'vesa' to 'nvidia' then save the change and reboot... this may get up and working. If not and you dont mind spending some money I would strongly suggest you get yourself a supported nVidia video card ie 6200/7300/8300/9300 etc. See the Wiki for supported cards.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: AV Wizard Failed to Setup X problem...
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 06:57:55 pm »
There are three flavors of the proprietary nvidia drivers available currently, and that card is likely to need to have one of the older (legacy) nvidia drivers installed manually.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Penguin82

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: AV Wizard Failed to Setup X problem...
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2008, 11:42:36 pm »


In /etc/X11/xorg.conf change the display driver from 'vesa' to 'nvidia' then save the change and reboot... this may get up and working. If not and you dont mind spending some money I would strongly suggest you get yourself a supported nVidia video card ie 6200/7300/8300/9300 etc. See the Wiki for supported cards.

All the best

Andrew

Thanks Andrew, I'm totally happy to spend some money on a supported card. But I don't want to spend more than necessary. Which one would you recommend? Basically I'm only going to be the computer as a hybrid to play DVDs and avi's to a SD TV. The compuer also has a built in TV tuner which I might try to get working in LMCE when i'm more comfortable with the ins and outs.

Thanks again!

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: AV Wizard Failed to Setup X problem...
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2008, 09:16:35 pm »


In /etc/X11/xorg.conf change the display driver from 'vesa' to 'nvidia' then save the change and reboot... this may get up and working. If not and you dont mind spending some money I would strongly suggest you get yourself a supported nVidia video card ie 6200/7300/8300/9300 etc. See the Wiki for supported cards.

All the best

Andrew

Thanks Andrew, I'm totally happy to spend some money on a supported card. But I don't want to spend more than necessary. Which one would you recommend? Basically I'm only going to be the computer as a hybrid to play DVDs and avi's to a SD TV. The compuer also has a built in TV tuner which I might try to get working in LMCE when i'm more comfortable with the ins and outs.

Thanks again!

Well if your only looking at SD playback (as these cards will do HD resolutions) then a 6200 or 7300 class card with 256mb of onboard RAM is more than enough. So something like a 7300GT would be fine (is use one of these currently in my home hybrid).

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk