Author Topic: Asus eee video problem.  (Read 1572 times)

Dale_K

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Asus eee video problem.
« on: December 05, 2008, 05:09:59 pm »
Setting up Asus eee box and the AV Wizard comes up fine but when i choose 480p or 720p the screen is out of sync (like if you chose the wrong refresh rate on a computer monitor).  If I choose 1080p it comes up in 640x480 and I can only see the top left corner of the next screen (image is too big for the screen).  Only choosing 640x480 produces a useable picture, but obviously not the resolution I want to run.

I've tried different cables, two different TV's, deleting the MD and creating a new one, all with the same results.

Anybody got any ideas on this?

nosebreaker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
Re: Asus eee video problem.
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2008, 05:31:07 pm »
Are you plugging this into a regular NTSC TV?

Dale_K

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Asus eee video problem.
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2008, 06:51:39 pm »
Yes, two tv's a Sony 40" LCD and a Sharp Aquos 42" LCD, both same results.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Asus eee video problem.
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2008, 07:06:38 pm »
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Dale_K

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Asus eee video problem.
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2008, 07:38:59 pm »
OK, that post says that the intel drivers are up to date in 0710.  I'm not sure I'm understanding all of it, but when I look at the xorg.conf file for my MD it says "vesa" for the driver, should that be something else for the intel 9xxx driver?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Asus eee video problem.
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2008, 07:42:01 pm »
that should read "intel". There is a bug in the chipset detection scripts for some intel series.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Asus eee video problem.
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2008, 08:14:01 pm »
Also remember.

You must have the TV you want to use attached/connected and set to correct input during boot of the eee(box).
Otherwise the eee will reset to 640x480 and try to use internal LVDS which is not available to connect to anything.

As hari say.
Change vesa to intel and you are good to go.

You will also need to add a rule in xorg.conf that disable internal lvds.

/niz23

Dale_K

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Asus eee video problem.
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2008, 08:34:22 pm »

You will also need to add a rule in xorg.conf that disable internal lvds.

/niz23

Where can I find that rule and where in xorg.conf do I put it?

Sorry, I'm way out of my linux depth here.

nosebreaker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
Re: Asus eee video problem.
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2008, 08:36:08 pm »
It's probably some Option command that goes under the video card section.  Sorry I'm not much help here.

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Asus eee video problem.
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2008, 08:06:24 pm »
ok.

Here goes,

Excerpt from my xorg.conf for eeebox.

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier "LVDS"
        Option "Ignore" "True"
        Modeline        "1280x720" 74.250 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
        HorizSync       20-500
        VertRefresh     59-61
EndSection

/niz23