Author Topic: FreeNas, cant get ip from DHCP  (Read 5833 times)

alphapenguin

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
FreeNas, cant get ip from DHCP
« on: December 03, 2008, 05:10:42 am »
Anyone else have this issue? I cant seem to get my new freenas box I put together to talk to the core DHCP server. I have yet to try connecting it directly to a different router, which I dont think I should have to.

I have the free nas connected to a hub/switch which is connected to the core. I downloaded the newest version AMD64, and it installed onto a USB drive without a problem. I also tried running it directly off the CD. still nada.

Any ideas?

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: FreeNas, cant get ip from DHCP
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2008, 04:17:43 pm »
 ;)
Don't take offense to this, but did you use the FreeNAS configuration menu to enable DHCP on the NIC installed in your new box. I see to remember, now this was like almost a year ago now, having to enable that option.

Just a thought.

Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

alphapenguin

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: FreeNas, cant get ip from DHCP
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2008, 04:57:49 pm »
hi thanks for the reply
no offense taken, I tried to set the nic card first then rebooted per the manual instructions, then tried setting the ip via dhcp, but always returns 0.0.0.0

I got fed up messing with it and installed openfiler. that is up and running, but still trying to figure out how that works.

As for the freenas box, I tried the onboard nic, as well as added a pci nic and nada.

I will try the livcd on another existing comp.  any other insight would be awesome. I am actually thinking installing ubuntu and runny fuppes and samba might be easier.

alphapenguin

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: FreeNas, cant get ip from DHCP
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2008, 05:12:17 am »
ok I think i figured it out actually, my stupid onboard LAN nic is not supported by freeBSD therefore not support by FreeNAS. now that is A$$. I either have to get another card or just use openfiler. Freak'n A!

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: FreeNas, cant get ip from DHCP
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2008, 02:04:19 pm »
 ;)
Sorry. I thought BSD had drivers for everything as well. Guess they missed one. I actually use FreeNAS at home as well. But I had an old 3Com card laying around, and it knew what to do with that. But I do remember having to enable the DHCP for the interface for it. I picked up the 3Com card at a local shop used, it was like $10.

Best of Luck and Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

alphapenguin

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: FreeNas, cant get ip from DHCP
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2008, 07:48:14 pm »
Ok, i knew I had an extra NIC card lying around somewhere, and I found it. Put it in. Got it recognized and everything is working just fine now. I can only wish I was savy enough with programming to write my own drivers and to contribute something productive to the opensource community.

Thanks for the help though.

For anyone else who has a problem with FreeNAS, make sure your NIC card is supproted.