Author Topic: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.  (Read 3939 times)

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #15 on: November 30, 2008, 04:23:54 am »
Again, you people don't seem to understand....

None of the cards specified have device templates...

and nobody seems to want to make them....

so until somebody makes a device template, it will have to be configured by hand in mythtv, and the A/V control won't be possible with these tuner cards.

I know it seems like i'm being an asshole, but I am writing this out of sheer frustration that nobody seems to want to help adding support for the newer cards. nobody wants to be bothered with it.. nope.. let the developers who have everything else on their plate do it.

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1393
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #16 on: November 30, 2008, 07:12:39 pm »
I have been getting on OK with the Hauppauge Nova-T-500, have just bought a 2nd one (stay clear of the "Diversity" models though - Nova-TD-500).

What is the difference between a Hauppauge PVR-500 and a Hauppauge Nova-T-500 out of interest?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #17 on: November 30, 2008, 08:40:08 pm »
I have been getting on OK with the Hauppauge Nova-T-500, have just bought a 2nd one (stay clear of the "Diversity" models though - Nova-TD-500).

What is the difference between a Hauppauge PVR-500 and a Hauppauge Nova-T-500 out of interest?

Hmmm... the PVR-500 is an dual tuner analog TV and analog video digitising card and the T-500 is a dual tuner DVB-T digital TV card.... they are not even remotely similar at all.

Look here for info http://www.linuxtv.org/

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Afkpuz

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #18 on: December 01, 2008, 02:27:17 am »
Thom, I feel your frustration.  But setting up tuners in mythtv isn't too bad really.  Still, what kind of steps are involved with making templates?  Could I, with no programing knowledge, write a template?  If so, I'd be willing to make some.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #19 on: December 01, 2008, 02:32:44 am »
No, you miss the point.

If LMCE doesn't know about the tuner cards, it not only can't set them up in the setup wizard automatically, you can't use them to control legacy A/V devices...

You'll need a little bit of shell scripting experience to make the plug and play scripts.

If you look in the web admin, Advanced > configuration > device templates, you'll see the main UI for manipulating and creating templates...

Select the PVR-150 template, and have a look. You'll see references to various .sh scripts, these can be found in /usr/pluto/bin

Basically the template specifies what the device is, what it can do, and how it should set itself up.

The shell scripts are the needed steps required to set up the device itself.

Basically, any device that LinuxMCE can use effectively, needs to be able to output MPEG-2 to something like /dev/video0, like the PVR 150/250/500/USB2/etc do.

I can be here to answer questions.

-Thom

joshr219

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #20 on: December 01, 2008, 02:44:34 am »
No, you miss the point.

If LMCE doesn't know about the tuner cards, it not only can't set them up in the setup wizard automatically, you can't use them to control legacy A/V devices...

You'll need a little bit of shell scripting experience to make the plug and play scripts.

If you look in the web admin, Advanced > configuration > device templates, you'll see the main UI for manipulating and creating templates...

Select the PVR-150 template, and have a look. You'll see references to various .sh scripts, these can be found in /usr/pluto/bin

Basically the template specifies what the device is, what it can do, and how it should set itself up.

The shell scripts are the needed steps required to set up the device itself.

Basically, any device that LinuxMCE can use effectively, needs to be able to output MPEG-2 to something like /dev/video0, like the PVR 150/250/500/USB2/etc do.

I can be here to answer questions.

-Thom


So, I think I'm just stupid when it comes to this stuff. But if a card can output MPEG-2 it will somewhat work? You'll just have to set it up manually?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #21 on: December 01, 2008, 03:09:47 am »
yes, but again, you will not be able to pipe legacy A/V devices through it (cable box, VCR, whatever.), so you lose half of the functionality possible in LinuxMCE (LinuxMCE is much more than MythTV)

-Thom

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #22 on: December 01, 2008, 05:26:12 pm »
Well, remember that it is only the free, over the air tv that is switching to digital.  If you pay comcast for regular tv, you will not need a digital converter box.  They will still send the normal cable signal through your cable wire.  So, standard definition capture cards will still work after 2009.  The way they are marketing this, they make you think that all tv is going digital.  This is a shameless marketing ploy.  so, if you have a cable subscription, you can still use haupauge cards.  You can buy them at newegg.com.  They only sell hybrid cards now, but they still work with NTSC (Analog).
Sorta.  The requirement is for over the air TV to be digital only after Feb 17, 2009, but cable companies can switch as much or as little as they want and at any time they want to digital.  The only requirement is if they have ANY analog programming they must include analog for all local stations.  If they go 100% digital, then no analog will be available.

Cable companies are switching to digital at their own pace.  I spoke to a tech rep for my provider and was told they are switching to 100% digital in Feb, same time as the OTA cutover.  My guess is this allows them to make the switch and direct unhappy customers to the FCC.  Either way, I have quit using my TV capture card for recording because some analog channels have already gone digital and I don't want to try to keep track of changes.  It sucks but for semi-reliable tv recording I'm stuck with s-video capture.  After Feb I'll scan what digital channels are available and hopefully be able to make use of a HDHomerun if the channels I record the bulk of shows on are both digital and unencrypted.

Afkpuz

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #23 on: December 01, 2008, 10:21:20 pm »
Well, I know that comcast has said that they will continue providing analog cable after February.  As for how long they will carry analog, I have no idea. 

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #24 on: December 01, 2008, 11:18:04 pm »
Well, I know that comcast has said that they will continue providing analog cable after February.  As for how long they will carry analog, I have no idea. 

Didn't they also say their internet was unlimited?  ;D
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #25 on: December 02, 2008, 03:32:49 pm »
Oddly enough, I have comcast and they are the ones that told me it will be all digital after Feb.  Later I figured out one of my wife's shows was no longer being recorded 'cause the channel was no longer available.  I tried both my TV card and a older analog only TV without luck, but my newer digital TV was able to tune that channel in.  

I see Comcast is offering a $10/month for 1 year basic cable package for people that have old TVs and don't want cable boxes (aka analog cable).  It could be that I have the digital/HD package and it's that offering that is going all digital, or the tech support guy could be wrong and they are just shifting some channels around.  In any case, cable companies can do whatever they want making PC based PVRs more of a hassle.  

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #26 on: December 02, 2008, 03:39:07 pm »
I just installed the hauppage 150 and it only seems to pick up the same channels that rabbit ears can pick up (2,6,8,12 network news etc.). Should I assume this means my cable provider has gone digital already or is there a setting somewhere that switches this card from antenna to cable like on a TV?

Afkpuz

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #27 on: December 02, 2008, 09:17:45 pm »
No, you need to change your channel frequency table.  In the mythtv setup (Advanced, Computing, mythtv), go into the general settings and goto the second page.  Change the "Channel frequency table" to us-cable.

greenhornet

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #28 on: January 22, 2009, 06:51:25 pm »
We will support the Hauppauge HD-PVR once the driver becomes more stable.

-Thom


Any word on support for the HD PVR?  Or maybe slingbox as an alternative?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie again, this time TV tuner.
« Reply #29 on: January 22, 2009, 06:59:35 pm »
the driver slowly reaches stability.

You can google for Janne G.'s page to get the latest version of the driver from his mercurial repo if you want to test it out.

-Thom