Author Topic: xbox - ps3 as Media Directors  (Read 776 times)

luy

• First post!
    • View Profile
xbox - ps3 as Media Directors
« on: November 28, 2008, 02:11:24 pm »
Hi!

I'm new to LinuxMCE (in fact I'll be doing a first installation test tonight), and I must say is awesome... good work guys!

I'm planning to install a core/hybrid server into a spare machine, don't know if these specs will be enough... let me know what you think:
 - pentium 4 - 2,4 Ghz FSB - 400Mhz
 - 1,25 gb ram
 - 200 gb SATA drive (will be moved to a freeNAS box)
 - nvidia AGP FX5200, 128mb

Said that, I would like to use some other devices I got lying around the house as Media Directors.
I have seen one post regarding PS3, I know this will be tricky due to Cell processors, I don't know how far this guy went but it's an interesting project.
I also got an XBOX (not the 360, the old one), I had debian installed long time ago... and as it's based on i386 architecture I'm wondering if it would work just with the right drivers and a kind of grub bootloader to netboot.

Maybe I'm talking rubbish, I would like to have your inputs on this stuff.

Meanwhile I'll be doing some tests tonight with my first installation :)
I use to have all these services configured manually (asterisk, mythtv...) and I must say seems much easier with LinuxMCE!

Keep up the hard work!

hari

• Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: xbox - ps3 as Media Directors
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2008, 06:25:12 pm »
you could use the search function and find out that those 2 topics have been beaten to death.

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

golgoj4

• NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: xbox - ps3 as Media Directors
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2008, 07:18:21 pm »
i dunno if ive ever written this down anywhere...

but with my ps3:

LiveTV - Not possible at the moment