Author Topic: Learn about networking (hard and software)  (Read 4246 times)

chipppy

• Veteran
    • View Profile
Learn about networking (hard and software)
« on: November 22, 2008, 02:40:22 pm »
Hello peoples

Does anyone know a good step-by-step guide for setting up networking.
I am a newbie to the setting up of networking both hardware and software.  I would love to read through a good, easy, network setup for dummies guide.  I am in the process of setting up a standalone hybrid as my intro to Linux and LinuxMCE.  One I get that up and working I want to start setting up the networking side of things but I have a lot to learn.

I am one of those people that writes himself a step-by-step guide for everything I do on the computer.  do you think that would be helpfully in the Wiki once I have got it sorted?  It will take me a couple of months though.

Cheers
chipppy
ASUS P5Q SE/R, Gigabyte 8400GS - Composite TV, 4GB 1066, Intel E8500 3.15GHz dual core, 500GB HDD + 1TG HDD, Divco FusionHDVT DVB-T Digital Dual 4 TV tuner.

'Cry wolf and let slip the dogs of war'

tkmedia

• wants to work for LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Learn about networking (hard and software)
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 03:21:16 pm »
Yes please add your step by step to wiki when ready.
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

superfro

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2008, 07:49:41 pm »
Well there are plenty of guides out there on the internet that will teach you about networking, And you do got something to learn to wire your house up and learn about ethernet cables and cable speeds, cat-5, cat-6... 10/100/1000 mbit stuff.... But on the software side .... for LMCE it is recommended you let the system do the assigning of ips, subnet masks, QoS, etc automatically.