Author Topic: xbmc and linux mce  (Read 3801 times)

canzi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
xbmc and linux mce
« on: November 16, 2008, 12:54:41 pm »
Hi all
anyone got xbmc working reliably with linuxmce

i can choose network then enter user and password to get to my media
but
when watching a movie it stops after an hour then i have to enter it again
but more importantly i can not add a source that works
a default install of samba on ubuntu works perfectly so it must be something with the linuxmce samba
any help appreciated

cheers

Steve

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: xbmc and linux mce
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2008, 04:42:35 pm »
Our install of samba is standard, with the addition that we automatically manage the shares.

Why are you wanting to use XBMC for this? Just boot a media director. Our software is much more capable.

-Thom

canzi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: xbmc and linux mce
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2008, 02:47:32 am »
i love the MD, but i was unaware that i could run it on an xbox?
how does one go about doing this?

if not then im using the xbox cause i have a few of them left over from my last setup and cant afford to replace them with pc's right now

Steve

rodercot

  • Guest
Re: xbmc and linux mce
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2008, 04:56:28 pm »
I have been down this road and ended up scrapping the idea, XBMC will run fine from LMCE or I should say Kubuntu. You would need to create a computing app that would run XBMC inside of LMCE, which seems to be a bit of a task, this is why your movie is stopping every hour or so.

 I just built a 2nd PC in the same location as the core and I am running XBMC live only on it and I set it up as a new device in the web-admin and can choose it from the media menu on the orbiter LMCE then just accesses the new pc as an A/V device switching the inputs on my TV and RCVR to the proper ones for XBMC then when I am finshed I just click menu on my remote and it takes me back to the orbiter.

 Dave

superfro

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: xbmc and linux mce
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2008, 07:18:38 am »
It probably wouldn't take much to modify the cromwell bios to tftp a bootloader so it can netboot.... but getting decent performance out of it as you said will be a task... linux on xbox was kinda slow last time I ran it...