Author Topic: MD always tries to boot as AMD64  (Read 2925 times)

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: MD always tries to boot as AMD64
« Reply #15 on: November 18, 2008, 09:16:47 pm »
Not really, the hardware would need to be 64 bit Intel or AMD (doesn't have to be AMD, that's just what it calls it cos AMD got there first!) What CPU are you using that isn't 64 bit??

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: MD always tries to boot as AMD64
« Reply #16 on: November 19, 2008, 03:11:18 am »
well, I did some more fiddling, and here is what I have come up with. I took out all of the variables by removing the video card some usb devices and the PCI NIC that I was using. I try to boot from the NIC on the mobo and I got a kernel panic. So i did some research on this NIC and found a link on how to get it to PXE boot. The only problem is the link sets you up to PXE boot off of a linux server, not LMCE. I am wondering if the method would be the same or different, here are the links if anyone feels like telling me whats what.

Well, for those who might be interested, I have found the solution, which is compile the driver into the ltsp chroot and re-build the initramfs; have used some of the instructions provided on:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToSetupLTSPDevelEnvironment

For complete instructions on how-to build the driver in general (for those interested in driver for Intel 82562v-2 NIC installed on Dell Vostro 200 and maybe other HW) :

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=551720

I would just boot from the add on NIC but for some reason the PC will only go into PXE boot if the onboard NIC is the one connected, I can swap the cable once it starts to boot, but I feel like that might be part of the original problem.
-Krys

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: MD always tries to boot as AMD64
« Reply #17 on: November 19, 2008, 04:23:47 am »
http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC


Its not really surprising that it will only PXE boot the onboard NIC. The BIOS has to be able to activate the NIC and send ethernet packets to start the tftp process to get the boot image. How is it going to be able to do this for just any old NIC? Clearly it will have a very basic "driver" for the NIC it is designed for but beyond that?

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: MD always tries to boot as AMD64
« Reply #18 on: November 19, 2008, 03:33:36 pm »
Colin,
I had already referenced that link, unfortunately when I google Intel 82562v-2 Kernel module as the author says I can not find any Kernel module already associated with this NIC and I am not sure what to do.

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: MD always tries to boot as AMD64
« Reply #19 on: November 19, 2008, 05:01:47 pm »
This is partially for me when I get home, but I would also like input on whether the experts think this is the correct approach

"Ok, looks like this is a more complicated issue than it should be, but it appears (through brief googling) that there may be a solution. Check out this page: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=343757 (specifically near the bottom). It states that you should grab the sources from here: http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...group_id=42302 (the e1000 stable sources) and compile them. Alternatively, you could upgrade your kernel to >= 2.6.24 and use the e1000e module (which also exists in 2.6.21.5, but is apparently not very functional). I would *try* using the e1000e module first since it's there, but don't expect it to work. Then make a choice about whether to compile a new kernel module or upgrade your kernel."

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: MD always tries to boot as AMD64
« Reply #21 on: November 19, 2008, 09:06:44 pm »
I have been trying to figure out how to get the Linux driver like the one Colin posted above, onto the core machine so that the MD's can use it to boot. I have seen some tutorials on compiling drivers into modules by they were quite vague and I couldn't follow them. Any help would be much appreciated.
-Krys

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: MD always tries to boot as AMD64
« Reply #22 on: November 19, 2008, 09:20:30 pm »
Use the Unrecognised NIC link to compile the driver. It also details how to get it into the MD, but most importantly how to update the MD's initramfs image to include the driver for boot time...