Author Topic: Building for 0810  (Read 25687 times)

MediaEngineer

  • Douchebag
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #75 on: December 10, 2008, 10:31:11 pm »
Instead of copy/pasting 2 wiki pages together, it would be way more helpful if you actually tried the alpha1 release and shared your own experience.  There is no added value in lumping these together whatsoever.

The added value is mainly in distinguishing between issues in either alpha0 or alpha1 (and later versions as they're released). The alpha1 seems like it might be close enough to working with the HW and features I need to use that I might try installing it now. But until I sorted them out, it was hard to tell. Other people will probably also see that alpha1 is closer to working, and will try installing it. And the clearer format makes it easier for us all to register the results of our tests. That will continue to be true about the later versions, too.

MediaEngineer

  • Douchebag
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #76 on: December 10, 2008, 10:37:14 pm »
fantastic... thank you so much, for doing that.

You're very welcome, especially considering that it's just documenting so much of the actual development work that you (and Zaerc, and others) are doing.

kasio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #77 on: December 15, 2008, 09:12:53 pm »
Hello.
I am new to linuxmce.

while installing installer somehow missed lirc-pluto package.

I have following in /var/log/pluto/Spawn_cdc_7697.log  concerning `lirc-pluto'

Quote
+ apt-get -y install lirc-pluto
Reading package lists...
Building dependency tree...
Reading state information...
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.

Since you only requested a single operation it is extremely likely that
the package is simply not installable and a bug report against
that package should be filed.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
  lirc-pluto: Depends: lirc-modules-2.6.20-15-generic but it is not installable or
                       lirc-modules-2.6.22-14-generic but it is not installable

trying to add by hand fails because i havent lirc-modules package in repositories.

should i build it somehow from sources?  (there is  lirc-modules-source package. )

If nobody else has this problem with lirc i can reinstall whole system and see how it goes then. I had issues with network (installer + kubuntu itself screws all setings) which i think i managed to solve.

I can provide my walktrough so far:
Quote
First fresh instalation of kubuntu fails to function properly with static ip (assigned on instalation)
as far as i figured i had to remove these packages to be able restore configuration manually.

uninstall ddclient
uninstall NetworkManager
uninstall avahi-*
then i had some problems with fw in some of my instalation tries - as a result i figured to remove ufw too as linuxmce uses its own scripts for iptables.

#change /etc/network/interfaces
#add >>
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
       address 10.1.1.13
       netmask 255.255.255.0
       network 10.1.1.0
       broadcast 10.1.1.255
       gateway 10.1.1.1

#edit /etc/resolv.conf
#add >>
nameserver 10.1.1.1

I run next session in screen(if remote)
#install linuxmce
sudo su - #This might ask for the password you specified earlier during the install of kubuntu.
cd /home/user/
wget -c http://deb.linuxmce.org/ubuntu/new-installer-alpha1.tar.bz2
tar xvf new-installer-alpha1.tar.bz2
cd new-installer
edit mce_wizard_data-double_nic.sh (to not lose my ip again)
put outside iface ip + dns.

./pre-install-from-repo.sh
./mce-install.sh
./post-install.sh


#Add my lcd native resolution
http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Custom_Display_Resolutions

reboot

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #78 on: December 16, 2008, 09:44:23 am »
1) Start again, and use the DVD to install not the CDs (these are for a specific purpose) - the DVD has everything needed to install on a bare machine, so do not install Kubuntu or anything else first.

2) Do not try to re-engineer the system. The steps you describe almost certainly will have screwed up LMCE and are not necessary. If something isn't working correctly, you need to identify the root cause, rather than patch around the symptoms - the forums can help you with this.

3) Be certain you have the correct network setup (ie 2 NICs, etc)

deffcon

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #79 on: December 16, 2008, 11:45:27 am »
Hi,

where can we find the dvd version ?

Dave

kasio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #80 on: December 16, 2008, 06:47:22 pm »
1) Start again, and use the DVD to install not the CDs (these are for a specific purpose) - the DVD has everything needed to install on a bare machine, so do not install Kubuntu or anything else first.

Thank you for responding.  i will go on it again then. got some ideas what i could do different.

2) Do not try to re-engineer the system. The steps you describe almost certainly will have screwed up LMCE and are not necessary. If something isn't working correctly, you need to identify the root cause, rather than patch around the symptoms - the forums can help you with this.

Problem is that all depend on your knowledge.
my network is not working after reboot of fresh installed kubuntu system(you can try simple setup with 1static ip interface). Root cause of it is that my resolv.conf file is empty after each reboot.
I am not that smart to find root cause of root cause so i end here and fix it. appears network manager is problem for this.
as about ddclient and awahi and ufw i saw problems with starting dhcp3 (which is installed by lmce) and as lmce is using its own iptables script i removed ufw.

Does Linuxmce really uses any of those packages?

3) Be certain you have the correct network setup (ie 2 NICs, etc)
thats only thing i am really sure. thought i am dissapointed about ubuntu/kubuntu ppl screwing already traditional system of configuring network.
(leaving only way to configure it from graphical interface.) even windows now can use command line to configure network setings.

SO generally i should be able to install lirc-pluto by simply reinstalling system? does it compile lirc-modules itself(on correct install) or there is ready package somewhere?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #81 on: December 16, 2008, 06:50:50 pm »
You're thinking too hard. Stop it.

This package is installed as part of the installation process.

-Thom

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #82 on: December 16, 2008, 09:56:32 pm »
You're thinking too hard. Stop it.

This package is installed as part of the installation process.

-Thom


As Thom said, stop it! Download the DVD, burn it, put it in and boot from it. None of the questions you are asking are relevant.. start with the DVD, if you have problems, ask then.

kasio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #83 on: December 17, 2008, 05:47:09 pm »
you really mean dvd?

where i can get ready image? or i should make it myself?


p.s. kubuntu/ubuntu networking is broken out of the box. (try installing kubuntu with one static interface)
« Last Edit: December 17, 2008, 05:48:55 pm by kasio »

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #84 on: December 17, 2008, 06:03:05 pm »
bro,

get the DVD, stick it in the drive, select your target hard disk. Watch it install. Done.

-Thom


kasio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #85 on: December 17, 2008, 06:24:39 pm »
sorry. can you give link?

los93sol

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 396
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #86 on: December 17, 2008, 06:29:36 pm »

kasio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #87 on: December 17, 2008, 06:47:49 pm »
i was under impression we all speak about same thing.

i was speaking about 8.10alpha1 instalation. guess you about 7.10?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #88 on: December 17, 2008, 06:58:33 pm »
The 8.10 installation is not ready to be used by users, only developers.

Please do not use it unless you are deliberately testing it, or coding for it.

-Thom

kasio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #89 on: December 17, 2008, 07:17:42 pm »
i kind of was testing. and still am testing.  ;D

I  did setup home router to work as dhcp server so i could install kubuntu with automatic ip asssignment.

Now installation is done, but still - when i will get lirc-pluto package? Fresh install doesnt have it - should i continue or i did something wrong again? i didnt touch kubuntu at all. (just ok and next)

dcerouter_99329:~# dpkg -l | grep -i lirc
ii  liblircclient0                            0.8.3-0ubuntu2+lmce2                        LIRC client library


(thats it. dont have lirc-pluto package yet again.)


edit:

Added IR transceiver. and again it failed to install lirc-pluto. Are you interested to look into this problem or this problem is affecting only my installations only?

lirc-pluto package isnt on any repository. If it should be built automatically then it fails appearently.

May be some of you could let me know where this package should come from. Then i can look to solve this problem myself.

edit2: i mean lirc-pluto depends on lirc-modules-2.6.22-14-generic which arent on repo.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2008, 10:34:54 pm by kasio »