Author Topic: Building for 0810  (Read 27282 times)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #45 on: November 19, 2008, 11:16:04 pm »
are you running a 128 gigabyte database or what is the reason why you use 64bit?
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #46 on: November 20, 2008, 11:02:31 am »
Thanks a lot, guys, for the installation script and good explanation how to install 0810-alpha0. Installation goes well. Will see the results :)
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

dimka

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #47 on: November 20, 2008, 08:08:32 pm »
Hi guys,

  I am trying to compile/install 810. Have tried to install Alpha but installer did`t find amd64 packages. When will they be available ?

  Or - should I tune something to install 32 bits packages?

br,
dmitry
« Last Edit: November 20, 2008, 08:27:43 pm by dimka »

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #48 on: November 20, 2008, 11:11:36 pm »
dimka.
Hi guys,

  I am trying to compile/install 810. Have tried to install Alpha but installer did`t find amd64 packages. When will they be available ?

  Or - should I tune something to install 32 bits packages?

br,
dmitry

Simplest answer.
Install a 32-bit kubuntu 8.10 then our alpha0.
If you really want 64-bit, make the changes necessary to build everything on a 64-bit kubuntu 0810. Thats the hard truth for the moment.

There is really no need to install a 64-bit os for lmce.

/niz23

dimka

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #49 on: November 21, 2008, 08:43:03 am »

dimka.
Hi guys,

  I am trying to compile/install 810. Have tried to install Alpha but installer did`t find amd64 packages. When will they be available ?

  Or - should I tune something to install 32 bits packages?

br,
dmitry

Simplest answer.
Install a 32-bit kubuntu 8.10 then our alpha0.
If you really want 64-bit, make the changes necessary to build everything on a 64-bit kubuntu 0810. Thats the hard truth for the moment.

There is really no need to install a 64-bit os for lmce.

/niz23

Good advise - will do that - Thank you Niz123!

Actually I managed to compile amd64 version but installer crashes - where should I post that ? Any developers lists?

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #50 on: November 21, 2008, 01:29:11 pm »
dimka.

dimka.
Hi guys,

  I am trying to compile/install 810. Have tried to install Alpha but installer did`t find amd64 packages. When will they be available ?

  Or - should I tune something to install 32 bits packages?

br,
dmitry

Simplest answer.
Install a 32-bit kubuntu 8.10 then our alpha0.
If you really want 64-bit, make the changes necessary to build everything on a 64-bit kubuntu 0810. Thats the hard truth for the moment.

There is really no need to install a 64-bit os for lmce.

/niz23

Good advise - will do that - Thank you Niz123!

Actually I managed to compile amd64 version but installer crashes - where should I post that ? Any developers lists?

Start by browsing to http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/newticket
Create a ticket.
Type: defect
Milestone: Get compiling...
Priority: minor
Component: Setup...
Severity: low
Version: 0810

Attach all information you have about the error. Like errors, logs etc.
And if you have time. Please try to find a way to make it work.

/niz23

elspic

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #51 on: November 21, 2008, 04:46:27 pm »
Can do, I need to add some rules on the pix. Right now it looks like those scripts only have i386 packages and I am on x64 :(
Ill catch you guys shortly.
Thanks!
It's a pre-alpha for fuck's sake, give me a break here.   >:(

Zaerc, I'm as grateful as anyone else on the board for your contributions, but you seriously need to chill the fuck out. Ritmo simply made a statement about the situation, he didn't ask you to get out of bed and finish the script at his house. Also, while banning people from the rooms when they have legitimate info to share is cute, it's not that conducive to finishing the install script that seems to be tweaking your nipples so much. Again, you've done some great work and I'm aware of that, but this isn't something you're being forced to do, so don't take it so seriously. -elspic

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #52 on: November 21, 2008, 05:24:27 pm »
We do have some specific rules for IRC. One of them is to use a real nick, and not the "Linuxmce" default.

-Thom

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #53 on: November 21, 2008, 05:49:17 pm »
* hari thinks that elspic is easily offended..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

elspic

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #54 on: November 21, 2008, 06:19:00 pm »
Thom: I've got no problem with the rules and changed my name when asked, but didn't change it enough apparently
Hari: No, not really at all, it just bothered me that zaerc jumped on someone for no reason (happens a lot here), then took enough umbrage at my name to ignore any help I might have offered, even though I was clearly not_zaerc ;)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #55 on: November 21, 2008, 06:37:50 pm »
haha, "not_zaerc", how funny. Use a proper nick.
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #56 on: November 21, 2008, 06:46:38 pm »
Hari: No, not really at all, it just bothered me that zaerc jumped on someone for no reason (happens a lot here), then took enough umbrage at my name to ignore any help I might have offered, even though I was clearly not_zaerc ;)
Why don't you do the 64bit distribution, but instead feel like to have to protect poor ppl from zaerc? Zaerc is working day and night on this, so stupidly stating "no  64bit packages :-((( *cry* *whatever*" is enough reason if you ask me. Sorry, that is just noobish.

you either contribute something valuable or better stfu now.

So, enough ranting for now. Guys, there is no need to run 64 bit packages on 64bit hardware. Yes, you can also run the 32bit packages there. Without performance impact (regarding LMCE).

Hari
« Last Edit: November 21, 2008, 07:11:06 pm by hari »
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

dimka

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #57 on: November 21, 2008, 08:40:43 pm »
Hi again :-)

  I have installed Kubuntu 32 bit.s and followed installation steps. After first reboot installer stops after some errors. I would have attached error file if you tell where to look for.

  Otherwise - it complains about xlibs-data package. In single mode " apt-get install xlibs-data" tells
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package xlibs-data is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source
However the following packages replace it:
  xkb-data-legacy xcursor-themes xbitmaps
E: Package xlibs-data has no installation candidate

And thats exactly what I am getting on screen 8 . Any ideas?

FIXED. Have manually installed the package from here newbielink:https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/intrepid/lpia/xlibs-data/1:7.3+10ubuntu10 [nonactive]

Now it complains about discover1
« Last Edit: November 21, 2008, 09:17:40 pm by dimka »

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #58 on: November 22, 2008, 05:19:59 pm »
Thom: I've got no problem with the rules and changed my name when asked, but didn't change it enough apparently
Hari: No, not really at all, it just bothered me that zaerc jumped on someone for no reason (happens a lot here), then took enough umbrage at my name to ignore any help I might have offered, even though I was clearly not_zaerc ;)


Bullshit.  I asked you nicely to change your nick but you had to fuck around instead.  We're not here to entertain you, try to get that through your thick skull.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


elspic

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Building for 0810
« Reply #59 on: November 23, 2008, 01:35:09 am »
That's what I mean about needing to relax. I didn't feel like using my normal nick and other than following the rules, I don't see what it matters a whit what I call myself. There's no need to insult anyone, particularly as you know nothing of the physical characteristics of my skull.

Now, thank you again for your work, the new install script works excellently and when I get a chance to track down the couple of issues I've seen so far, I'll report back. -elspic