Author Topic: tv card in core server?  (Read 3809 times)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #15 on: November 29, 2008, 12:23:37 pm »
Thanks for that. Yes I actually pay for my Pay tv and have the dish etc. I just want a simple way of feeding it to most rooms and this appears to be the answer. Isn't it funny how if you mention Paytv and computers together evryone assumes your hacking into it so you can get it for free.
if you would read more books instead of watching pay tv you would have seen that some user was writing about card sharing.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #16 on: November 29, 2008, 01:36:09 pm »
Sorry hari, I thought you were referring to secs' comments, as was I - agreed, perfectly ok here. And also agreed, no room for discussion of those "other" approaches.

Andrew - don't worry, afaik SelecTV is the only provider in Australia that has this attitude! The others, espectially Foxtel, have a very backwards vision and hopefully will be left behind as a result of their arrogance blinding them to the way the world is moving. Foxtel has even now dropped industry standard encryption technologies like Irdeto and come up with their own proprietary system to lock their customers in even more!

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #17 on: November 29, 2008, 01:59:57 pm »
Sorry hari, I thought you were referring to secs' comments, as was I - agreed, perfectly ok here. And also agreed, no room for discussion of those "other" approaches.
i wish it would be different as I think information shall be free :-) But the legal situation is pretty problematic..

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #18 on: November 29, 2008, 06:02:41 pm »
And Hari - no this is not "hacking" it is perfectly legal and so just fine to discuss here!

colin, please read the posts.

We don't discuss topics like softcams, special CAM firmwares, card sharing or smart card emulations here. There are other information sources for that.
Do you girls and guys want to put our hoster in troubles? They donate all the bandwith and resources to us.

Discussing legal CAM/card usage is fine, just to make that clear.

best regards,
Hari


Hari... but they are using a legally obtained smart card from an operator that fully condones its use in 3rd party hardware. I cannot see that they are discussing anything but a fully legal use of the smart card and the relevant CAM hardware.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #19 on: November 29, 2008, 06:08:44 pm »
yeah andrew, that is pretty fine. I was just referring to the user who was talking about card sharing. As i've posted, legal CAM discussion is ok.

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2009, 09:26:38 pm »
Is it legal to use a CAM in a PC with Sky TV in the UK?

I'm looking at the moment at putting ina quad LNB then using my STB with card for the pay channels and three DVB-S cards in my core for the free-to-air. If I can (legally) get rid of my STB and have it all in the server, that would be much better!

Assuming it is legal, can anyone point me at some helpfiles on how to do it / where to obtain the necessary equipment? I've searched the wiki but not turned anything up :(

TIA

Paul
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2853
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #21 on: April 24, 2009, 10:39:58 am »
Assuming it is legal, can anyone point me at some helpfiles on how to do it / where to obtain the necessary equipment? I've searched the wiki but not turned anything up :(

As I pointed out before in this thread or another, if you are using the VDR as your PVR, check the VDR wiki (http://vdr-wiki.de). Most stuff is in German, but some is already translated into English (and other pages might have success with Google Translate)

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #22 on: April 24, 2009, 12:04:31 pm »
Thanks, Posde.

I saw the thread to which you refer, but the link has been blocked out (presumably for legal reasons). Do you know of any English reources (auto-translation is always entertainlg, but frustrating!!)?

Also, as a UK user, I'm interested in Sky TV and the appropriate hardware. From my limited research, I have discovered there are many types of card and I don't want to buy the wrong type of reader! Has anyone actually done this in MCE? If so, is the procedure / hardware documented anywhere?

I must stress that I own and pay for a subscription to the service. AFAIK, I am not proposing anything illegal. I just want better quality / less equipment than using my STB and a capture card.
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #23 on: April 24, 2009, 12:54:22 pm »
Is it legal to use a CAM in a PC with Sky TV in the UK?

I'm looking at the moment at putting ina quad LNB then using my STB with card for the pay channels and three DVB-S cards in my core for the free-to-air. If I can (legally) get rid of my STB and have it all in the server, that would be much better!

Assuming it is legal, can anyone point me at some helpfiles on how to do it / where to obtain the necessary equipment? I've searched the wiki but not turned anything up :(

TIA

Paul

You will be breaking Sky's T&C's if you attempt to use your Sky Viewing card in non Sky hardware - so therefore it is not legal to do so.

When we install Dianemo for a customer who has Sky we can integrate the standard Sky Digibox, Sky+ or SkyHD by externally controlling then either through IR or preferably through RF2 using an interface. We then either capture the video output, digitise it and stream it to vdr clients (using the IPTV plugin... each Sky box appears as a 'special' TV channel in the Channel list) or we use Component or HDMI over CAT5 and a video matrix or switcher to route the native output of the Sky box to multiple MD's around the house. Search the forum for other threads where i have described in much more detail how we do this.

Hope the above is helpful.

Andrew

Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #24 on: May 14, 2009, 04:23:19 pm »
As an alternative, if I go back to cable (Virgin media) would I be able to legally use cards (DVB-C)? What about free-to-"air" (is there such a thing with cable)?

I'm considering a quad LNB and 2 2-tuner DVB-S cards to get all the free to air (ditch sky) then a DVB-C card for the subscription channels.

Comments?
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #25 on: May 14, 2009, 04:53:11 pm »
As an alternative, if I go back to cable (Virgin media) would I be able to legally use cards (DVB-C)? What about free-to-"air" (is there such a thing with cable)?

I'm considering a quad LNB and 2 2-tuner DVB-S cards to get all the free to air (ditch sky) then a DVB-C card for the subscription channels.

Comments?

Firstly there are no 'Free to air' cable services from VirginMedia...there are some urban developments here in the UK that have community cable service to each dwelling. But these are essentially analog only and are being phased out very quickly now.

You cannot currently use a DVB-C card with a CI slot with VirginMedia's services...it is technically impossible and illegal to connect unapproved hardware to VirginMedia's cable infrastructure here in the UK.

DVB-S & S2 cards draw a lot of power (they need 18v to control the LNB) so you should be careful about the powersupply you use and also how much power the PCI slots can safely deliver on an individual basis and also how much power the overall PCI bus can deliver safely too.

We favour using USB devices for multi tuner DVB-S installations for this reason. See my brief Wiki article on the DVBworld HD-2104 USB Single tuner DVB-S2 tuner http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/DVBworld_HD-2104-USB-S2.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #26 on: August 18, 2009, 06:32:44 pm »
Andrew,
Do you source these boxes directly from dvbworld?

I've only come across one or two US sites that supply them, no EU sites so far - maybe I've missed them.
Or do you re-sell them through CHT?

thanks
-Coley.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #27 on: August 18, 2009, 06:54:46 pm »
Andrew,
Do you source these boxes directly from dvbworld?

I've only come across one or two US sites that supply them, no EU sites so far - maybe I've missed them.
Or do you re-sell them through CHT?

thanks
-Coley.

Hi Coley,

We source them direct from DVBworld who we have a long term relationship with and yes i do believe we are the only company bringing them into Europe. We would be happy to resell them to anyone here on the Forum who wants them (we dont usually sell them independent of Dianemo systems). If you or anyone is interested in these or any other DVBworld cards please PM me.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
Re: tv card in core server?
« Reply #28 on: August 19, 2009, 11:53:31 am »
thx Andrew, PM sent.

-Coley.